PDA

View Full Version : Can any sub handle 32 hz?



uz1290
04-12-2010, 08:11 PM
I recently received a box from a friend who had his subs tuned to 32 hz yet was wondering if just any sub is capable of playing at such levels? I have 12" power hx2 subs and was wondering if the subs would do alright or should i just plan on building my own box instead? I checked on the manual of the subs and i think it recommended 40 hz at about 2.5^3 but just wanted to know if i could get away with putting them in the box tuned to 32 hz with about 3.5^3 ported to each chamber :). Thanks and hope you guys have some input.

SAZCLASSD
04-12-2010, 08:16 PM
yeah there are plenty of subs out there that can play 32hz with no problem....

FurbiesAndBeans
04-12-2010, 08:19 PM
I recently received a box from a friend who had his subs tuned to 32 hz yet was wondering if just any sub is capable of playing at such levels? I have 12" power hx2 subs and was wondering if the subs would do alright or should i just plan on building my own box instead? I checked on the manual of the subs and i think it recommended 40 hz at about 2.5^3 but just wanted to know if i could get away with putting them in the box tuned to 32 hz with about 3.5^3 ported to each chamber :). Thanks and hope you guys have some input.

Not that box. Build it 2.5 @ 32 for each chamber and it'll be fine.

misfit138
04-12-2010, 08:22 PM
yeah there are plenty of subs out there that can play 32hz with no problem....

Watch your mouth. Tuning to 32Hz could very well create a black hole that swallows the Earth...

SAZCLASSD
04-12-2010, 08:27 PM
Watch your mouth. Tuning to 32Hz could very well create a black hole that swallows the Earth...

o my b....i thought that would happen at 30hz. I figured 32hz would still keep the world spinnin round...

uz1290
04-12-2010, 08:36 PM
Not that box. Build it 2.5 @ 32 for each chamber and it'll be fine.

Thanks for the advice, so i was looking at the re audio box calculator and came up with with these dimensions W:34" H:20" D"18" and with the port width as 4" and its length at 8" which would tune it to 35 hz. Is it required that i make a chamber for each sub or could i just calculate the displacement value and subtract it to get some where around 5^3 ft total resulting in only a single port as opposed to making two separate ports for each sub. Thanks

Fuknmovin
04-13-2010, 09:36 AM
It will play lower and sound deeper with a common chamber, the only downside is if you bur a sub up, sometimes if you are not paying attention you can hurt the other as well, but its very rare with a ported enclosure, it happens more easily in sealed.