PDA

View Full Version : port tuning freq



kr15
04-25-2010, 03:17 AM
Ok, so today I decided to build a box based on plans from Supergumby....This was my first attempt at building a box myself...The box is slot ported tuned to 30hz. The slot port is supposed to be 2.25 inches wide...well, after construction of the slot part, I notice that one length of port (its one of those ports that is like an S shape, so there is a couple "hallways" so to speak), well one of these lengths is actually like 2.5 inches. So this will increase my overall port area. My question is, does an increase in port area raise tuning or lower it? And, will this .25 inch difference even add enough area to make a difference?

thanks

Jaredturp
04-25-2010, 03:25 AM
More port area would raise tuning.

kr15
04-25-2010, 03:29 AM
thanks...thats good news actually...30 is already pretty low, goin up to 31 or 32 wont bother me