PDA

View Full Version : Smallest box for 2 x 15" subs knowen to man!



Deeper_shades
01-03-2010, 06:33 PM
I need serious help, I didnt take in to consiteration how my trunk tapers every where.

I have 2 15" subs I cant return and I need them to fit in my trunk, i know im an idiot....:crying:

if you guys have any disigns please help me!

maximum mesurments are

hight 15" (16" if I cut into the frame)
lenth 36"
depth 25"

am i able to make two small boxes for each 15" sub, that way I can for sure get 16" of hight threw the back of the trunk if the length is no longer than 20, my problem is the length tappers

I can take off the back seats, but than the hight is only 15" unless i cut a 1" piece of of the frame.

hellp meeeee!:crap:

power-fanatic07
01-03-2010, 06:35 PM
if you slanted the front slightly then your front baffle would actually be 16x36 that way you could fit the 15's better.

that size would work if you did 2 6" aeros, what kind of 15's are they

KHARPS
01-03-2010, 06:36 PM
Sell them and buy 12s.

kodak314
01-03-2010, 06:37 PM
subs up

kodak314
01-03-2010, 06:38 PM
but first what subs

SicAudio
01-03-2010, 06:44 PM
he has dc lvl4 maybe xl i cant remember

fasfocus00
01-03-2010, 07:14 PM
Sell them and buy 12s.

this is your only option. 15" subs usually have an outside diameter of 16" or more.

bassman2000
01-03-2010, 08:00 PM
Not sure what you've decided to do, but if you are swaping enclosures you may want to check out www.atrendusa.com , great box builders and were able to custom build for me.

Trey803
01-03-2010, 08:02 PM
I would just run 1 of them and keep the other as a spare

RAM_Designs
01-03-2010, 08:09 PM
15" subs usually have an outside diameter of 16" or more.

Not true. You'd be hard pressed to find a 15" sub with an OD larger than 16", or even 16". Most are in the 15.25-15.75" range.

SicAudio
01-03-2010, 08:11 PM
yup i am already fixing the design as we speak to make it fit his car

problem solved ;)

Cabin_Pressure
01-03-2010, 08:14 PM
Step 1) Put the subs back in their boxes. (Because i'm sure you had to get them out and play with them.)
Step 2) Put the boxed subs in your car.
Step 3) Get in car.
Step 4) Drive car to a shop with experienced installers.
Step 5) Show them what you have (subs and vehicle).
Step 6) Tell them you want an enclosure built.
Step 7) Leave car and subs.
Step 8) Wait on them to call and say it's done.
Step 9) Get a ride back to shop.
Step10) Pay and leave.

theMessenjah44
01-03-2010, 08:14 PM
yup i am already fixing the design as we speak to make it fit his car

problem solved ;)

glad to know he's in good hands....

SicAudio
01-03-2010, 08:17 PM
thank you ;)

power-fanatic07
01-03-2010, 08:18 PM
Not true. You'd be hard pressed to find a 15" sub with an OD larger than 16", or even 16". Most are in the 15.25-15.75" range.

truth.

Brian_smith06
01-03-2010, 08:19 PM
I would just run 1 of them and keep the other as a spare

this

J31Rob
01-03-2010, 08:20 PM
lol.

SicAudio
01-03-2010, 08:21 PM
well i have it figured so far to change the port from 5" to 4" wide so it is a tad small on the 12-16 rule but it will still work vent mach is still acceptable for a trunk car.

ciaonzo
01-03-2010, 08:26 PM
Sealed isobaric.

If you're really clever, isobaric 4th order bandpass.

here to buy
01-03-2010, 08:29 PM
Subs UP in 99% of trunk cars is fail IME

SicAudio
01-03-2010, 08:31 PM
enlighten me here man lolz i like the idea of the 4th iso. but i havent done enough to know if i can do it or not .

gsuchyta
01-03-2010, 09:04 PM
With a lot of trunks if you build two seperate boxes put one in first and then slide it all the way to one side and then put the other in you can get more space than just one big box. **** trunks are getting funkier and funkier

And 15 1/2" height and you will be able to have subs facing back or forward whatever you want to do. That's how it is in my civic. What car is this goin in?

Deeper_shades
01-03-2010, 10:22 PM
^ya thats what id like to do, make two seperate boxes


its a 2000 echo

SicAudio
01-03-2010, 10:24 PM
email me the specs again TJ ill look at doing 2 boxes it may need round ports tho :(

Deeper_shades
01-03-2010, 11:37 PM
sent.....