PDA

View Full Version : Gettin back into car audio



Fantazmic
03-21-2010, 03:41 AM
Hey guys whats up, I am new here getting back into car audio, I am from Broken Arrow, Oklahoma...
I drive a 97 Honda civic sedan, My old setup me and my dad built the box and did all the work.
Ran 2 AQ hdc3 15's
1 AQ 2200D
Kinetik 1400
170 amp alt
Unfortunately I had to sell this to get a nice engine under the hood, but now I am looking to get back into this sport, only this time looking to get 2 12's, Alpine Type R is going to be my sub of choice, I ran a Type R and a Hifonics 1205 back in 06 and for a single type r it wasn't bad.
Also going to get a the same amp, only a 2010 model
Here is my previous setup

Everytime I see these pics I think how fun having that was
http://i422.photobucket.com/albums/pp302/shoes67064/0424090846-00-02.jpg
http://i422.photobucket.com/albums/pp302/shoes67064/100_2004.jpg
http://i422.photobucket.com/albums/pp302/shoes67064/100_1978.jpg

pic of the whip
http://i422.photobucket.com/albums/pp302/shoes67064/100_2029.jpg

FurbiesAndBeans
03-21-2010, 04:26 AM
Why type Rs? I'd get the SDC over the Rs any day. That old set up looks sweet. Just get that instead :D

Tw1st3d13
03-21-2010, 05:19 AM
Y would you downgrade? If you are gonna downgrade in SPL at least go for SQ!

Mattd0344
03-21-2010, 05:47 AM
Ya I would skip on the type R's...there are a ton of subs out there that sound much better. Look into Sundown Audio SA-12's, Incriminator Audio Lethal Injections, and DC Level 3's..those subs are similar in power handling to the type R.

Fantazmic
03-21-2010, 05:25 PM
Well the reason I sold the previous system was to pay off my new engine I put in, but now that I got everything together and have extra money I am going to put a nice system in, but also don't want it to weigh down my car like the 2 15 AQs.

And I am going with Type Rs because my first system was a single type r 12" in a ported 3.5 cu ft box at 32 hz and it slammed for what it was, was being powered by a Hifonics 1205, going to get the Hifonics 1210 and 2 Type rs for about $420.

thericanballer
03-21-2010, 11:38 PM
that was a nice setup

kr15
03-21-2010, 11:44 PM
If you get a new Brutus, get the BRz series, as they are now CEA compliant

Fantazmic
03-22-2010, 04:24 PM
Oh man I forgot to add that this box was 9.5 cu ft, what is visible in the pics is only 6 cu ft but it extended back into the trunk, we had to build two seperate boxes to make this work and bolt them together while in the car.