PDA

View Full Version : 2007 mercury grand marquis buid log



streetbeater07
03-30-2010, 09:47 PM
3 ia lethal injection 12's and us amps md3d...


http://i351.photobucket.com/albums/q445/streetbeater07/Mobile%20Uploads/03-30-10_1623.jpg

http://i351.photobucket.com/albums/q445/streetbeater07/Mobile%20Uploads/03-30-10_1622.jpg

http://i351.photobucket.com/albums/q445/streetbeater07/Mobile%20Uploads/03-30-10_1621.jpg

inkfx
03-30-2010, 10:32 PM
Any more information? Looks good so far.

tez4life
03-30-2010, 10:50 PM
Cool, good to see you back, I remember when you were rocking the Nightshades. Nice so far.

BigJoker
03-31-2010, 12:47 AM
what color is the Marquis? any more pics?

stilltippin863
03-31-2010, 01:25 AM
Nice !!! cant wait to see some video!!!

streetbeater07
03-31-2010, 03:06 AM
the enclosure is tuned to 32-34 hz @ 6 cubes internal after all displacements. 96 sq. in of port area..

streetbeater07
03-31-2010, 03:11 AM
Cool, good to see you back, I remember when you were rocking the Nightshades. Nice so far.

yea the nightshades were kool, they just didnt have the right mix of sq/spl that i was looking for..

streetbeater07
03-31-2010, 03:13 AM
what color is the Marquis? any more pics?

I will get more pics as my hardware arrives....UPS man should be here around thursday..
as far as the color, i dont know exactly but it looks silver at times and bronze at times

streetbeater07
03-31-2010, 03:13 AM
Nice !!! cant wait to see some video!!!

yea those LI's should make some hella flex!

streetbeater07
03-31-2010, 08:14 PM
carpet on...
http://i351.photobucket.com/albums/q445/streetbeater07/Mobile%20Uploads/03-31-10_1501.jpg
http://i351.photobucket.com/albums/q445/streetbeater07/Mobile%20Uploads/03-31-10_1500.jpg

streetbeater07
03-31-2010, 08:15 PM
amp & drivers should be in tomorrow..:)

4OZGLOVES
03-31-2010, 08:22 PM
Looks good should slam, makes me miss the trunk of my old p71 vic.

streetbeater07
03-31-2010, 08:31 PM
Looks good should slam, makes me miss the trunk of my old p71 vic.

yea those trunks are huge! Endless possibilities with that much space

streetbeater07
03-31-2010, 08:31 PM
looking for mid 140's on music with this setup

stilltippin863
03-31-2010, 10:14 PM
can you get better pictures or bigger pictures? also where is the port? incabin and where is the port on the box? also what electrical are you running?

streetbeater07
03-31-2010, 10:24 PM
the pictures were taken with my cell phone....crappy, but i dont have acess to a camera atm. its a bottom slot port that runs the length of the enclosure. electrical consists of 2 yellowtops with a redtop under the hood and dual runs of 1/0 to the rear for now. Ordering a 250A mechman alt next week..

I Like Waffle
03-31-2010, 11:08 PM
Looks good, need to put a bigger amp on them though, those LIs should handle more than the 400w a piece.

streetbeater07
03-31-2010, 11:18 PM
Looks good, need to put a bigger amp on them though, those LIs should handle more than the 400w a piece.

the're rated @ 600 rms each and they'll be seeing 650-750 wrms each. the md3d is rated @ 2000 wrms @1 ohm but i called us amps today and they told me that it will put out anywhere from 2200-2500 wrms @1 ohm with proper electrical.

stilltippin863
03-31-2010, 11:35 PM
dude please dont go with mechman..... go with dc power....i'm telling you .....you will be wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy better off with them..... either way if you get a 6g alt from either one....the top mounting bracket wont mount up ....so you have to get a custom top bracket or just lock tight the bottom bolts and have nothing holding top....like i got mine....4g will mount up perfect...

I Like Waffle
03-31-2010, 11:46 PM
the're rated @ 600 rms each and they'll be seeing 650-750 wrms each. the md3d is rated @ 2000 wrms @1 ohm but i called us amps today and they told me that it will put out anywhere from 2200-2500 wrms @1 ohm with proper electrical.

Im not sure about that, i read on ROE that it had been benched to do around 1200w on 12v, and around 1400 on 14.8v. It only has 120a of fusing, i was looking at buying an MD3D myself but bought an AP1800 instead. Ill see if i can come up with the link.

streetbeater07
04-01-2010, 08:24 PM
Im not sure about that, i read on ROE that it had been benched to do around 1200w on 12v, and around 1400 on 14.8v. It only has 120a of fusing, i was looking at buying an MD3D myself but bought an AP1800 instead. Ill see if i can come up with the link.

there's 3 more 40 amp fuses on the inside..

streetbeater07
04-01-2010, 08:27 PM
drivers and amp came today..

http://i351.photobucket.com/albums/q445/streetbeater07/Mobile%20Uploads/04-01-10_1813.jpg
http://i351.photobucket.com/albums/q445/streetbeater07/Mobile%20Uploads/04-01-10_1811.jpg
http://i351.photobucket.com/albums/q445/streetbeater07/Mobile%20Uploads/04-01-10_1810.jpg

streetbeater07
04-01-2010, 08:35 PM
dude please dont go with mechman..... go with dc power....i'm telling you .....you will be wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy better off with them..... either way if you get a 6g alt from either one....the top mounting bracket wont mount up ....so you have to get a custom top bracket or just lock tight the bottom bolts and have nothing holding top....like i got mine....4g will mount up perfect...

whats wrong wit mechman alts? the one i called about is actually a 270 amp @ 1800 rpm and 165 @ 800...

4OZGLOVES
04-01-2010, 08:45 PM
whats wrong wit mechman alts? the one i called about is actually a 270 amp @ 1800 rpm and 165 @ 800...

alts seem to be a toss up, It's all in who you ask,some people swear by an alt that someone else says is junk.

stilltippin863
04-01-2010, 09:18 PM
x2^^^

streetbeater07
04-01-2010, 10:47 PM
i went to the dc site but i dont see any alternators???

stilltippin863
04-02-2010, 12:38 AM
i went to the dc site but i dont see any alternators???

you gotta call them they dont always have everything listed....also the new 270xp alts for our cars will be done the end of next week :)

streetbeater07
04-02-2010, 12:49 AM
you gotta call them they dont always have everything listed....also the new 270xp alts for our cars will be done the end of next week :)
kool

MkKin420
04-09-2010, 05:35 PM
Are you going to run your power cables through the firewall ? I just got an 05 marquis and need some ideas as to where I should route the power wire but have no clue where to run em. If you can put some pics under the hood thatd be awesome.

inkfx
04-09-2010, 06:45 PM
Are you going to run your power cables through the firewall ? I just got an 05 marquis and need some ideas as to where I should route the power wire but have no clue where to run em. If you can put some pics under the hood thatd be awesome.

Look under the carpet by the glove box, there should be a gromet there where you can route the wire.

streetbeater07
04-14-2010, 08:57 PM
^^x2 exactly where mine comes through at.
Oh i will also be changing my amp selection and now going with saz-3000d that i picked up off of ebay...the md3d wouldnt power on but the seller refunded my monies! thanx wkbdkid

streetbeater07
04-15-2010, 10:29 PM
http://i351.photobucket.com/albums/q445/streetbeater07/Mobile%20Uploads/04-15-10_1647.jpg
http://i351.photobucket.com/albums/q445/streetbeater07/Mobile%20Uploads/04-15-10_1645.jpg

awaiting other yellowtop
also ditched the carpet, going with rhino liner on the enclosure

inkfx
04-15-2010, 11:18 PM
I heard some of those liners have trouble sticking to the MDF. May want to check that out before you buy it.

streetbeater07
04-15-2010, 11:20 PM
I heard some of those liners have trouble sticking to the MDF. May want to check that out before you buy it.

thankx for that info. I will def. ask the guy at the truck outfitters shop about that. Hate to spend $80.00 and it peels off in a day!!

streetbeater07
04-20-2010, 10:25 PM
ok, got back to work today. Re carpeted box, installed second batt and amp! **** is wangin! voltage is dropping into the 12.1-12.5 range so i cant really play it full tilt yet but it drops the lows like you wouldnt believe. I want to order my alt this week but honesty, at this point i dont know which i should go with? I called Mechman and they have a 270A thats a direct fit on my car. the unit they sell is a 6g which would be a direct replacement but after reading another grand marquis build log, he went with mechman and is still having issues with voltage drop? On the other hand, DC Power alt did the same thing in his application and the 270xp isnt even out yet???? Anyone have any input as to which i should go with? thanks

stilltippin863
04-21-2010, 01:50 AM
270xp FTW...they are done well atleast i know mine is ...i thank i am gunna be the first with a 270xp for a 4.6l motor in a 2000 grand marquis .....yeah!!! call robbie ASAP

streetbeater07
04-21-2010, 02:32 AM
270xp FTW...they are done well atleast i know mine is ...i thank i am gunna be the first with a 270xp for a 4.6l motor in a 2000 grand marquis .....yeah!!! call robbie ASAP

How much did your alt cost you? I think he quoted me like 650 iirc..

streetbeater07
04-22-2010, 09:13 PM
http://i351.photobucket.com/albums/q445/streetbeater07/Mobile%20Uploads/04-22-10_1339.jpg

http://i351.photobucket.com/albums/q445/streetbeater07/Mobile%20Uploads/04-22-10_1338.jpg

pulled the box out to check wiring today so decided to take some pics for yall...
I got a message from the HR department today, they told me not to turn my radio on when i pull up at work lol! It is a brick n mortar building

streetbeater07
04-22-2010, 10:17 PM
just ordered another yellow top, and kicker kq9 eq..

tez4life
04-24-2010, 12:41 PM
Good stuff man, box looks great and im sure its hitting pretty well. Still love that rear deck baffle you made for your amps and batterys to rest on, looks great.