PDA

View Full Version : Box too big



nateberrier
04-23-2010, 03:57 PM
I have a 15 in an extra box i had laying around to tie me over for a few days. The box is too big and the sub will just about bottom out. Could i stuff something in the box to fill it up a little bit so i dont have to make a new one right away?

KyleBechtold
04-23-2010, 03:58 PM
bolt some 2x4s down inside there to take up space.. taking up space will change the tuning aswell though

nateberrier
04-23-2010, 04:04 PM
its a sealed box, it sounds better than the others but i dont want o have it bottoming out

hatedonmostly
04-23-2010, 04:06 PM
Put stuff in the box to decrease the volume.

GearGuy2001
04-23-2010, 04:09 PM
its a sealed box, it sounds better than the others but i dont want o have it bottoming out

It must be HUGE if your bottoming out in a sealed box! lol

nateberrier
04-23-2010, 04:11 PM
30.5x9.5x16 if im not mistaken

nateberrier
04-23-2010, 04:12 PM
Some guy gave it too me, its a solid box and im saving my mdf for my tens but i cant not have bump

RAM_Designs
04-23-2010, 06:52 PM
30.5x9.5x16 if im not mistaken

That's less than ~1.8ft^3 after subs displacement and assuming no bracing, which is fairly small for most sealed 15" subs. Just try turning the gain down on your amp. A smaller box is only going to do a few things, 1) lower efficiency of the system 2) Lessen the presence of the lower frequencies 3) Make you use more power to get as loud as you are now.

luv2shrOOm
04-24-2010, 12:03 AM
^^^ x2 re~adjust u're gains and turn off the bass boost

Fuknmovin
04-24-2010, 04:19 AM
I agree as well, you need to check your gains and at least set them with a DMM to the rated output of the amp... Also check for leaks! That can do a number on a sealed enclosure!