PDA

View Full Version : Remote start guru's...

Gianotti
03-30-2010, 11:33 AM
i have an 03 Dodge Diesel, just installed a Viper 5701 remote start, this is a 5spd, so you know with the new vipers you NEED tach for the RS, i cannot find tach to save my life, i am an installer, so i know what i am doin, just looking for some more input from other installers. i dont have a PCM on the side of the firewall like the autos do, i know where the ECM is on the side of the block, its not a blue/gray like the 04 and up, i have tried multiple wire ( testing ) no dice. i have tryed the Cam postion senor, no dice. you cant use virtutach or voltage, these diesel wont pick it up, i cant use the 454T? the tach generator, it wont sense the signal in enough time, i have been seaching for this thing for hours and no luck, **** i have this remote start and cant use it. any help would be great thanks!

John

jakepatch
03-30-2010, 01:50 PM
I ran into this problem on a 2002 Ram about a month ago. I ended up loking at the wire diagram for a 2001. Seems odd that your 2003 would be the same, but maybe worth a shot. On the 2001 there is 2 black plugs right about in middle of the firewall, right above the motor, one of them has a white insert in it. In the plug WITHOUT the white insert, there will be a orange/black wire for the wait to start light, and a gray/black wire for tach. Hopefully this helps.

x1le
03-30-2010, 04:03 PM
I'm lazy too look up wiring info for the truck, but you tried to grab it right @ the injectors with no dice?

Canaan
03-30-2010, 04:18 PM
idatalink ADS-AL CA ?

Shows tach output from the moduel.

Gianotti
03-30-2010, 06:20 PM
jakepatch...i have the next body style up, so that diagram is completly diff from mine, i memeber that style, plus i dont have those plug and its a newer design computer/motor

x1le...havent really tried the injectors, on these diesels they are real sensitive and dont want to mess with that, if i have other options