PDA

View Full Version : 2 15" ported speaker encloser at 25hz

NickCarullo
03-18-2010, 07:54 PM
okay so i want to build a bigger ported box for my 15" audio planet subs right now there just in a stock sealed enclosure and i have a couple of questions first

1. would doing this make my subs any louder or hit any harder?
2. the specs on the site says: freq.response 25hz-1khz
3. should i build my ports tuned to that or does it matter what i tune it too?
4. how do i build my ports for the specific frequency i want it to have

thank you im just a beginner

RAM_Designs
03-18-2010, 08:36 PM
I'd tune higher for sure. Do you have a link to the exact subs you have?

NickCarullo
03-18-2010, 09:09 PM
PLANET AUDIO | YOUR FINAL DESTINATION (http://www.planetaudiousa.com/main/615)

NickCarullo
03-18-2010, 09:10 PM
someone told me i should tune around 33hz for loudness i mean all i want is for them to be loud and hit harder

BumpinKota
03-19-2010, 06:43 PM
Tune it to around 35-36 hz

RAM_Designs
03-19-2010, 09:48 PM
Tune it to around 35-36 hz

x2, I was thinking around 35hz myself. PA doesn't give any real useful specs that would determine what size box to use, but I'd go with around 3.5ft^3 each tune to 35hz.

basshedz06
03-20-2010, 10:19 AM
x2, I was thinking around 35hz myself. PA doesn't give any real useful specs that would determine what size box to use, but I'd go with around 3.5ft^3 each tune to 35hz.

all this is good info i would def not go by company specs myself, build an tune it how you want cause in the end it's just a sub. i don't think 3.5^3 would be enough for that low of tuning cause he wouldn't have enough port area, would he not? Not for 15's anyway, i would go with at least 5-6 after displacement with about a 4 or 5 in wide port should put it around that tuneing for sure.
he the guy that i am quote on his post he design boxes get him some cash an i am sure he will get ya right with a cut sheet an all.

mazdakid
03-20-2010, 10:49 AM