PDA

View Full Version : mounting amp on box



Xprime4
04-21-2010, 11:32 AM
since i don't have any space left in my trunk i got no choice but to mount the amplifier on the box. at high level, i'm hearing the amplifier rattling alot... real bad

i don't have a more than a quarter of inch left, what can i use between the amplifier and the box to make it stop rattling? i looked around at home depot and found nothing that could really help...

what do you guys do... yeah the box need more bracing too, but since it's done, what can i add afterward?

thegreatestpenn
04-21-2010, 11:44 AM
better brace that box and seal it tighter. even if you put foam under the amp to lessen vibrations its still liable to cause damage to the amp. might even knock the fets right off the board if the box shakes hard enough

t0ny
04-21-2010, 11:48 AM
Double sided sticky tape or small pieces of cardboard under the mounting points where the box meets the amp. There's tons of simple fixes to solve a rattle problem that simple. Or that foam stripping with a single side adhesive they use to seal air conditioners.

outsideshot23
04-21-2010, 04:13 PM
mount the amp on a piece of MDF and put a good layer of egg crate on tp of the box and then mount the amp on top of that.. it should be enough to really controlt he rattling.. just a short term fix though its definately not good to run it like that

RAM_Designs
04-21-2010, 07:07 PM
better bracing

Xprime4
04-21-2010, 07:21 PM
well the box ain't solid enough i never had problem with amp rattling prior, but that's my first time with that amp too.

what do you guys use for bracing once the box is done and sealed up? i saw some kinda rod in few build, where do you guy get that? with three rod i should be fine

schackel
04-21-2010, 07:28 PM
if i have to mount on the box i go for damplifier between the box and a 1/4" peice of wood then the amp

Xprime4
04-21-2010, 08:43 PM
i got some leftover damp, nice... what's the 1/4 piece of wood for?

mazdakid
04-21-2010, 08:48 PM
well the box ain't solid enough i never had problem with amp rattling prior, but that's my first time with that amp too.

what do you guys use for bracing once the box is done and sealed up? i saw some kinda rod in few build, where do you guy get that? with three rod i should be fine

you can get threaded rod at home depot, lowes, menards, any hardware store probably.

Glyons
04-21-2010, 10:24 PM
Like the first guy said, you just need to re-inforce the box. Cross bracing is the obvious choice. What you need to do is, if you can be bothered rebuilding the box, you can cross-brace the face that the amp will go onto, the secure the DIRECTLY to the bracing. Otherwise, combining the various ideas listed above will surely help. If you can be bothered, you could just relocate the amp so that it goes under a seat, or something similar. If you can be creative (without being ambitious, or reckless) you'll find some real nifty places to stick your amp.

Xprime4
04-22-2010, 02:45 PM
ok i got some threaded rod, i need to cut two of them and the other one is already the good size

so do i just need to make the rod go through two opposite wall of the box and then add the washer and nut on the external end or do i need to put some nut in the inside too? any thing i should know before drilling the box?

Johnny Law.Lulz
04-22-2010, 02:48 PM
CLT tiles or whatever it is, is what you need to use. Everything else will still allow a lot of vibration.

hatedonmostly
04-22-2010, 02:51 PM
CLT tiles or whatever it is, is what you need to use. Everything else will still allow a lot of vibration.

What if there are holes in the bottom to allow air to flow?

srs question btw. My AQ amp's bottom plate is loose and rattles.

Xprime4
04-22-2010, 02:57 PM
what are they?

sjobas
04-24-2010, 05:49 PM
dont know the english word for it, but a really good thing to mount between the amp and box is this thing, that holds cars engines, but you can buy much smaller too that is big like a coin.
http://motoroldies.se/monk/bilder/1273946.jpg

thisistiny
04-26-2010, 07:13 PM
maybe some kind of rubber piece in between? i'm really not sure if that will work..but just an idea... good luck.

outsideshot23
04-26-2010, 07:20 PM
anything.. just dont mount ti to bare wood.. definately will not do the amp any favors

Xprime4
04-26-2010, 08:18 PM
well there's a layer of damplifier and the box is nicely braced... the amp itself is not shaking that much, but the box jump around a little on low notes...