PDA

View Full Version : box design for hdc3 15



Big_Nasty_Beat
03-14-2010, 02:57 PM
is 9 cubic feet with out subtracting the vent and sub displacement too big for one of these 15s in a grand cherokee? btw im tuning it for around 34-33 hz

mazdakid
03-14-2010, 03:30 PM
yes it is too big. you dont have to tune it that low to get a nice low end from them.

schackel
03-14-2010, 03:32 PM
the port+sub dis.=about 2ft^3 So 7 cubes or so would be pretty big. shoot for 4 cubes plus port and displacement

Big_Nasty_Beat
03-14-2010, 03:48 PM
well will it still sound good if i use a 9 cube box the reason i ask is cuz im thinking about buyin another 15

RAM_Designs
03-14-2010, 04:22 PM
well will it still sound good if i use a 9 cube box the reason i ask is cuz im thinking about buyin another 15

Then build a new box when you get that other 15, but don't do a huge box for just one of them. And if 9ft^3 is all you have to work with, you can't do a pair of them properly.

Big_Nasty_Beat
03-14-2010, 07:43 PM
ok so 7 cubes would be sufficent for 1 of these subs? and the sub will be mounted facing up and the vent is gonna be facing my back door this box will be about 43.5 inches wide and 28 inches deep 19.5 inches tall (height) so give me an idea on what to do please ?

RAM_Designs
03-14-2010, 07:48 PM
All you really need is 6ft^3 total for a single HDC15, so you'll end up with around 3.75-4ft^3 after all displacements.

mlstrass
03-15-2010, 12:25 PM
4.25 - 4.5cubes NET is ideal for those subs. Tune to 35Hz if you want to kill on the lows. So 8.5 - 9cubes net for 2 of them...

Big_Nasty_Beat
03-19-2010, 07:11 PM
my last subs 2 12in cvx's tuned for 28 was nasty thats what i like thats y i want it tuned for 33

Slo_Ride
03-19-2010, 07:14 PM
a box that big and you will be buying another, to replace the first one that blows. seriously though, way to big and make sure you have enough port area, the hdc3's aren't happy with small ports.

Big_Nasty_Beat
03-19-2010, 07:29 PM
ok so help me out with this lol ive got alot of room to work with basically i dont care how deep it is as long as its 19.5 in tall and 43.5 in wide and tuned for around 33- 35 hz or give me a better hz to tune it to i have no clue on this thing i just want it to hit lows good and not so mid rangy ya know

mlstrass
03-20-2010, 04:04 PM
I gave you the specs above, so if 2 subs just double that. Tune to 35Hz and do 16^2 of port area per net cube.

Big_Nasty_Beat
03-21-2010, 12:16 AM
ok so im gonna do a 5.5-6 cubes and what do u mean by port area? i said i wanted to put the vent right across the bottom of the box with the sub facing up and vent facing my back door. so a 42 in across the bottom and like 2.5in wide is enough right? ill give u guys the dimensions of what space i have to work with and what i think will look good in the back.

RAM_Designs
03-21-2010, 04:28 PM
That port is too skinny. Try to keep the ratio at 1:8 or fatter. 2.5"x42.5" is like 1:17.

Big_Nasty_Beat
04-03-2010, 05:38 PM
how do i make the vent fatter with out messing up the hz

mazdakid
04-03-2010, 05:40 PM
Make it longer too, but then your internal box volume is going to be smaller.

RAM_Designs
04-03-2010, 06:09 PM
how do i make the vent fatter with out messing up the hz

You just need to make a new box.

Big_Nasty_Beat
04-04-2010, 03:06 AM
thats what im doin but i still want to keep 35hz with it

mlstrass
04-04-2010, 10:40 AM
and you don't need it to be the full width of the area in your vehicle. Just draw up a design that fits within your space. 4.5cubes net, 35Hz tuning and 72^2 of port area.