PDA

View Full Version : New Box for L5's

Cmmuse
03-10-2010, 03:48 PM
So right now I have 2 12" L5's in a Kicker Box. I've heard that if I build a new, custom box then It could be a little louder. I've heard that the subs facing up and the ports facing towards the back would be the best bet. Right now I have the subs facing the back and the port to the side. I've never built a box before so If I could get some help it would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.

p.s - my box right now is 16-3/8"TD x 19-9/16"BD x 32-3/8"W x 16"H and its in the back of a Jeep Commander, so it fits easily and I could use more space if needed.

S.P.L.
03-12-2010, 01:20 AM
Your right, an enclosure is just as important as the sub. Kicker L5 and L7 subs are pretty wicked but if you don't have the right enclosure then your probably loosing out on some sound quality. There are some really great pre fab enclosures out there. Most people try to build their own but don't realize that a lot goes into building an enclosure properly. A high quality enclosure should have full dado's and mitered edges. The vents should be divided and separate chamber for a dual box. However if you are going to build your own enclosure I would recommend trying to replicate something similar to the image below http://74.53.76.202/~atrendus/images/products/atrend/TL-12DVK.html This particular enclosure is designed specifically for L5/L7 subs and its coated with bedliner. The coating actually helps strengthen the box and reduce bending and flexing.

Here is the link for the image is Untitled Document (http://74.53.76.202/~atrendus/images/products/atrend/TL-12DVK.html)

psych0ticnemes1
03-12-2010, 11:42 AM
A quality box does not need to have dados, rabbets or miters. A quality box can be glued and clamped, glued and screwed, glued and nailed, whatever. The quality part is in the design and its accuracy.

RAM_Designs
03-12-2010, 04:31 PM