PDA

View Full Version : Question about RE Enclosure Calculator.



stickytak
04-09-2010, 07:30 PM
If I had the dimensions for a 33x36x14 box, and the frequency, If I put four 12" subs in there, would it change the tuning frequency or anything??

I'm assuming that calculator is made for one sub, but I'm not sure if the tuned frequency changes the more subs you add or not.

ExpoSport
04-09-2010, 07:34 PM
it will to an extent. the subs will displace air which will effectively reduce net volume and raise tuning. tho it may be minimal

stickytak
04-09-2010, 07:35 PM
but, if hypothetically the extra subs took up no extra box space, It wouldn't change the frequency that the port is tuned to?

ExpoSport
04-09-2010, 07:38 PM
correct

stickytak
04-09-2010, 07:41 PM
Ok, well my subs call for 2 cubes each, If I can only give them 1.5, what is that going to do to the subs/ the output sound.

ExpoSport
04-09-2010, 07:44 PM
are you able to invert them? that will make it so they take no volume up in the box.

imo the effects from 1.5 to 2 cubes would hardly be audible. you could also use aero ports which will take up less volume to help keep you closer to 2 cubes. i have a calculator uploaded in this section that allows tuning with slot and aero ports you may wanna tinker with. the RE calc isnt 100% accurate. i look at it as more of a ballpark range

stickytak
04-09-2010, 07:46 PM
I cannot invert them, and what's an aeroport, and where can I find your calculator?

ExpoSport
04-10-2010, 04:37 AM
it's in this subforum. and an aero port is just a round port. they're more efficient than slot ports, and do not need to be as large. so they dont take up as much volume. but...you need to buy them whereas slot ports you can make out of wood from the box you make

on1wheel01
04-11-2010, 09:58 AM
I have used both and I like slot port better. Aeros are easier to use as you just make hole cut outs. But yea they will change the hz depending on how big of subs you have. If lets say you have 4 with tripple stacked 1" slug motors with a mounting depth of 10+" well then it wwill take up quite a bit of space most subs show what space they occupy.