PDA

View Full Version : 1/2 collet for jasper perfect circle jig?



on1wheel01
12-25-2009, 07:42 PM
Just picked one up and most routers i can find are 1/2 collets. It says 1/4 so must u use a 1/4. I guess a 1/2 could throw off the measurement?? Im also having a hard time finding a decent price on one that is in the fitment guide for it

dappa5
12-25-2009, 07:46 PM
i've used 1/2 but you must compensate for it in your measurments/ i.e. lots of test cuts lol/
and it fits my cheap azz $59 ryobi and my $350 porter cable

on1wheel01
12-25-2009, 07:47 PM
$59 ryobi fool where u get it cuz it fits all ryobi models

bigl1971
12-25-2009, 10:41 PM
I use a 1/2 carbide endmill in my router. When you use a 1/2 bit the hole will be a 1/4 inch larger than the markings on the Jasper Jig. So if you use a half inch bit and need a 12 inch hole you need to put the pin in the hole for 11 3/4. Hope this helps.

galacticmonkey
12-25-2009, 10:44 PM
A 1/2" collet is fine, but use a 1/4" bit.

GetLikeMe
12-25-2009, 10:45 PM
A 1/2" collet is fine, but use a 1/4" bit.

x2 collet dont matter as long as the bit is a 1/4 spiral upcut

on1wheel01
12-25-2009, 11:09 PM
really??? sweet thanx guys

on1wheel01
12-25-2009, 11:09 PM
now i just gotta find a router that is on the list of fitment for it plenty of nice ones round here used for 40 but they not on the list

on1wheel01
12-25-2009, 11:33 PM
ok just another quick ? the fitment guide says a bosch 1615 will fit. I have found a 1615evs is it the same or different i wonder

bigl1971
12-25-2009, 11:53 PM
The guide from Jasper does not list all the routers the jig will fit. I have a Milwaukee router that IS NOT on the list. I was going to buy a new router when I ordered my jig. But the jig did have the right holes to fit my router and it works fine.

http://i518.photobucket.com/albums/u348/bigl1971/DSCN1130.jpg

on1wheel01
12-25-2009, 11:53 PM
man now cant find a bit on ebay maybe lowes has one

on1wheel01
12-26-2009, 12:00 AM
The guide from Jasper does not list all the routers the jig will fit. I have a Milwaukee router that IS NOT on the list. I was going to buy a new router when I ordered my jig. But the jig did have the right holes to fit my router and it works fine.

http://i518.photobucket.com/albums/u348/bigl1971/DSCN1130.jpg

huh thanx bro. Maybe i will go with the black and decker for 30-40(hes askin 40 but maybe less he would take) or the bosch for 65 but has a few new bits (not sure which ones they are)

z0n3d0u7
12-26-2009, 12:11 AM
I just got a pretty nice Craftsmen from Sears that came with both a 1/4 and 1/2" collet. It costed me $69 new, And the jaspers guide says it will fit most sears routers.

Moe Lester
12-26-2009, 01:15 AM
http://www.castlewholesalers.com/PORTER-CABLE-693LRPK-Router-Kit-1-3-4-Peak-HP.html

Porter cable router, comes with 1/4 and 1/2 inch collets as well as a plunge base and a fixed base. This is the one I have and it has worked flawlessly for years. If you want to spend about that much I highly recommend it. I remember mine costing a bit less, this may be a newer updated model with the Obama price inflation included as well. If you want something cheaper for only cutting holes any simple plunge router will work as long as it fits the jig.

Yes a 1/2" bit will also work as mentioned before, just adjust your hole size for the extra bit size.

The 1/2" shank 1/4" bits will also work with no adjustment to hole size on the jig. The only thing you may run into is the bits cost more and usually don't have much cutting depth so if you happen to cut a baffle over 1" you might run out of bit before making it through. There may be some out there that have more depth, I just havent looked for them.

on1wheel01
12-28-2009, 11:02 AM
Yea lol thats the fixed base porter cable I have. Would buy the plunge base but hell it costs $100. And it would be nice to have a few routers on hand.

z0n3d0u7
12-28-2009, 04:40 PM
Why's everyone buy plunge / fixed base set-up's? Wouldnt a plunge with a locking feature be the same as a fixed base.. Just adjustable? Something i never really understood.

on1wheel01
12-28-2009, 09:09 PM
yea thats what i have been wondering also. dont think the bit can go down far enough on a fixed though

rival904
12-28-2009, 09:13 PM
how many passes do you guys usually make when cutting through 3/4 mdf?

on1wheel01
12-28-2009, 09:19 PM
cutting through what u mean with cutting circles? rounding edges? cutting out port?

Moe Lester
12-28-2009, 09:22 PM
Why's everyone buy plunge / fixed base set-up's? Wouldnt a plunge with a locking feature be the same as a fixed base.. Just adjustable? Something i never really understood.

When I found it on ebay it was ~$150 and came with both bases. If I would have found the plunge only base with router motor for less I would have gone that route. I don't really see much of a point in the fixed base version, other than maybe some router tables with a built in lift work better with that style base.


how many passes do you guys usually make when cutting through 3/4 mdf?

for a circle I like to cut 1/4" at a time, so 3 passes.

rival904
12-28-2009, 09:25 PM
When I do that, their never the same, always off by a tiny bit, its weird. I just do the full 3/4 at once, and go slow.

z0n3d0u7
12-28-2009, 09:26 PM
Hmm, Beings im building a router table, I hope i dont run into that problem. Guess ill have to look at my mounting option's.

As for cutting holes, I usually hear to make 2 passes. Not sure how your circles would be off.. What circle jig do you use?

rival904
12-28-2009, 09:29 PM
Jasper jig.

Im thinking its maybe a little loose on the router, or my pilot hole or pivot point isnt snug.

Moe Lester
12-28-2009, 11:23 PM
I would really not recommend cutting deep into MDF with a 1/4" bit. I have had many bits snap on me, and at 20-30k rpm they go FLYING. It is not safe to cut with such a small bit regardless of speed imo. If you want to be safe, don't cut deeper than the bit is wide. It will only take ~30 seconds more to make 2 quick shallow passes.

Like you said, If your circle is off then your guide pin is too loose, or the router base is not very solid. Possibly when you are plunging you may be tweaking or rocking the router a bit. Make sure everything is nice and tight. I have no difference in the location or diameter of the cut when cutting in steps.

rival904
12-28-2009, 11:26 PM
How do you start the router to say, I just set it on the wood, turn it on and let it work its way in

Moe Lester
12-28-2009, 11:28 PM
I have the plunge base porter cable, I just turn it on without the bit touching wood, then plunge into the wood while slowly going in a circle. Once I have it ~1/4" deep I start going a bit faster and make my pass. I don't like to plunge straight down and leave it. The bit may want to chatter or walk if you aren't moving while plunging.