PDA

View Full Version : Speaker set up help!



MustangMafia
04-08-2010, 06:04 PM
I have a 97 Mustang that was equipped with a basic factory system. I have installed several different HU's and just recently blew the stock speakers. First I installed Sony XS-R5743 all around. I was getting a bad crackle from all of the speakers at mid range vol. I took those out and installed Kicker KS-680's all around, I was getting the crackle at about the same vol. with the sony's. I installed a different HU, I can get a little higher in vol., but I am still getting the crackle. What do I need to look at or install or look for? any help would be greatly appreciated. Both recent HU were Pioneer.

hatedonmostly
04-08-2010, 06:06 PM
You need an aftermarket amp to power aftermarket speakers

misfit138
04-08-2010, 06:10 PM
Yup, buy an amp. Some sound deadener is always nice too...

MustangMafia
04-08-2010, 06:33 PM
What kind of amp should I get and what should i look for? I dont know that much about car audio. what size of an amp?

misfit138
04-08-2010, 06:36 PM
What kind of amp should I get and what should i look for? I dont know that much about car audio. what size of an amp?

This'll do just fine. Free Shipping (119.95) MB QUART DSC480<br>4-Channel 640W DISCUS 08 Series AMPLIFIER (http://www.millionbuy.com/mbqdsc480.html)

MustangMafia
04-08-2010, 06:52 PM
alright, what gauge of wire should I run to the speakers? I already have the power wires installed (previous owner). install the amp in the trunk? would there be anything else to know about setting up an amp?

misfit138
04-08-2010, 07:00 PM
alright, what gauge of wire should I run to the speakers? I already have the power wires installed (previous owner). install the amp in the trunk? would there be anything else to know about setting up an amp?

- 16 guage wire will do.

- You can install the amp anywhere it'll fit and stay dry. The trunk is usually easiest.

- If you've never installed an amplifier, you might want do search for some gain setting tutorials.

MustangMafia
04-08-2010, 07:08 PM
Nice i am some what of a noob when it comes to amps. im not able to buy an amp right now but what about this one..Kicker 08ZX350.4 (08zx3504) - 4-Channel Amplifiers - Sonic Electronix (http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_11367_Kicker+08ZX350.4.html) not meaning to counter act your selection, im just asking. what rms specs should i need to look for?

misfit138
04-08-2010, 07:15 PM
Nice i am some what of a noob when it comes to amps. im not able to buy an amp right now but what about this one..Kicker 08ZX350.4 (08zx3504) - 4-Channel Amplifiers - Sonic Electronix (http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_11367_Kicker+08ZX350.4.html) not meaning to counter act your selection, im just asking. what rms specs should i need to look for?

That Kicker amp will work just fine. The Mb Quart I linked has a little more head room, which will be nice if you ever decide to upgrade to some nice 2-way components. And believe this, there's a great possibility that you'll want to upgrade.

I'd also like to say that matching your equipment by brand means nothing. Lots of new people think it's beneficial in some way, but it really isn't...

MustangMafia
04-08-2010, 07:24 PM
I didnt figure as much. im wanting one with front and rear rca inputs so i could control fade f to r, my stereo is set up that way

misfit138
04-08-2010, 07:26 PM
I didnt figure as much. im wanting one with front and rear rca inputs so i could control fade f to r, my stereo is set up that way

Front and rear inputs are standard on 4 channel amps, man.

y2kbugger
04-08-2010, 07:26 PM
- 16 guage wire will do.

- You can install the amp anywhere it'll fit and stay dry. The trunk is usually easiest.

- If you've never installed an amplifier, you might want do search for some gain setting tutorials.

I was wondering this earlier today, and to people here recommended under the front seat, seems logical shorter wires, but i'm worried about space and trying to adjust the gains whiles it's down there.

*SlappinAzz*
04-08-2010, 07:28 PM
you need 30 gauge

misfit138
04-08-2010, 07:31 PM
I was wondering this earlier today, and to people here recommended under the front seat, seems logical shorter wires, but i'm worried about space and trying to adjust the gains whiles it's down there.

I've never been a fan of mounting anything other than crossovers or maybe Sirius tuners under my seats.

misfit138
04-08-2010, 07:32 PM
you need 30 gauge

negative

hatedonmostly
04-08-2010, 07:36 PM
I've never been a fan of mounting anything other than crossovers or maybe Sirius tuners under my seats.

Yeah, DON'T do that. I had to in my Dakota since I had nowhere to mount my 2 channel amp, so I had to search and search for an amp that would fit (my space available was also very limited), and now that I have one, I have to pull my seat out every time I want to set the gain...

misfit138
04-08-2010, 07:37 PM
Yeah, DON'T do that. I had to in my Dakota since I had nowhere to mount my 2 channel amp, so I had to search and search for an amp that would fit (my space available was also very limited), and now that I have one, I have to pull my seat out every time I want to set the gain...

I drive a quad cab Dakota. No extra room anywhere...

*SlappinAzz*
04-08-2010, 07:37 PM
negative

i was only kidding, 2 gauge.

MustangMafia
04-08-2010, 07:41 PM
i was gonna say 30 gauge is tiny wire

misfit138
04-08-2010, 07:41 PM
i was only kidding, 2 gauge.

still not funny :fyi:

MustangMafia
04-08-2010, 07:43 PM
Front and rear inputs are standard on 4 channel amps, man.
my bad, im still figuring this amp stuff out, luckliy my dad knows a thing or two but there are gaps ( thats getting filled in on here).

*SlappinAzz*
04-08-2010, 07:45 PM
still not funny :fyi:

Well jebus christ, 16 gauge.

misfit138
04-08-2010, 07:46 PM
Well jebus christ, 16 gauge.

buttsecks?

*SlappinAzz*
04-08-2010, 07:49 PM
buttsecks?

girls only, mkay? Jebus, so super cereal arent ya?

hatedonmostly
04-08-2010, 07:58 PM
I drive a quad cab Dakota. No extra room anywhere...

Indeed...my old box took up the whole area behind the seats so that's what I was left with. Ended up giving up and doing the blowthough, you see my build log bro?

misfit138
04-08-2010, 08:17 PM
Indeed...my old box took up the whole area behind the seats so that's what I was left with. Ended up giving up and doing the blowthough, you see my build log bro?

Yup, I saw it. Did you ever figure out what happened to your subs?

hatedonmostly
04-08-2010, 08:40 PM
Yup, I saw it. Did you ever figure out what happened to your subs?

Yeah, two subs came undone so the amp was playing two at 2 ohm and I blew one. So I'm using two for now, and waiting for my replacement to get here Monday.

MustangMafia
04-09-2010, 09:07 AM
What exactly is causing my speakers to crackle?

MustangMafia
04-09-2010, 05:13 PM
Hey guys my cousin has an amp i can try. I am just gonna run wires to test the amp and if all works well I will either get that one or a new one.

MustangMafia
04-10-2010, 11:02 PM
Hey guys installed amp and ran wires, took about 3 hrs. to do it. Fixed all problems except I have a new one. I am getting Engine RPM interference. Should I wrap them in aluminum foil?

hatedonmostly
04-10-2010, 11:03 PM
Hey guys installed amp and ran wires, took about 3 hrs. to do it. Fixed all problems except I have a new one. I am getting Engine RPM interference. Should I wrap them in aluminum foil?

Did you run your RCAs on the same side of the car as the power wire? This is usually the most common issue. Otherwise, make sure you have grounded both the head unit and amp(s) well.

MustangMafia
04-11-2010, 12:04 PM
I ran the rca sown the middle of the car with them kinda bunched up under the drivers seat under the carpet. they could be close to the batt cable but not too close though.

MustangMafia
04-11-2010, 02:01 PM
picked up a noise filter from radio shack and solved my interference issue. thanks guys for all of the help.

gunz4me2
04-11-2010, 04:49 PM
First question I would ask here is if you are running a Pioneer radio. If so, you may have roasted your pico fuse since they blow for the dumbest of things...

If you are not running a Pioneer, and even if you are, I would suggest that you check your grounds at the head unit and the amplifier. Make certain that they are connected to some shiny sheet metal, preferably at a location that leads to the frame of the vehicle.

EDIT: In after you solved your problem... Don't know how I missed page 2, lol.

MustangMafia
04-11-2010, 05:07 PM
lol, no problem, just a little too late is all getting into the problem solving.

MustangMafia
04-12-2010, 12:48 PM
Hey the filter I got at radio shack works a little too well. filters some freq, in the music. Should I install another set of rca cables?

MustangMafia
04-12-2010, 07:54 PM
Hey guys great news, I figured out my problem. It was my head unit causing the noise. I installed another one and crystal clear audio now. It was worth the 3.5 hrs labor installing all of the stuff. Im gonna get a new head unit with the accessories that I want now, and display.