PDA

View Full Version : 880prs noise at low volumes



dacheatham
02-10-2010, 12:03 AM
At low volumes I have a "crackling" for lack of a better description from my fronts. I did not have this issue with my 9884. It is not noticeable at higher volumes. Is this related to the widespread issues with this head unit? If so, is there a way to fix it?

orangecounty1
02-10-2010, 01:52 AM
common issue. it will probably only get worse. not just the 880, on ALL pioneers. my 880 was fine for years and just happened like 5 months ago, mine was BAD though.

the "fix" is to ground a set of RCA ouputs from the HU, to the chassis of the HU. theres a little threaded hole on the back of the HU. get a metric (i think its metric...M2 or something i cant remember) bolt, a little ring terminal, and ground it there. just strip some wire, and wrap it around the metal part on the RCA output, and tape it in place. ghetto, but itll work. ill get pics of mine tomorrow although i think theres pics around here but the search doesnt seem to work.

ill post pics tomorrow though if there isnt any, or if you still need help.

ejschultz
02-10-2010, 02:09 PM
If you're feeling especially adventurous, you can open up the HU and attempt to solder where the pico fuse was. That's what I'd do if I blew mine. Notice I said if I blew it. It doesn't blow itself. Pioneer doesn't blow pico fuses, people blow pico fuses.

orangecounty1
02-10-2010, 08:05 PM
mine was fine for 3 years then went to turn it on as i have for the last 3 years and it blew..dont see where i came into play of it blowing in that situation?

orangecounty1
02-10-2010, 08:41 PM
this is what i did on mine to fix it (the red wires)

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg234/pimpedout97x/IMG00003-20100210-2007.jpg

ejschultz
02-10-2010, 10:51 PM
mine was fine for 3 years then went to turn it on as i have for the last 3 years and it blew..dont see where i came into play of it blowing in that situation?

You should rephrase your original post. It's not a common issue. It's a rather uncommon issue. However, it is common for people to blow the pico fuse by not disconnecting power to the HU before disconnecting the RCAs. I guess it could happen for no reason, but again, that's an uncommon issue.

Maglite
02-10-2010, 11:20 PM
this is what i did on mine to fix it (the red wires)

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg234/pimpedout97x/IMG00003-20100210-2007.jpg

Nice pic...might come in handy one day...thanks for posting.

brmcm15
02-10-2010, 11:29 PM
heres a pic of mine i just did a little bit ago..i need to re do it, thinking about selling it :/

http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t184/brmcm15/0125001209.jpg