PDA

View Full Version : Help Me!!



fast4door
12-20-2003, 07:06 PM
I am in the mists of making a new Slot vented box for my 13w7. I have foung out the exact dimensions i would like now i just need to figure out how to tune ports!!
The sizes are as follows: External 36"Lx16"Hx18"W and Internal: 33"Lx13"Hx15"W.
I'm going to use 2 pieces of 3/4" MDF fastned togeather to make 1 1/2". These dimensions given are exact so the box will fit in my trunk. The interior freq responce in around 73 hz. i would like to have it tuned at about 35- 37 hz. Any input would be greatly appriecated!!

LoneRanger
12-21-2003, 09:27 AM
http://www.eatel.net/~amptech/elecdisc/spboxnew2.htm

fast4door
12-21-2003, 12:22 PM
I guess what my real question is, is what are the calculations used to find freq? I will really apprieceate any help!!

Jayson Hisel
12-21-2003, 01:22 PM
35hertz=18( the hieght of box)x2x15.50

37hertz=18x2x13.25

fast4door
12-21-2003, 10:17 PM
35hertz=18( the hieght of box)x2x15.50

37hertz=18x2x13.25

The inside dimensions are 33"Lx15"Wx13"H
The outer dimensions are 36"Lx18"Wx16"H
How did you get these dimensions?
Also what would be the best tuning for the 13w7 in this size box?
I will be powering it with a ORION 2500D!!
The box needs to stay that size for exact fit in my ride!!
Anybody with any input??

Jayson Hisel
12-21-2003, 11:44 PM
The inside dimensions are 33"Lx15"Wx13"H
The outer dimensions are 36"Lx18"Wx16"H
How did you get these dimensions?
Also what would be the best tuning for the 13w7 in this size box?
I will be powering it with a ORION 2500D!!
The box needs to stay that size for exact fit in my ride!!
Anybody with any input??





you said you need a port and thats what you want it to be tuned @ so i gave you two diffrent slot ports i used your dimensions and thats the correct ports yes they work on w7s i have installed w7's before but if you dont belive me its kool with me iam just trying to help you out

fast4door
12-22-2003, 01:18 AM
Hey man its not that I dont believe you. Its that where you state
35hertz=18( the hieght of box)x2x15.50
37hertz=18x2x13.25
I didnt think you colu have a port that is the same size as one of the dimensions!!
If Im wrong correct me! Also I shoul post that I will be using 1.5" MDF. So would the port need to be 15x2x15.5?
Please let me know!!!
Thanks for your help!!

DwnWrdSpiral
12-22-2003, 08:51 AM
**** 1.5" what the hell are ya gonna have in there?

fast4door
12-22-2003, 11:13 AM
1 13w7 being fed 2500 watts. I have a 1" MDF box right now and it flexs like crazy when Im playing just sine waves. So i figured that I would make it 1.5", Also doesnt seem like any one would be able to take it. THe box I have now weights in at just over 150lbs w/woofer!! Its so heavy!!

commonground
02-02-2004, 12:09 AM
go to www.tranquillcaraudio.com