PDA

View Full Version : 4th order clamshell in a trailblazer



nuboot
12-26-2009, 01:15 AM
so i been doing some brainstorming and playing with some numbers tomorrow i will go do some measurement to see if it will work. i am gonna try and do a clamshell 4th order basically it will be 16 10s 8 slanted up and 8 slanted down for a total of 8 cubes each then i will have it shooting into 25cubes with 300 sq inches of port.


sealed box 30h x 48w x 13d
ported in closure 30h x 55w x 30d

galacticmonkey
12-26-2009, 01:16 AM
Youre going to want around 25in^ of port per cubic foot of ported airspace. Id tune anywhere from 45-52hz.

nuboot
12-26-2009, 01:28 AM
why so high

Supergumby5000
12-26-2009, 01:29 AM
Youre going to want around 25in^ of port per cubic foot of ported airspace. Id tune anywhere from 45-52hz.

that seems like a shitload to me....

nuboot
12-26-2009, 01:32 AM
these are numbers that looked good on paper so if i am ****ed up let me know this is my first time trying something a lil difficult before i have to go back to iraq. so any and all help is welcomed also. i see people doing lil draw ups and designs what program r they using

galacticmonkey
12-26-2009, 01:40 AM
You need a bigger port like that for a bandpass. Thats a pretty average tuning for a 4th order for a musical build.

Id go for at least 550 in^ of port. The more the better.

nuboot
12-26-2009, 01:45 AM
o ok tomorrow i am gonna see what i can do. for the sealed enclosure instead of making it like a clamshell having them on slanted baffles would it hurt to have them along the side firing to the other side. hope that wasnt confusinig

80INCHES
12-26-2009, 03:38 AM
so i been doing some brainstorming and playing with some numbers tomorrow i will go do some measurement to see if it will work. i am gonna try and do a clamshell 4th order basically it will be 16 10s 8 slanted up and 8 slanted down for a total of 8 cubes each then i will have it shooting into 25cubes with 300 sq inches of port.


sealed box 30h x 48w x 13d
ported in closure 30h x 55w x 30d
ur sealed chamber is on the big side...instead of 30x48x13 ...make it 30x48x10
by doing that u can have a ported chamber of 30x55x33..bigger ported area = more efficient setup


Youre going to want around 25in^ of port per cubic foot of ported airspace. Id tune anywhere from 45-52hz.
agreed...


80

nuboot
12-26-2009, 04:11 AM
thanks sounds good. so is it gonna be ok for the 16 subs 8 on a baffle slanted down and 8 on a baffle slanted up share airspace or should i seal them off individually

marcotheclepto
12-26-2009, 08:04 AM
thanks sounds good. so is it gonna be ok for the 16 subs 8 on a baffle slanted down and 8 on a baffle slanted up share airspace or should i seal them off individually

either will work sealing them off individually would wind up creating more bracing... but would take more airspace also... commom chambers are fine. just be sure they're still well braced.

Johnny Law.Lulz
12-26-2009, 08:27 AM
either will work sealing them off individually would wind up creating more bracing... but would take more airspace also... commom chambers are fine. just be sure they're still well braced.

You actaully cant seal them individually unless you account for the slant. When you seal each one off, each sub would have a different amount of airspace. Give them common chambers.

marcotheclepto
12-26-2009, 09:43 AM
You actaully cant seal them individually unless you account for the slant. When you seal each one off, each sub would have a different amount of airspace. Give them common chambers.

hmm true... lol i didnt think about that... eh its early lol

nuboot
12-26-2009, 03:14 PM
thanks guys great advice. my last question for now is would plexiglass be strong enough for the front wall

mlstrass
12-26-2009, 03:39 PM
if it's thick enough it would be, but would be a PITA to work with as I'd assume 1- 1/2" thick is what you'd want to use...

galacticmonkey
12-26-2009, 03:41 PM
Pexiglass would be sooooooo much money you wouldnt even believe it.

nuboot
12-26-2009, 03:44 PM
lol u may be right just an idea well guess they would have to look in the port to see the subs lol

galacticmonkey
12-26-2009, 04:19 PM
Well your port will be big enough to get in and change out the subs, so you would definately be able to see the subs.

nuboot
12-26-2009, 04:26 PM
lol well hopefully i can get it to do some damage lol

nuboot
12-26-2009, 05:57 PM
man google sketch up is whippin my *** lol