PDA

View Full Version : Fadaday Cages?



YoungBloodM50
03-30-2010, 07:32 PM
Anybody using these.

I was talking to another guy on another thread about it and it sounded really interesting. I'm curious if any of you audiophiles have tried this on your home theater system.

What brought the subject up was the fact that the DVR's we use at our cable company have little to no shielding against electromagnetic fields that TV's put off. So this guy suggested building a faraday cage around the components.

If you have done this have any of you got pictures or plans. I would like to take a stab at it but don't really know where to start. I did a little research on it but not a whole lot yet. Just wanted to see what others have done.

Thanks.

joetama
04-12-2010, 12:47 PM
Fadaday Cages?

You mean Faraday. Do you run a CRT TV? Typically the sheet metal case is grounded and works as a shield.

JimJ
04-12-2010, 02:08 PM
A properly-built piece of equipment will need no additional shielding at home, unless you live in the shadow of a 100kW TV transmitter. Even then, any input/outputs to it will be just as susceptible to inductive noise, common mode noise, etc...

JimJ
04-12-2010, 02:08 PM
Typically the sheet metal case is grounded and works as a shield.

Hell, even I won't turn on something without an isolation transformer...I may be an audio Luddite, but it's not worth dying...

joetama
04-13-2010, 11:17 AM
Trouble with isolation transformers is the frequency range and I/V curves. Could be chopping some frequencies.

JimJ
04-13-2010, 11:22 AM
In the power supply?

YoungBloodM50
04-25-2010, 01:07 AM
No crt. DLP 50".

The cable boxes that our cable company carries made by PACE has no shielding other than the boxes cover. The other cables boxes that we used to carry made by Motorola had some shielding.

It's all speculation that the tv is putting off electromagnetic rays strong enough to actually cause problems. But when all the cable in someone's house is brand new and the outside has been checked over several times, and nothing else appears to be the problem, I like to think outside the box. I have heard that having your power and av cables crossed can cause problems (such as picture quality will suffer). Aside from speculation though, it's hard to pin something down that is definitive.

And yes I meant Faraday. Thanks for the correction.