PDA

View Full Version : Terminal Cups?



Biohazard
12-23-2003, 05:39 AM
Ok, i was just wondering if i can use a regular terminal cup or do i need a heavy duty one? for 1000+watts?

its for a xxx, and i wasn't sure as local places only have 1 type of cup...but 1500 watts seems like it could and most likely would melt :(

paikiah
12-23-2003, 10:00 AM
well, people say that terminal cups are prone to flex at levels over 1000w RMS. I don't know how true this might be, and if you have knowledge on glassing, i'm sure it would be easy to reinforce it.



if not, to be safe, don't use a cup, use a hole, or use the port opening. :)

Biohazard
12-23-2003, 04:23 PM
i don't mean flex, i mean like melting? as in the metal in the cup won't be able to hold that power.....i dunno :D just thinking ahead :D

Gauntlet
12-23-2003, 04:41 PM
You can drill a small hole in the box, run the wires through it, and then plug it up with silicon.

Trixter
12-23-2003, 05:04 PM
I use brass bolts with wing nuts.

Biohazard
12-23-2003, 06:51 PM
i kinda want to use something professional...u know?


i am just wondering if a regular terminal cup would limit the power capability?

Trixter
12-23-2003, 10:45 PM
i kinda want to use something professional...u know?


i am just wondering if a regular terminal cup would limit the power capability?

It shouldn't. People tend to over do it a lot of times. Really you don't need anything thicker than 14g wire....unless your pushing something like 3000+ watts....or your me and like to play it extra safe with nuts and bolts and 8g wire.

LoneRanger
12-24-2003, 12:47 AM
the push type terminals i use are good to about 1kw

the heavy duty ones (screw type) are good for as much power as you can throw at them.

the only real difference is the quality and thickness of the metal used to make the connection.

paikiah
12-24-2003, 02:02 PM
so your best bet would be to use a thick cable from the speaker terminals to the amp terminals without a break in-between(i.e. terminal cups).

eddie23452
12-24-2003, 02:09 PM
u can just pull the wire through the port opening is that ok.....

paikiah
12-24-2003, 02:11 PM
yes, it's what a lot of people do. Heck, even I do it...

FYI< I use a 12 gauge speaker wire for my sub, 16 gauge for my comps.

LoneRanger
12-24-2003, 08:34 PM
some people like to use cups for cosmetic purposes. also makes it a lot easier to remove the enclosure if need be.

and really guys....if your that **** worried about that cup terminal being a "weak spot" then you have a lot more problems with your enclosure and amp than i even wanna think about :)

Biohazard
12-24-2003, 11:56 PM
some people like to use cups for cosmetic purposes. also makes it a lot easier to remove the enclosure if need be.

and really guys....if your that **** worried about that cup terminal being a "weak spot" then you have a lot more problems with your enclosure and amp than i even wanna think about :)

why's that? its the first time i have made a box.....how would i know, unless i ask?

it is for cosmetic purposes, but it also seems very cheap and flimsy so i thought i should ask.....

80_Cutlass_mn
12-25-2003, 12:14 AM
It shouldn't. People tend to over do it a lot of times. Really you don't need anything thicker than 14g wire....unless your pushing something like 3000+ watts....or your me and like to play it extra safe with nuts and bolts and 8g wire.


Hmm well at least your getting a good damping factor number from your use of large speaker wire then. The larger your speaker wire is then you will have a damping factor closer to what your amp states it DP is at the speaker outputs.

LoneRanger
12-25-2003, 09:50 AM
why's that? its the first time i have made a box.....how would i know, unless i ask?

it is for cosmetic purposes, but it also seems very cheap and flimsy so i thought i should ask.....

i wasn't flaming you man...that one was mostly directed at pakiah :readytogo

sometimes i come off a lot more harsh than i mean to....sorry


good quality terminal cups can be had for cheap. fusion's box accessories are great...gold plated screw-type terms made out of hard plastic. far from flimsey. most high-quality terms also come with a little rubber gasket that goes around the flange to protect from air leaks. it's always a good idea to add a little gasket sealent or silicone.

paikiah
12-25-2003, 09:53 AM
let's get it on, Donn~ :readytogo: hehe...

ss3079
12-25-2003, 01:29 PM
Here's a story ... I wasn't paying attention and got a pressfit terminal (as opposed to the ones with 4 screws) ... yeah, don't do that.

Holy **** 13 000 posts someone needs a life.

- Steve

80_Cutlass_mn
12-25-2003, 03:00 PM
Well when your 50 years old, what else are ya gonna do?, PLAY GOLF?! lol.

Biohazard
12-26-2003, 05:24 AM
i wasn't flaming you man...that one was mostly directed at pakiah :readytogo

sometimes i come off a lot more harsh than i mean to....sorry


good quality terminal cups can be had for cheap. fusion's box accessories are great...gold plated screw-type terms made out of hard plastic. far from flimsey. most high-quality terms also come with a little rubber gasket that goes around the flange to protect from air leaks. it's always a good idea to add a little gasket sealent or silicone.

oh ok :) it just seemed like you were flaming me :D
anywho, thanks for the input!
you answered my question, while everyone else just told me something else to do instead of a cup :D!

thanks

paikiah
12-26-2003, 10:38 AM
oh ok :) it just seemed like you were flaming me :D
anywho, thanks for the input!
you answered my question, while everyone else just told me something else to do instead of a cup :D!

thanks
You asked for advice. People gave what they thought would help you out. You can't digest it, that's your problem.