PDA

View Full Version : Helping Calculating Box



ssj92
03-30-2010, 03:34 AM
Ok I Have two Rockford Fosgate 10" T1 subwoofers. According to their site, they need 3 cubic feet. Woofer Displacement is 0.065 cubic feet. I want to tune the box at 32hz. My car(98 BMW 323i) has very limited trunk space! Max trunk space I can use is: 36" Wide, 14.5" Tall, & 11.5" Depth. I currently have a sealed enclosure and a 600watt amp. I'm upgrading to a 1500watt amp so I was also deciding to go ported, unless the sealed enclosure would be better off, even with a 1500watt amp.

I need the dimensions(specifically on the ports). I never made a ported enclosure before. I want two slot ports. How big should they be? Can anyone make a diagram. Should the ports be on each side or double in the middle?

streetbeater07
03-30-2010, 04:06 AM
you cant get 3 cubic feet out of those dimensions. Maybe you should run 1 ported..

streetbeater07
03-30-2010, 04:23 AM
you need at least 3.75 cu ft. gross INTERNAL to get the desired tuning and airspace for those woofers. 36-48 sq. in of port area. keep in mind the more port area you have, the longer the port length will have to be for a desired tuning frequency.

ssj92
03-30-2010, 10:31 AM
If the box was 36" wide 15.5" tall and 13.5" deep, would that be enough? On rockford fosgate's site boxwizard that says the gross cubic feet is 3.35

Also I cant really run one ported on the amp. The subs are dual 4 and my amp does 600watts @ 4ohms bridged and isnt 2 ohm stable so the output would be even less than the current two sealed setup.

Buck
03-30-2010, 11:27 AM
You don't have enough room to go ported, so I would go sealed.

ssj92
03-30-2010, 12:26 PM
You don't have enough room to go ported, so I would go sealed.

Yeah i expected that. Do you think the subs would be fine in the sealed box running @1500watts without the speajer getting too hot, that was the main reason i was thinking of going portee