PDA

View Full Version : Box Help ASAP



BigPuss
12-26-2003, 11:03 PM
Ok everybody, my friend is going to put his order in for his box. He has a 94' s-10 regualr cab. I took the measurements from behind his seats and came up with a little design. The problem is that I don't design enough enclosures to be able to get the most effecient designs. My friend's issue is that he is what you would call "plump" and keeps his seat back just about all the way. His subs are 12" Alpine Type E's and Alpine suggested a 0.8 ft.^3 per chamber box. My measurements are as follows:

From the floor to the seat - 11"
From 7" high to seat - 7"
From 16" high to seat - 1"

I need to be able to actually fit these 12's (magnet and all) and also have enough excursion room.

My dimensions were 10w X 15H X 20.5D = 0.88 ft.^3 - .08 ft.^3 sub displacement. This may fit the sub but I have no idea how to calculate where the 11.5" hole would be on the slope.

Can somebody please help me with this issue or maybe even take my measurements and design a more effecient enclosure? Thank you all so very much.

davidfre21
12-26-2003, 11:21 PM
so, before i try to draw soemthign

top = 1"
bottom = 10"
hieght = 15"
length = 20.5"
????

did i get that right?
so u need like a trapaziod sorta(geometery coming in handy)

first problem i can find is that teh 2 subs wont fit length wise 11.5+11.5=23 and u got 20.5"s right, answer those and repost and ill try it again

BigPuss
12-26-2003, 11:34 PM
Sorry, I forgot to mention that these were the dimensions for only one of the chambers. I was thinking that it would save more space by having it like a triangle (scratch that 1") or do you think having a couple inches at the top would be better? I have 3 to spare. My problem is that I need to actually fit the sub in the box as well as leave enough room for excursion.

davidfre21
12-26-2003, 11:40 PM
just make it an L box, only for one chamber huh? so u got 41" for the length?


ahh back to the drawing board, i made a box setting 24" as my max length but its coo

BigPuss
12-26-2003, 11:45 PM
I really appreciate your help btw. Every other forum comes back with nothing.

I prolly should have mentioned this b4 but my idea was to have 2 enclosures with and amp rack in the middle.

BTW, do you have aim?

davidfre21
12-26-2003, 11:52 PM
k got a box here with .868 cubic feet per chamber aim wise look down lol

if u too lazy davidfre21