PDA

View Full Version : help with winISD beta



the Answer
02-08-2010, 08:07 PM
ok so i dont understand it completly. im trying to do it for a 18" lvl 4 and when i put in how big i want the box it doesnt peak at 30hertz like i want it to it peaks at like 40 but if i put it at 40cubes then it peaks @30. the box i want is 6cubes @ 30hertz. help plz.

thericanballer
02-08-2010, 08:09 PM
i dont understand the question

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 08:09 PM
Tune lower maybe or bigger box

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 08:10 PM
why do you want it to peak so low, its gonna fall off really quick.

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 08:12 PM
t/s on the dc and i'll plug it in to winisd

the Answer
02-08-2010, 08:20 PM
t/s on the dc and i'll plug it in to winisd

DC Audio - Specifications (http://dcsoundlab.com/specs.html)

the Answer
02-08-2010, 08:21 PM
why do you want it to peak so low, its gonna fall off really quick.
so its better to peak higher then at tuning?

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 08:25 PM
Well my winisd isnt wanting to load correctly.

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 08:25 PM
so its better to peak higher then at tuning?

It will usually peak higher than tuning.

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 08:33 PM
new winisd downloaded, give me a sec

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 08:40 PM
Also so that you know, winisd and reality are sometimes completely differ. Meaning that what you get on the program and how the sub responds and performs in you car can vary greatly.

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 08:43 PM
I think 6 cubes tuned to 30 hz would be great. I never really like winisd, never really use it, guess thats why I had to redownload it.

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 08:44 PM
DC says you can go as much as 8 cubes if you want

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 08:47 PM
Sorry I couldnt help more

the Answer
02-08-2010, 09:50 PM
8 cubes is going to be to big for my truck so thats y im going with 6:)

how much port area do i need for this sub?

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 09:52 PM
Whats your amp?

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 09:53 PM
Generally its 12-16 square inches of port per cubic foot when using a slot port.

thericanballer
02-08-2010, 09:56 PM
Generally its 12-16 square inches of port per cubic foot when using a slot port.

i think he meant square port area...

the Answer
02-08-2010, 09:57 PM
im using the RE audio box maker. i heard that it is off by about 2-3 hertz so im tunning it to like 27 on their so it will come out to like 30 and im probably going to get one of the amps in my sig

box is giong to be standing up port on left side, port up, sub front. measruments on re calculator
40
15
26
26
.75
5
5

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 09:57 PM
i think he meant square port area...

whatcha mean slim?

the Answer
02-08-2010, 09:58 PM
i think he meant square port area...

thats what im looking for:)

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 10:00 PM
im using the RE audio box maker. i heard that it is off by about 2-3 hertz so im tunning it to like 27 on their so it will come out to like 30 and im probably going to get one of the amps in my sig

box is giong to be standing up port on left side, port up, sub front. measruments on re calculator
40
15
26
26
.75
5
5

whats the 5 and 5
40 x 15x 26 =7.36914 cubes net. you have to subract sub and port displacement

the Answer
02-08-2010, 10:04 PM
whats the 5 and 5
40 x 15x 26 =7.36914 cubes net. you have to subract sub and port displacement

RE Enclosure Calculator (http://reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html)

if u use this u will see what im talking about
just put these in order

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 10:08 PM
one 5x5 port isnt enough thats only 25 square inches, you need more like 90.

the Answer
02-08-2010, 10:16 PM
what about
40
15
30
30
7
10

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 10:20 PM
what about
40
15
30
30
7
10

7 x 10 = 70. I dont think thats enough, still dont know how much power you have though. you need 9 x 10 or 8 x 11 or somewhere close to that 3x 30, etc

the Answer
02-08-2010, 10:23 PM
7 x 10 = 70. I dont think thats enough, still dont know how much power you have though. you need 9 x 10 or 8 x 11 or somewhere close to that 3x 30, etc

the re caulculator is coming up with 94.5 square port area

and im going to be running 1200-1500rms

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 10:28 PM
94.5 is plenty. anywhere from 80 to 95 I'd say is good. I dont use re calculator but a lot of people do so you should be good.

the Answer
02-08-2010, 10:30 PM
thanks for all the help:)

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 10:32 PM
Ahh i see the 5 and 5 isnt the port. the 7 and 10 isnt the port. I was mistaken sorry like I said dont use RE. I always use pen and paper, but it should be good, I'd go with it.

the Answer
02-08-2010, 10:34 PM
Ahh i see the 5 and 5 isnt the port. the 7 and 10 isnt the port. I was mistaken sorry like I said dont use RE. I always use pen and paper, but it should be good, I'd go with it.

ok thanks
now i need to makesure that this box will fit since it is bigger

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 10:39 PM
ok thanks
now i need to makesure that this box will fit since it is bigger

Yeah if you post up some max dimesions then we could go from there.

the Answer
02-08-2010, 10:45 PM
to late tonight and i got a basketball game tomaro so it will be wednesday when i can get them
but i think something like
15deep dont want deeper because it will hit seat and i still need to double baffle
30tall dont want to completly cover window & the higher i go the closer it is to my seat
40wide thats about it for width.

Slo_Ride
02-08-2010, 10:50 PM
40
15
30
30
7
10
This one looks good, you can go a little less on the port width if you want. Like 6 or 6.5.