PDA

View Full Version : Do Equalizers help? Are they worth it?



crfrider
01-09-2010, 01:12 AM
A yes are having eqs worth it? like does it help any? im looking at the CLARION EQS746 eq, Im not sure how you hook these up but if someone could help me i would appreciate it? does having one of these cancel out the eq on the hu and the eqs on the amps? Does it even Cancel out the remote bass knob for the sub amp? So do i run a RCA for each out put of my Hu like Sub, Front, Rear, to each Input on the EQ? or would i just run one set of RCAs out of the Hu to the Main Input on the EQ then run seperate RCAS to each amp, like Sub to Sub Amp, Front To Fronts Amp? does it give you better sound and control? thanks

corrie32
01-09-2010, 01:15 AM
hummmm good question

crfrider
01-09-2010, 06:15 PM
anybody?

Buck
01-09-2010, 06:17 PM
:confused:

Good question x2

Louisiana_CRX
01-09-2010, 06:19 PM
they can help you or hurt you if you don't know how to set them properly...and most people don't know how :fyi:

Buck
01-09-2010, 06:20 PM
they can help you or hurt you if you don't know how to set them properly...and most people don't know how :fyi:

It's too much to get into IMO unless you want absolutely perfect SQ.

Villeza1
01-09-2010, 06:22 PM
A yes are having eqs worth it? like does it help any? im looking at the CLARION EQS746 eq, Im not sure how you hook these up but if someone could help me i would appreciate it? does having one of these cancel out the eq on the hu and the eqs on the amps? Does it even Cancel out the remote bass knob for the sub amp? So do i run a RCA for each out put of my Hu like Sub, Front, Rear, to each Input on the EQ? or would i just run one set of RCAs out of the Hu to the Main Input on the EQ then run seperate RCAS to each amp, like Sub to Sub Amp, Front To Fronts Amp? does it give you better sound and control? thanks

External EQ's dont cancel anything, just makes the signal better by "Cleaning" it up. Bass knob is just like a bass volume, it's not really an EQ. Yes, they do give you better sound control. You can adjust things to your liking. Just dont get a cheap EQ. Not sure how to hook up your specific brand but in general, you need that signal to pass throught it right? So hook up sub RCA out to the EQ in, the from EQ out to amp in. Power and ground and remote turn out just like amp.

EDIT: Same thing for a mids/highs amp but use the corresponding out from the HU.

Villeza1
01-09-2010, 06:23 PM
they can help you or hurt you if you don't know how to set them properly...and most people don't know how :fyi:

X2, or you can get it set by a professional. I used to use one but not anymore. Too complicated to adjust for me.

crfrider
01-09-2010, 06:23 PM
ok but does the eqs having like 7 volt outputs, will that help with the power?

hispls
01-09-2010, 06:25 PM
30 band parametric EQ's can be had for <100$ on ebay from a few companies. A bit more will get you audiocontrol (which I like since they're American made and I've had consistant results with their stuff).

Helps as much as you know how to use it! Ideally you'll use it to tame peaks rather than boost weak spots. Weak spots are typically phase issues / standing waves and boosting the frequencies will only strain equipment and add distortion. Re-thinking install location/aiming or more advanced processing would be needed to fix those sorts of problems.

Villeza1
01-09-2010, 06:29 PM
ok but does the eqs having like 7 volt outputs, will that help with the power?

Not sure, like I said b4...too complicated for me. Talk with the sales rep tech for that product or talk with someone with more knowledge about external EQ's.

528hz
01-09-2010, 06:36 PM
With my setup, it was night and day once I adjusted everything. Especially after I used an RTA; God, that REALLY made a difference!

My EQ is built into my HU (16 band). I'd actually like to get an external one at some point.

Louisiana_CRX
01-09-2010, 06:37 PM
they are well worth it once everything is setup properly....

groundpound4200
01-09-2010, 06:42 PM
With my setup, it was night and day once I adjusted everything. Especially after I used an RTA; God, that REALLY made a difference!

My EQ is built into my HU (16 band). I'd actually like to get an external one at some point.

What headunit?

528hz
01-09-2010, 08:37 PM
What headunit?

My mistake, it's a 13 band.

Kenwood DDX812.

Theride
01-10-2010, 09:46 AM
I have one. It does help. Maybe if you haven't bought an head unit just yet just get one that is built in to the radio.

But I have an external one and it helps to fine tune my sound and I use it a lot. It could be because my HU is old and it doesnt bring the best/sharp sound quality i like.

I am not sure if this is an installer error but whenever i turn my car on or off, i get this loud/pop feedback through my speakers. But without the EQ i dont.

The brand you are looking to get is the brand i have.

djjdnap
01-11-2010, 05:03 AM
isn't it a HU that automatically adjust the EQ i forget the brand, but remember someone was mad because it was difficult to set the EQ manually unless you bought some extra unit to go to it.

PaulD
01-12-2010, 06:54 PM
An EQ is really a must for a good sounding car system but if it is used improperly it will just make things worse.

eharri3
01-12-2010, 07:06 PM
I love my 16 band graphic, took me about an hour to get it right once everything else was set up. There were 3-4 frequencies boosted by 1 or 2 db and 3 or 4 frequencies cut by one but just the small tweaks made a big difference. The most common tendency is over-equalization to overcompensate for equipment or install deficiencies. This just puts you closer to a clipped signal and often causes you to trade one frequency response problem for another.

First lesson in EQ: Someone at some point will advise you all you need to do is make the graph a big smiley face by boosting the lows and highs. Ignore them.

tv559
01-12-2010, 07:10 PM
Im getting a Zapco Eq today cause I need one. I have a stock HU. I want my stuff to sound clean..

cleansoundzz
01-12-2010, 07:49 PM
My Audiocontrol 3.1 is excellent. It has a para bass adjustment between 40-80hz, gain control for bass, sub control volume, volume button and 3 simple band adjustments for bass, mid bass and treble. Excellent and made in the USA.

boogeyman
01-13-2010, 05:29 PM
If you know how to properly use and adjust an EQ they are a must have....If you dont know how to use an EQ they are a must not have unless you are willing to learn how to listen and properly adjust.

Vortec Stroker
01-20-2010, 04:03 PM
If you know how to properly use and adjust an EQ they are a must have....If you dont know how to use an EQ they are a must not have unless you are willing to learn how to listen and properly adjust.

I agree, many do not know the basics of frequency response and what frequencies create what sounds. This plays a big role depending on what equipment you have, and if that equipment naturally peaks at certain frequencies i.e comp sets, 6x9's, subs. Unless you want to do some major research, and alot of listening it will just create more problems than solutions.

supermaxx123
01-21-2010, 12:58 AM
I just got an audiocontrol DQX. I would say it's worth it!
I dont use a headunit so when i run speakers, i have to stick with what i had and only adjust via low-pass high-pass and passive tweeter adjusments. With this thing it's almost crazy how much better it sounds. It worked for me very well and i wouldn't mind spending another hundred or 2 for another unit.
I used it more to calm down the tweeter and raise mid a little, helped blend with the sub better and I hear no distortion even at max volume, my ipod barely puts out 1volt but the DQX helps raise that. you turn down the gain on your amps so yout get no hissing at 0 volume. I get very very little hissing and it has to be dead quite to be able to hear, thats due to having to turn the dqx gains all the way up(again, ipod puts out weak power).
I would suggest you try one and see if you like it, i know i did.
I have used a cheap pyle eq(LOL @ me) and i didnt like that one bit. SO dont go cheap on it either.

cebbeler7
01-21-2010, 02:02 AM
ok but does the eqs having like 7 volt outputs, will that help with the power?
Most stock head units put out like maybe .5 Volts. usually aftermarket headunits put out from 3-5. You have to remember that adding 7 volts along with whatever you have on your head unit (lets say 3 for arguments sake) will give you 10 Volts preout. Thats crazy good. My old head unit pushed out 5 Volts and it sounded great with all my set up. But I also had all the settings on my amps exactly the way I wanted them. The EQ on my head unit was on 0 for treble, mid, and bass. In my opinion an equalizer would be a waste of money unless you have meters and know exactly how you want it to sound and are going to sound competitions. The only good thing I see coming out of an external equalizer is the 7 volt add on. So my final opinion is to invest in a line driver. These puppies can bump up your voltage 9-13 volts. That will make your speakers/subs sound cleaner since the gain on your amps can be turned down which gets rid of alot of distortion. Hope I helped

bk227865
04-19-2010, 05:12 AM
First lesson in EQ: Someone at some point will advise you all you need to do is make the graph a big smiley face by boosting the lows and highs. Ignore them.

welll... on standard car equipment wich usualy lacks most in low and high frequency a smily face wil get you a long way if not overdone.

there are lots of ways to set the smile up though:
you can boost the edges , wich probably will get you distortion.
or you can dip the centerpart, but they you pay in sound volume and start to hear background noise if you want to cranck it up.
you can have you smile start near the center , or near the edges , slant it , use a combination of all of the above .....

but anyway im no expert, just ignore me and dont use a :veryhapp:

smgreen20
04-23-2010, 12:21 PM
You have to remember that adding 7 volts along with whatever you have on your head unit (lets say 3 for arguments sake) will give you 10 Volts preout.

NO NO NO!!! Voltages DO NOT add up. If your eq can put out 7v, that's all it can put out period. It could take 9v in but can still only put out 7v. The EQ's internal line driver is only robust enough to put out the voltage it's designed for. I can't think of an analogy right now, but it doesn't work that wasy.


When EQing, always cut the stronger freqs first, then boost the weaker ones last. That's the basics. Then you can get into crossover points/slopes and speaker phase that will all make a difference too. Bottom line is it's what sounds good to you. Yes they can be helpful, but they can do damage as well.

I have a 10 band parametric eq built in my HU (Eclipse CD8455) and another 196 (total) with my Audio Control DQS. Tuning is a nightmare for me at times, but I'll be finished soon.

Having a higher output voltage is a good thing. It'll help to overcome system noise that might be introduced into the signal path.

To hook up the 746, just run 1 RCA, at full range from the HU, into the EQ. The eq also has a built in xover so you can then just run front, rear and sub out from there.

RAM_Designs
04-23-2010, 09:52 PM
It's too much to get into IMO unless you want absolutely perfect SQ.

You'd be surprised how much smoother stuff can sound if you just spend 5 minutes with the Focal Tools disc and go through the frequencies, cutting the stuff that's too harsh. It's amazing how easy it is compared to just using your ear and trying to cut where you think you need to(this does take a long time). I literally spent hours trying to get Robert Plant and Rebbecca Pigeon's voice to sound right and not too harsh, and I just couldn't. Popped in the Tools disc and started at 63hz and spent about a second on each track, listening for continuity from one to the next, and bam, found exactly what I needed to cut(6 different frequencies in all, but only 2 where I thought I needed it).

Very, very easy to do if you have the right tools.

undeadxsunshine
04-23-2010, 09:56 PM
i think you're talking about the alpine imprint thing

RAM_Designs
04-23-2010, 09:58 PM
i think you're talking about the alpine imprint thing

Who is?

T3mpest
04-23-2010, 11:17 PM
this x2. Really it's not that hard to get tones that match your EQ bands and simply listen for where you major peaks are. Cars are bad acoustic environments, you'll hear the bad ones when you hit them. If your not 100% sure loud it should be, just realize every tone gets a little louder up until 4k or so to most people. If you need a reference, even a cheap set of headphones (like the 10 dollar ones) are still a decent reference point as they'll be ALOT closer to flat than any basic install without EQ.

bugflipper
04-24-2010, 03:30 AM
Try to think of an EQ as simplicity. You and I both have identical systems tuned precisely the same. My car has sparce interior with plastic being the major surface area. Yours is a luxury car with every surface well insulated. My car will have a harsh resonant sound. Yours will be subtle and warm. With an EQ each car can be tailored to the other's sound. And more importantly the ballance of the two.

RAM_Designs
04-24-2010, 04:16 AM
You'd be surprised how much smoother stuff can sound if you just spend 5 minutes with the Focal Tools disc and go through the frequencies, cutting the stuff that's too harsh. It's amazing how easy it is compared to just using your ear and trying to cut where you think you need to(this does take a long time). I literally spent hours trying to get Robert Plant and Rebbecca Pigeon's voice to sound right and not too harsh, and I just couldn't. Popped in the Tools disc and started at 63hz and spent about a second on each track, listening for continuity from one to the next, and bam, found exactly what I needed to cut(6 different frequencies in all, but only 2 where I thought I needed it).

Very, very easy to do if you have the right tools.

Wanted to get this on the seocnd page. If you're trying to EQ, use the Focal tools disc(I know diymobileaudio.com has a thread about the focal discs) and you'll have everything you need to get the sound you want, as far as reference materials go. It helped me more than I thought possible, and finally allowed me to stop tinkering with my EQ.

Ineed$
04-24-2010, 04:30 AM
I recently installed the eqs746 in my car and it is definitely worth the money if your headunit doesn't have an eq built-in.

ZoSoIV
05-21-2010, 09:29 PM
guys i need opinions :

I'm debating replacing my CDA-7998 with a new Kenwood DDX-896 double din I have a Audio Control DQS that I'm using with the system and not sure i would need it with the DDX-896 , it has a 13 ban EQ

More about my system:

2007 FJ Cruiser
Alpine CDA-7998
Audio Control DQS
JL amps 300/4 500/1
MTX 8500 Sledgehammer Sub-woofer 12"
Focal 6-1/12 165-KR component speakers

specs for the DDX-896


http://www.kenwood.ca/Car_Entertainment/eXcelon/Multimedia_Receivers/DDX896

smgreen20
05-22-2010, 01:46 PM
I have the Eclipse CD8455 HU (10 band parametric EQ) as well as the QDS, I still prefer the DQS in conjunction w/the HU. There's way more flexibility in the DQS as far as EQing goes. 2 band parametric per ch, plus 30 bands graphic per ch.

It works perfect for me, but I run a 3-way passively active front end.

Wingman0121
05-22-2010, 02:06 PM
I had an Eclipse 21010 EQ/line driver running my subwoofer amps, the only reason why I had it is because it has built-in parametric EQ for bass and I can dial in the center frequency, Q and volume independently from my main speakers.

However something happened to it a few months ago and it started throwing my sub amps into protect, I think it was sending DC spikes into my amps' preamp input so I threw it away. Most decent headunits have good preamp output voltage and parametric EQ built-in already so I would skip it to simplify the signal chain.

ZoSoIV
05-22-2010, 04:23 PM
ok guys thats 1 yes and 1 no. Wingman0121 the DQS has 7V preouts though,but my thinking is with my system being just 1 pair of component speakers and a single sub i really don't need it. I'm getting the Kenwood DDX-896(which has 5V preouts) installed early next week. i know i can sell the DQS very easily.BTW right now the DQS isn't set correctly you really need a RTA to do it right,maybe if i had it set right i would lean towards keeping it. I'm just not sure the more opinions the better.

ZoSoIV
05-25-2010, 07:28 PM
well i ended up not needing the Audio Control DQS with the new Kenwood DDX-896,thanks for the opinions all

AudioDave
05-25-2010, 08:14 PM
PPI PAR 245 FTW. Never ever get rid of my preamp/eqs.

AudioDave
05-25-2010, 08:15 PM
ok guys thats 1 yes and 1 no. Wingman0121 the DQS has 7V preouts though,but my thinking is with my system being just 1 pair of component speakers and a single sub i really don't need it. I'm getting the Kenwood DDX-896(which has 5V preouts) installed early next week. i know i can sell the DQS very easily.BTW right now the DQS isn't set correctly you really need a RTA to do it right,maybe if i had it set right i would lean towards keeping it. I'm just not sure the more opinions the better.

Remember too that you can get line drivers to do 8V+ out but you need to make sure the input pots on your amp can even handle it.

AudioDave
05-25-2010, 08:20 PM
I had an Eclipse 21010 EQ/line driver running my subwoofer amps, the only reason why I had it is because it has built-in parametric EQ for bass and I can dial in the center frequency, Q and volume independently from my main speakers.

However something happened to it a few months ago and it started throwing my sub amps into protect, I think it was sending DC spikes into my amps' preamp input so I threw it away. Most decent headunits have good preamp output voltage and parametric EQ built-in already so I would skip it to simplify the signal chain.

Case in point. Also the decks that have preamps built in are not the same as like a Zapco or PPI PAR 245 etc. They do not adjust the Q as correctly or detailed. If you have a eq/preamp the STN (like 105db+) is always higher and better as well which sounds better than one built in a deck. Read the specs and see yourself. There are reasons that even decks that cost over $800.00 dont have them in them too. It isnt because its a crappy deck it is because the makers know there is better for those who want a complete Q install.

ZoSoIV
05-25-2010, 08:26 PM
no matter what you do there is room for improvement. so where to draw the line is the question of the day

DerekSmith07
05-25-2010, 08:33 PM
would a Phoenix Gold EQ215X be a good EQ?

15 Independtly Adjustable, Sliding Style, High Q Frequency Controls
for each Channel with 2/3 Octave Spacing
Seperate Left and Right Thru Output Jacks
24kt Gold Plated Input and Output Jacks
Seperate Left and Right Input Sensitivity Controls
Seperate Left and Right Output Level Controls
Seperate Left and Right Input Clipping LED Indicators
Seperate Left and Right Tri-Level Output Level LED Indicators
Pulse Width Modulated Power Supply
Power-On LED Indicator
EQ Defeat Switch
Quick Disconnect Power Plug
3 Second Delayed Remote Turn-On Output
24kt Gold Plated, Two Layer, Copper G10 Glass-Epoxy Printed Circuit Board
Audiophile Grade 1% Metal Film Resistors
Precision Laser Cut 16 Gauge White Powder Coated Steel Chassis

Specifications
Frequency Response: 10Hz to 30kHz
S/N Ratio: 105dB
T.H.D.: 0.02%
Cut/Boost: +/- 12dB
Thru Output Response: 20Hz to 20kHz
Input Sensitivity: -12dB to +20dB
Input Signal Range: .8 Volts to 32 Volts
Output Level Range: -20dB to 0dB
Dimensions:
Chasis 11.25"L x 6.9"W x 1.6"H
Overall 11.25"L x 7.9"W x 1.8"H


OR

what about a Precision Power DEQ230??

smgreen20
05-26-2010, 07:12 AM
Why wouldn't the PG EQ be good? Back in its day it was one of the best EQ's to have and still is compared to a lot of EQ's today.