PDA

View Full Version : Port size question



kush-divinity
03-03-2010, 12:51 PM
What would be the negatives of exceeding the reccomended port area? For instance, if I needed 64^2, but I went to 100^2, just because??? Other than a substantial increase in port length, would there be any downfall to this?
I am looking for a very flat response, or one with the peak in the 25-40 hz range. My box now has a very small port area, something like 30^2 in almost 6ft3 box.... hammers the lows, but falls fast above 40. I really want to flatten the response, and be able to get more output without port whistle.

kush-divinity
03-10-2010, 03:53 PM
up

SubNit
03-10-2010, 05:10 PM
What would be the negatives of exceeding the reccomended port area? For instance, if I needed 64^2, but I went to 100^2, just because??? Other than a substantial increase in port length, would there be any downfall to this?
I am looking for a very flat response, or one with the peak in the 25-40 hz range. My box now has a very small port area, something like 30^2 in almost 6ft3 box.... hammers the lows, but falls fast above 40. I really want to flatten the response, and be able to get more output without port whistle.

I find it hard to believe your current box "hammers" anything with such a minimal amount of port area. Try 6ft^3 @32 with 72sq in or port area if your chasing the low end of the spectrum