PDA

View Full Version : 2 12" MT's Box Suggestions?!



Jaredturp
03-23-2010, 06:49 PM
Anyone want to suggest an enclosure size+Tuning+Port area+Amplifier

For these?




http://i901.photobucket.com/albums/ac219/Jaredturpen/P1010112.jpg
http://i901.photobucket.com/albums/ac219/Jaredturpen/P1010111.jpg

l7runner
03-23-2010, 06:54 PM
Try around 2 cubes a piece, tuned 35-38ish. 15sq in of port per cube.

They should take around 2kW a piece depending on how they are built.

Jaredturp
03-23-2010, 06:58 PM
3" 8 layer D1 AL coil - Extended Length
3 STS Suspension
Sewn Leadwire
12 HD cone assembly

That's the info on their build ^^^

BumpinKota
03-23-2010, 07:17 PM
Try around 2 cubes a piece, tuned 35-38ish. 15sq in of port per cube.

They should take around 2kW a piece depending on how they are built.

This.

Jaredturp
03-23-2010, 07:24 PM
I was thinking about tuning to like 32. I LOVE the lows and this is probably never going near a mic.

mazdakid
03-23-2010, 07:26 PM
32 is fine. I had my mt12 tuned to 32 when i used to have one. It just needed alot more power than i had at the time.

tc300
03-23-2010, 07:30 PM
are those cones painted or did they come that way????

Jaredturp
03-23-2010, 07:32 PM
Painted my favorite color. :)

l7runner
03-23-2010, 11:06 PM
I had a 15 tuned to the low 30's and it sounded great. MTs sound way better than people give them credit for. Tune it low and it should crush the lows and still give you plenty of output

Jaredturp
03-24-2010, 01:42 AM
I'm thinking a Stetsom 5k + 4 cubes @ 32 = Fun!
If I got 2 large batteries and a 220 amp alternator from Mechman would be fine?

BumpinKota
03-24-2010, 03:03 AM
I'm thinking a Stetsom 5k + 4 cubes @ 32 = Fun!
If I got 2 large batteries and a 220 amp alternator from Mechman would be fine?

You would be golden, do big 3 also.

Jaredturp
03-24-2010, 03:07 AM
Would a larger alternator be overkill?
Jesus this is going to cost me a ton.
449 for the alty.
50 for wire(ISH)
300 for batteries
700 for amp
I don't want to add it up... It will likely make me cry!

Jaredturp
04-08-2010, 02:30 AM
My thought is 2 6" aero's? How is that on area?

tangelo95
04-08-2010, 02:43 AM
My thought is 2 6" aero's? How is that on area?
you can run 2 6'' in a 4cube box. give ya 14si per cube

hatedonmostly
04-08-2010, 02:45 AM
Ship them to me and I'll let you know how they sound in 1.5 each @ 33 :)

rickymac21
04-08-2010, 02:48 AM
I would like to see a build log for this :) I miss my 18" mt's . . . They loved the lows so I wouldnt expect anything less from these. . .

Immociide
04-08-2010, 03:05 AM
you can run 2 6'' in a 4cube box. give ya 14si per cube

1 6" should be fine and give you 7.065 in per cube which is fine for aeros or do 3 4" and get 9.42 either should work just fine.

Dont believe me? The poster on top of me has 2 6" for 8 cubes. Remember aeros are different from regular ports.

hatedonmostly
04-08-2010, 03:19 AM
aeros = poop

rickymac21
04-08-2010, 03:27 AM
aeros = poop

I strongly disagree

hatedonmostly
04-08-2010, 03:28 AM
I prefer the frequency response of slot

Immociide
04-08-2010, 04:40 AM
I prefer the frequency response of slot

Elaborate? Ive never heard of a difference in freq response?

Jaredturp
04-08-2010, 11:35 PM
I've tried to use to little port like you suggested. It gives you a tighter response, but lacks in spl and I really want this to be an efficient box.

There will be a build log soon enough. I'm going to make it out of 1" birtch with a triple baffle and flushmount on the top and like I'm saying I think 2 6" aero's. They will be mostly out of the box because it's an SUV with plenty of room. I want the box to be pretty so I'm probably going to roundover and stain or if that goes poorly I'll just paint it.

Thanks for the insights... Keep them coming.

RAM_Designs
04-09-2010, 12:36 AM
Why not go slot?

Jaredturp
04-09-2010, 01:00 AM
Why not go slot?

That's an option...... But I'm looking to do something visually pleasing and slots just don't do it for me(No pun intended).

I could get a shitload of port area and a low tuning pretty easily if I did that. And I would save $120 on Aero's... I'll keep it in mind. I can't start anything until I find a place to get birch .

RAM_Designs
04-09-2010, 02:20 AM
Well, good luck with 4ft^3 tuned to 32hz with a pair of 6" aeros...being 34" long each.

Immociide
04-09-2010, 02:33 AM
Well i suppose if you want sloppy base than go ahead. I dunno tho, hell i think what i currently have at the moment is a bit sloppy. Im not sure about spl gain or loss tho... I thought it just had to do more so with the box and a mixture of the box and port as far as sq is concerned.

Either way ill be watching your build log once its under way. Im interested how this will turn out.

Jaredturp
04-09-2010, 11:25 AM
Well i suppose if you want sloppy base than go ahead. I dunno tho, hell i think what i currently have at the moment is a bit sloppy. Im not sure about spl gain or loss tho... I thought it just had to do more so with the box and a mixture of the box and port as far as sq is concerned.

Either way ill be watching your build log once its under way. Im interested how this will turn out.

Thanks for the info! But I refuse to take advice (If there is any advice in that) from a man that can't spell bass. :veryhapp:

l7runner
04-09-2010, 11:43 AM
Well, good luck with 4ft^3 tuned to 32hz with a pair of 6" aeros...being 34" long each.

Yeah those ports will be stupid long.

Perhaps try a kerfed slot port, it will look better than a plain slot and be cheaper/easier than the aeros.

SavageBlackout
04-09-2010, 11:49 AM
If you're going for efficiency try 5 cubes net and if u can fit and build it a 10" sonotube and make your own flares. Nothing wrong with slot ports but round ports and aeros are more efficient. If you want more output do more port area, but the frequency response will start to roll off sooner than a smaller port would. I myself have done up to 28 inches of port area before per foot, but im not much for anything above 45hz if im just looking for output

Jaredturp
04-09-2010, 12:02 PM
Yeah those ports will be stupid long.

Perhaps try a kerfed slot port, it will look better than a plain slot and be cheaper/easier than the aeros.

Cheaper yes, easier... no. I don't think anything will be easier than just screwing in aeros haha, but I get what you mean.

Jaredturp
04-09-2010, 12:04 PM
If you're going for efficiency try 5 cubes net and if u can fit and build it a 10" sonotube and make your own flares. Nothing wrong with slot ports but round ports and aeros are more efficient. If you want more output do more port area, but the frequency response will start to roll off sooner than a smaller port would. I myself have done up to 28 inches of port area before per foot, but im not much for anything above 45hz if im just looking for output

Thanks man. The issue would be the length of that 10", and building my own aero's. Maybe I can make them out of MDF, but I would need a larger roundover... I already have a circle jig.

Thanks for the input I'll keep it in mind.

l7runner
04-09-2010, 01:32 PM
Cheaper yes, easier... no. I don't think anything will be easier than just screwing in aeros haha, but I get what you mean.

By easier I meant it would be easier to get the appropriate port area need for your situation. With aeros you are kind of stuck in the port area department, but with a slot you have a near infinite choice of areas. The slot is also easier to bend/fit in a box.

Immociide
04-09-2010, 02:56 PM
Thanks for the info! But I refuse to take advice (If there is any advice in that) from a man that can't spell bass. :veryhapp:
I didn't misspell I used the wrong word that is pronounced the same but with a different meaning. Do you never make a mistake?

I say use the biggest box you can fit with as many aeros you can! Hell it seems you're just going to do what you want, so just do it.

Edit: i wouldnt say im a man just yet, im 18 going on 19.

RAM_Designs
04-09-2010, 08:26 PM
I prefer to do slot ports as well, mainly becaue I tune low and port length it 30"+...so it's cheaper, easier, and adds bracing.

Jaredturp
04-10-2010, 02:19 AM
I didn't misspell I used the wrong word that is pronounced the same but with a different meaning. Do you never make a mistake?

I say use the biggest box you can fit with as many aeros you can! Hell it seems you're just going to do what you want, so just do it.

Edit: i wouldnt say im a man just yet, im 18 going on 19.

I'm just 16 going on 17 so yeah I mess up haha I just thought that was funny. The biggest box I can fit is just under 18 cubes. I'm thinking slot now haha... mostly because I don't want to pay for the aero's. Maybe I'll talk to Dave the box guy and see if he will tell me how to make an "octoport"

I'm thinking about starting this tomorrow so IDEAS IDEAS IDEAS.

Other than port stuff..... I'm thinking about doing this. I have a sheet of MDF lying around. So I'm going to make the box from it, then get another sheet of 3/4 birch and make a box around that kinda... basically doubling all the box. Then another layer of birch for the top so I can flushmount. Thoughts?

Jaredturp
04-14-2010, 02:03 AM
I recently saw an 8" aeroport for sale. How would that be for port area??

hatedonmostly
04-14-2010, 02:14 AM
pi*4^2 = 50.24 sq. in. of port
So about 10 sq. in. per cube
Most people say 6-8" per cube so that might be a bit much, but I would do it. :)

Jaredturp
04-17-2010, 03:08 AM
I'm liking this 8" aero idea. Much cheaper than 2 6"s and port area wise it's decent. My thought is 5 cubes at 32 htz which would put my length at just under 20". 10 of them will be inside the box. 10 will protrude? Thoughts?

Jaredturp
04-26-2010, 01:24 AM
Bump.