PDA

View Full Version : How much port area for 2 PG RSD 12's



Kross6622
03-26-2010, 02:15 PM
I have 2 -12" Pheonix gold RSD's and i cant find specs on them to figure out how much port space I need.

Im looking to put them in a ported box tuned to 34-36 hz. Box size around 2.5 cubic feet internally.

any help would be appreciated.

RAM_Designs
03-26-2010, 04:44 PM
2.5ft^3 for both? Need to go bigger than that, if that's the case.

Kross6622
03-26-2010, 05:06 PM
what would you recommend. For size and port area. I was going to keep it small because I planned on giving it a little more then rated power (1700 watts for both 850 each)

RAM_Designs
03-26-2010, 05:18 PM
Well, shrinking the box size is going to shift the bump in the response curve further up the curve. So, say you're tuned at 35hz, instead of having the bump at around 40hz, it'll be higher like 50hz because of the small box. I wouldn't go any smaller than 4ft^3.

illbmeubu
03-26-2010, 05:39 PM
agreed. 2ft^3 each is about the smallest you wanna go with these subs. I have 4 of them in a 8.5ft^3 box. these subs like a lot of room

Kross6622
03-26-2010, 08:51 PM
So 4 ft^3 what about port area? Basically wanna hit the upper 30's and low 40's good. I dont listen to most bass above 55hz i prefer the mid 30's and low 40"s. It will be in a trunk car. (07 grand prix)

norrizzle90
04-20-2010, 06:49 PM
i say u get a box at 4ft^3.

RAM_Designs
04-20-2010, 06:55 PM
So 4 ft^3 what about port area? Basically wanna hit the upper 30's and low 40's good. I dont listen to most bass above 55hz i prefer the mid 30's and low 40"s. It will be in a trunk car. (07 grand prix)

Do somewhere around 50in^2 of port and tune around 35hz.