PDA

View Full Version : Mtx 8000



Snodude69
12-23-2003, 12:39 PM
Well i rescently purchased a MTX Thunder 8000, well actually lastnight i purchased one And i am set on building a sealed box because i have a extended cab truck and their isn't a whole lot of room. And i don't like the idea of alot of wood working. The manufacturers data report for the boxes tells me five diffrent sizes for sealed boxes. I'm wondering if i should use a recommended box or if a custom box would sound better and pump harded, Can anyone suggest something?

ss3079
12-23-2003, 06:33 PM
10", 12", or 15" ?

- Steve

CELLERBR
12-23-2003, 06:45 PM
I have a 12 Thunder 8000 i bought for my brother i was wanting some box building info as well. it will be in a single cab F150 with about 300wrms for now till he upgrades around the first of the year. should i go sealed or ported>? He is wanting good SQ and good SPL say a 50/50 or 60/40 split....about the biggest box we can squeeze out is 2.25-2.5(if we are lucky) ft^3.

ss3079
12-23-2003, 07:05 PM
I have a 12 Thunder 8000 i bought for my brother i was wanting some box building info as well. it will be in a single cab F150 with about 300wrms for now till he upgrades around the first of the year. should i go sealed or ported>? He is wanting good SQ and good SPL say a 50/50 or 60/40 split....about the biggest box we can squeeze out is 2.25-2.5(if we are lucky) ft^3.

For a single 12", maybe 1-2 cubes sealed.

You could go 2-3 cubes ported at around 28hz if you wish.

If it's just temporary, maybe go 1.5 cubes sealed, or 2.5 cubes ported at 25-28hz.

- Steve

Snodude69
12-23-2003, 07:12 PM
I decided to build my box sealed at 1.076 cubed. hows that sounds. and it's a 10"

CELLERBR
12-23-2003, 07:27 PM
For a single 12", maybe 1-2 cubes sealed.

You could go 2-3 cubes ported at around 28hz if you wish.

If it's just temporary, maybe go 1.5 cubes sealed, or 2.5 cubes ported at 25-28hz.

- SteveThe sub is a long term temp sub hahah ,But the amp is short term temp. He will probably upgrade to around 500wrms...

ss3079
12-23-2003, 08:24 PM
I decided to build my box sealed at 1.076 cubed. hows that sounds. and it's a 10"

For a 10" that sounds perfect.

- Steve

Snodude69
12-24-2003, 02:17 AM
Ok, i made the box and i put sealant on all the inside but it doesn't sound very good, it doesn't pump hard. haha it kinda pisses me off cause i worked on the box all day and now it *****. :thumbsdow

Snodude69
12-24-2003, 02:46 AM
The inside mesurments for my box are ,8.25"-12.75"-17" and it's 1.096 cubic feet, umm, the sub is runnin off a mobile authority 2ch 250watt amp.

ss3079
12-24-2003, 01:44 PM
There's endless reasons as to why it doesn't sound like it should ...

Box has a leak somewhere.
Sub isnt sealed against the box properly.
Sub is wired wrong to the amp.
Box is too small.

You gotta remember, it's a single 10" with little power ... if you're used to a different system with more drivers and more power of course it's going to sound weak and inferior.

- Steve

Snodude69
12-24-2003, 02:12 PM
well maybe it's not sealed perfectly. it's wired to run at 2ohms, well according to the wiring diagram. It's runnin bridged. The amp was runnin two jensons before and it was louder then this so the box must not be sealed perfectly

Snodude69
12-24-2003, 04:01 PM
Well it's not the box being unsealed that's the problem cause it's sealed. maybe i need a bigger box.

ngsm13
12-24-2003, 04:12 PM
ummm...go like 2 cubes (after all displacement) ported at like 30hz. Send it 400-500 watts rms and it'll be pumpin...i've dealt with mtx 6000s and 8000s before...decent subs. Give them room and power and they'll do well. peace

NG

Snodude69
12-24-2003, 04:38 PM
I can't send it that much power, lol i'm poor so i haven't bought a new amp yet.

Mirp
01-22-2004, 10:56 PM
ur 10 box to big for sealed is why,they dont need much room.like the other guy said build it bigger ported if u got that room

nosaj070
01-23-2004, 07:57 PM
I believe a problem is you aren't sending it as much power as it would like, im not sure of the power handling of the 8000's, but i know its quite a bit more than 200 some watts. So you really need a new amp, your jensens were louder because they were more efficent but couldn't handle as much power.