PDA

View Full Version : how do you do interchangeable ports?



crfrider
02-02-2010, 12:10 PM
a yes how would I go about doing a interchangeable port, i want to do like 32-35 hz for everyday, then do a like 40-45hz for spl? how would i go about doing a interchangeable port? I was wanting to do a slot port so how can i do that, which tune would be a bigger port, then would i just slide in a smaller port into the slot? any help would be great thanks

Buck
02-02-2010, 12:20 PM
You make a port in which you can take out. Lower tuning would be either a longer port or a smaller one.

crfrider
02-02-2010, 12:37 PM
well how would i do a slot port that i can take out

SW9152
02-02-2010, 06:14 PM
Have you considered circular aero ports? those would be easy to make different length tubes.

mbrooky
02-02-2010, 07:40 PM
well the slot would be more of a rectangle port...just make the cutout larger to accomodate the port, slide it in and bolt it down....say your spl or higher tuned port is 4wx10tall" 5" long and your daily low end port is 4x10" 12"long. make a rectangle that's 8x14...to leave a little overhang so you can bolt to the box...and cutout a hole centered that's 4x10. then make your port walls...example is 5" long, take into account of the .75 from the top plate and each piece would be 4.25 long....then the same for the low end port.....then since this one is 4x10 you would cut a hole in the box that is 4.75x10.75 to slide in the port( assuming you are using 3/4 wood)...then screw it to the box.....make sense????

square port i made out of birch attached that was 8x8, i made one for daily and one for comps.

TwoEggCustoms
02-02-2010, 10:06 PM
if you want i can take some pics of mine to kinda show you what you will be dealing with i cant take the port out at the moment but it will give you an idea to what the end product is

crfrider
02-02-2010, 10:24 PM
thanks guys for the help i think i under stand so the length of the port makes the different tunes? yea twoeggcustoms take some pics if you dont mind well im not failiar with areo ports it seems that it would be easier to change but i dont want ports sticking out

mbrooky
02-03-2010, 09:50 AM
use this as a guide: Subwoofer Enclosure Calculators, Fraction to Decimal, Parallel, Series, Port Length and Volume Calculators (http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp)

scroll down and use the "slot port length calculator" For my example above I put in Port Width-4 Port Height-10 and box volume- 6cubes tuning 32 = roughly 12" and change tuning to 40hz= 6"

hope it helps. :D

TwoEggCustoms
02-03-2010, 07:01 PM
youll have to ignore the extra sheet of wood i got there one of my 10s is out of commission so i grabbed the first peice of mdf i had and covered it up... then the duct tape is for decoration ;) had a little water leak lol

http://i581.photobucket.com/albums/ss258/germanpoweredpos/IMG_0470.jpg

http://i581.photobucket.com/albums/ss258/germanpoweredpos/IMG_0471.jpg

http://i581.photobucket.com/albums/ss258/germanpoweredpos/IMG_0472.jpg

http://i581.photobucket.com/albums/ss258/germanpoweredpos/IMG_0473.jpg

not guna take it out right now unless you really have to see it... but the bolts you see come out and the port slides out i have my 50hz port at the other house the one in there right now is 35hz box is double baffled you can see where the baffle ends and the port begins...

btw if he is still running around here i didnt make this box so ill give credit where its due.... Cannon White built it and it is one of the best boxes ive used...:toast:

TwoEggCustoms
02-03-2010, 07:06 PM
figured i might as well show the rest of it too ;)

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs100.snc3/16766_104303539586744_100000212942577_113031_23150 5_n.jpg

box is 6.5 cubes with 2 3/4" steel braces and fiberglass resin on the inside made for 3 10s for a truck but i got a good deal on the subs and the box came with so... previous owner is a good friend of mine

AQHDC3
02-03-2010, 07:36 PM
Here is a pic of mine to give you another idea:
http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww84/345roush/taylorscamera633-1.jpg

rosshimself13
02-06-2010, 10:04 AM
sorry for the off topic post but twoegg, what vehicle is that box in?

twistedchild420
02-06-2010, 10:13 AM
Aero's are the easiest way brah

TwoEggCustoms
02-06-2010, 11:37 AM
sorry for the off topic post but twoegg, what vehicle is that box in?

that would be in my 91 jetta why?

rosshimself13
02-06-2010, 01:18 PM
im an idiot... thats why, it looked like the back seat of my truck i the last picture you posted...