PDA

View Full Version : BTL or Nightshade



Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 08:58 AM
Which can I get the best db reading out of in a ported box and how many cubic feet would it require? I have a 2002 grand prix and the trunk isn't exactly huge on it.

bubbagumper6
01-04-2010, 09:09 AM
Well it kinda depends on what size sub your talking about...

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 09:11 AM
oh yeah. 18inch. Both being fully loaded and on the sundown 2000watt.

Buck
01-04-2010, 09:12 AM
Btl

basscort2009
01-04-2010, 09:12 AM
dc level 4xl would get louder. has higher efficiency and can perform nice in smaller boxs if needed

Buck
01-04-2010, 09:13 AM
I'd do an HDC3.

bubbagumper6
01-04-2010, 09:15 AM
I'd go with the BTL, but that's because I'm running an 18" BTL :D

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 09:15 AM
I wont touch audioque. Buddy had bad luck with them in the past. So im tryin to go with FI or Sundown since I've been told both are good companies.

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 09:16 AM
I'd go with the BTL, but that's because I'm running an 18" BTL :D

What are you running amp wise. cubic ft for box. and DB's????? Im just curious what they can do.

Buck
01-04-2010, 09:19 AM
I wont touch audioque. Buddy had bad luck with them in the past. So im tryin to go with FI or Sundown since I've been told both are good companies.

Audioques are beast woofers. What problem did he have?

kodak314
01-04-2010, 09:22 AM
dont u already have a thread askin the same question?

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 09:22 AM
They sent him a sub with a broken terminal, he sent it back and they took 3 weeks to send him another. He got the other and the cone was torn already. So he sent it back and just got a memphis M3 mojo instead.

kodak314
01-04-2010, 09:23 AM
but anyway unless u buyin used u wont b gettin a brand new nightshade.
also y u tryin to squeeze a 18 in a trunk?

S.B.C.
01-04-2010, 09:24 AM
dont u already have a thread askin the same question?

:laugh:

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 09:24 AM
dont u already have a thread askin the same question?

asking someone else what they are doing with their BTL and trying to figure out the best size for enclosure? Nope. I was turned towards the nightshade, but I can get a BTL for the same price. Im looking for the bang between the two in the right enclosure.

bubbagumper6
01-04-2010, 09:25 AM
What are you running amp wise. cubic ft for box. and DB's????? Im just curious what they can do.

5.8 cubes net, tuned to 32hz. Running off a Crunch GP3000D Pro and it slams. Haven't metered it yet since I blew the amp a little while ago and am still working on fixing it :D

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=439577

sundownz
01-04-2010, 09:25 AM
It's not uncommon for the NS to produce a higher score on the meter than a BTL in a direct swap based on customer feedback -- although, the BTL has a higher continuous thermal power handling than the v.1 Nightshade.

dbeez
01-04-2010, 09:26 AM
The nightshade gets louder than the btl but the btl sounds better...nightshade can be ran in 4 -5 cubes...the choice is yours grasshopper hope that info helped...

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 09:26 AM
but anyway unless u buyin used u wont b gettin a brand new nightshade.
also y u tryin to squeeze a 18 in a trunk?

And I talked to a guy about getting a used 18. I can fit 4 12's at 1.8 cubic ft a sub in my trunk so an 18 shouldnt be a big deal.

Buck
01-04-2010, 09:26 AM
They sent him a sub with a broken terminal, he sent it back and they took 3 weeks to send him another. He got the other and the cone was torn already. So he sent it back and just got a memphis M3 mojo instead.

Hmmm, that's interesting.

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 09:27 AM
The nightshade gets louder than the btl but the btl sounds better...nightshade can be ran in 4 -5 cubes...the choice is yours grasshopper hope that info helped...

Thanks. 5ish cub. should fit in my trunk nicely. I'm thinking on going with the used nightshade.

Buck
01-04-2010, 09:30 AM
The nightshade gets louder than the btl but the btl sounds better...nightshade can be ran in 4 -5 cubes...the choice is yours grasshopper hope that info helped...

I thought it would be the other way around.

S.B.C.
01-04-2010, 09:33 AM
Tangs or bust

bubbagumper6
01-04-2010, 09:34 AM
Thanks. 5ish cub. should fit in my trunk nicely. I'm thinking on going with the used nightshade.

I believe FI recommends a minimum of 5 cubes...

Are you saying you have 5 cubes gross for a box? Because my box is 5.8 cubes NET but closer to 7 gross...if you only have 5 gross then you don't really have room for either.

mazdakid
01-04-2010, 09:34 AM
Are you going to face an 18 up in your trunk? Id go down to a 15 unless you're not going to fire the sub up.

Buck
01-04-2010, 09:37 AM
I think you should do a 15 or a pair of 12s in a larger box. Don't try to squeeze an 18" where it doesn't belong- it won't sound right.

kodak314
01-04-2010, 09:38 AM
I believe FI recommends a minimum of 5 cubes...

Are you saying you have 5 cubes gross for a box? Because my box is 5.8 cubes NET but closer to 7 gross...if you only have 5 gross then you don't really have room for either.

hell b better off gettin the ns since the min is 4 cubes

kodak314
01-04-2010, 09:41 AM
Are you going to face an 18 up in your trunk? Id go down to a 15 unless you're not going to fire the sub up.

thats probably his only opinion, i doubt is trunk is taller than 18in.

then he has to worry about gettin the box n the trunk first, trunk opening is too small iirc

bubbagumper6
01-04-2010, 09:45 AM
hell b better off gettin the ns since the min is 4 cubes

If he only has 5 cubes gross he'd be better off just going with a 15 because after port and sub displacement he'd be under 4 net. A 15 in the proper sized enclosure would be better than an 18 in a small enclosure ya know?

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 09:49 AM
Would I be better off just waiting a month or so and just getting another 2000watt sundown amp and 2 BTL 18s n just have someone help medo a wall in the back seat? rather than try to jam a 18 in the trunk?

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 09:51 AM
If he only has 5 cubes gross he'd be better off just going with a 15 because after port and sub displacement he'd be under 4 net. A 15 in the proper sized enclosure would be better than an 18 in a small enclosure ya know?

I got roughly 7.4 cubic ft in my trunk.

kodak314
01-04-2010, 09:52 AM
If he only has 5 cubes gross he'd be better off just going with a 15 because after port and sub displacement he'd be under 4 net. A 15 in the proper sized enclosure would be better than an 18 in a small enclosure ya know?

yea i know, that was my first question (y he tryin to squeeze a 18 in a trunk) but looks like hes set on a 18, so thats y i said that.

but i totally agree, a 15 or 2 12s will b better

kodak314
01-04-2010, 09:56 AM
Would I be better off just waiting a month or so and just getting another 2000watt sundown amp and 2 BTL 18s n just have someone help medo a wall in the back seat? rather than try to jam a 18 in the trunk?

if thats what u wanna do go for it

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 09:58 AM
Im just tryin to learn as I go here. I've always went with 12's and have been in a slump of not getting past 144-145ish db's at competitions. I was thinking maybe tryin to go bigger and just see what happens. I've been told the BTL can handle easy 3000watts of power, but I'm not sure if i'd chance it. I'm just tryin to get out there like the rest of y'all and do the best I can and hopefully learn a little in the process.

bubbagumper6
01-04-2010, 09:58 AM
I got roughly 7.4 cubic ft in my trunk.

Yeah but can you fit a 7.4 cubic foot box through your trunk opening? I have to remove every single panel and the back seats to get my box in my hatchback, lol. It's a PITA, it takes about an hour to get the box out and even longer to get it back in and put everything back together...

That's more than enough room for a single 18 but if walling off your backseat and running 2 18's is an option than of course that's going to be louder...

bubbagumper6
01-04-2010, 09:59 AM
Im just tryin to learn as I go here. I've always went with 12's and have been in a slump of not getting past 144-145ish db's at competitions. I was thinking maybe tryin to go bigger and just see what happens. I've been told the BTL can handle easy 3000watts of power, but I'm not sure if i'd chance it. I'm just tryin to get out there like the rest of y'all and do the best I can and hopefully learn a little in the process.

Yes they can handle 3kw, I know from experience ;)

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 10:02 AM
It took a pretty big hammer to get the box for my 4 12's in there and when i say big hammer im not joking. We had to cut the box into pieces to get it out.

Buck
01-04-2010, 10:03 AM
I got roughly 7.4 cubic ft in my trunk.

2 12"s would work good after displacements and everything.

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 10:04 AM
2 12 BTL's?

bubbagumper6
01-04-2010, 10:05 AM
2 12 BTL's?

That is an option...I have a 12" I'm trying to sell :)

Buck
01-04-2010, 10:06 AM
2 12 BTL's?

Ya if you can afford that.

basscort2009
01-04-2010, 10:06 AM
1 18!! do it. i fit a 15 dc level 5 in 4 cubes in my little escort zx2 and im doing an 18 this year. theres no replacment for displacment. might have to cut a little sheet metal but eh who cares lol

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 10:08 AM
I'm just looking for the best bang for my buck. I have a 220amp alternator(overkill for what I had, but I had a feeling I'd be needing it in the future), the big 3 is already done so a 4k amp shouldnt hurt at all.

bubbagumper6
01-04-2010, 10:11 AM
I'm just looking for the best bang for my buck. I have a 220amp alternator(overkill for what I had, but I had a feeling I'd be needing it in the future), the big 3 is already done so a 4k amp shouldnt hurt at all.

How many batteries are you running? You need more than the big 3 and a new alt to run 4kw...

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 10:14 AM
im running a single interstate battery. I was told I gotta run an extra battery for my 2k, but its been kicking *** for me on what ive got.

bubbagumper6
01-04-2010, 10:16 AM
im running a single interstate battery. I was told I gotta run an extra battery for my 2k, but its been kicking *** for me on what ive got.

Ok then you DO NOT have the electrical to run 4kw...You don't even really have the electrical to run 2kw...

Face of Fear
01-04-2010, 10:23 AM
I've never had a problem with it at all and running mulitple batteries is something ive never done at all.

dbeez
01-04-2010, 10:24 AM
A wall would be nasty loud...

Buck
01-04-2010, 10:26 AM
A wall would be nasty loud...

:naughty:

dbeez
01-04-2010, 10:27 AM
Oops better work on that electrical first man..or let the magic smoke roll..

bubbagumper6
01-04-2010, 10:29 AM
I've never had a problem with it at all and running mulitple batteries is something ive never done at all.

You may be able to skimp by on 1 batt for 2kw, but it just loads down the alternator more. You will definitely not be able to handle 4kw with that setup.

Enellz
01-04-2010, 10:33 AM
They sent him a sub with a broken terminal, he sent it back and they took 3 weeks to send him another. He got the other and the cone was torn already. So he sent it back and just got a memphis M3 mojo instead.

Was it an AQ amp? It couldn't be a sub HDC3s have direct connections.


I've heard a NS and they put up some scores, however I haven't heard th as far as daily.

gtbike900
01-04-2010, 10:34 AM
Do A Dual 1 Nightshade 18 In 4.5 Cubes After Displacement With 50 Inches Of Port Tuned To 35htz

mazdakid
01-04-2010, 06:11 PM
Yeah but can you fit a 7.4 cubic foot box through your trunk opening? I have to remove every single panel and the back seats to get my box in my hatchback, lol. It's a PITA, it takes about an hour to get the box out and even longer to get it back in and put everything back together...

That's more than enough room for a single 18 but if walling off your backseat and running 2 18's is an option than of course that's going to be louder...

you dont have to try to fit a box that big through the opening. Just build the box inside the trunk.

mazdakid
01-04-2010, 06:12 PM
thats probably his only opinion, i doubt is trunk is taller than 18in.

then he has to worry about gettin the box n the trunk first, trunk opening is too small iirc

my old civic trunk was only about 15.5" tall and still had an 18 firing forward.