PDA

View Full Version : 2 15" davinci's in my golf



idontwant1
12-26-2003, 11:48 AM
hey guys i need a bit of help ..here goes
i just baught 2 15" soundstream davinci's stream sya optimal box would be 1.5 cube box with a 4"x12" port ... per sub
now i was thinking a box with 2 chambers each chamber bmountedeing 17x17x10.5 approx 1.78 without the port or sub mounted ...what do you guys think i can stretch the 10 to what ever number to make this work better .. also what size slot port would be needed ...im leaving it with you guys now

idontwant1
12-27-2003, 12:08 PM
anybody .........

idontwant1
12-27-2003, 04:59 PM
heeeellllllllppppppp

idontwant1
12-28-2003, 09:53 AM
anybody there?

havoc06
12-28-2003, 12:08 PM
you question is a bit confusing...try to rephrase and i will help you

idontwant1
12-28-2003, 12:39 PM
thanks havoc heres the rephrase
i hav 2 soundstream davinci 15"s the onoly info that i have to build a box is each sub needs a 1.5 cube box with a 4"x12" port

so heres what i want to build a box that has 2 chambers each measureing 17"x17"x10.5" internally approxamatly 1.78 cubic for each sub now will the sub basket and port bring me down lower than 1.5 cubic foot or shouldl i be ok and how would i convert a 4x12" round port to a slot port
thanks alot for the help

Jayson Hisel
12-29-2003, 03:33 AM
why dont you make one box 3.56ft3 (1.78 x2) with the port in the middle 2 inchs wide by 17 inchs tall ( the internal length of the box ) x 7.7 tunned @ 35 hertz


jayson

idontwant1
12-29-2003, 07:37 AM
would the port still be 12"deep and i might be amping the subs seperatly in the end so i figured dual chambers might work better but i like the simplicity of a single chamber with 1 port

idontwant1
12-29-2003, 08:08 PM
hello ......

havoc06
12-29-2003, 08:37 PM
ok this is what you do. Find the displacement of the sub. This is how much air space the sub takes up. Add that to 1.5, and you should see how big to build your box. If you dont want to do that, somewhere around 2 cubes before port and sub displacemt should be ok. To find out what a 4 inch port comes to in sq inches, you do Pi*Radius Squared which is about 12.5 sq inches. You can build the square port that is 12.5 sq inches to be the same as a 4 inch opening. Personally i would do a bigger port, something around 30 sq inches to make it sound better.

havoc06
12-29-2003, 08:38 PM
And if you are using 1 amp, use a single chamber, and just make two ports. a single chamber makes it easier to ensure the subs have the exact same air space

idontwant1
12-29-2003, 09:53 PM
so youd go a 2 cube box with a 30 sq inch port

Jayson Hisel
12-29-2003, 09:59 PM
do the same chamber and single slot port its tunned the same as the round port you wanted to use and you can use one amp

jayson

idontwant1
12-29-2003, 10:10 PM
so ill make a 4 cube single chamber box what size should the port be

havoc06
12-29-2003, 10:41 PM
ok do this 4 cube box. 1 port 15x3 opening, 26 inches long. That should sound good.

idontwant1
01-07-2004, 09:48 AM
well tahnks to all those who threw up answers ....But to sort out my stereo issues i just baught another car ...a 1975 lincoln mk4
so now we need to sort out this pimp mobile

ruxpin20
02-04-2004, 06:52 PM
hi,

I just wanted to know if these subs were any good, im thinking about buying a 12 inch davinci for my 1200 watt jbl amp.

I was wondering if they are any good?

thanks,

JOsh