PDA

View Full Version : Enclosure for 6 alpine type r 12's



bassman3
12-24-2009, 11:16 PM
A local customer would like an enclosure for 6 alpine type r's. I know alot of people have played around with alot of different set-ups with type r's on here so i figured i would get some opinions. It going to be a daily driver, wants spl. I was thinking ~ 18 cubes @ 32-34hz? anyone have any other opinions?

Thanks

Serpent710
12-24-2009, 11:20 PM
i would say 32 hz. sounds about right though. what amp?

bassman3
12-24-2009, 11:23 PM
customer says he will be running 3 pdx 1000s... its going to be a blow-through in the bed of his truck...

galacticmonkey
12-24-2009, 11:29 PM
Type Rs jam in a bandpass.

tylork92
12-24-2009, 11:32 PM
not sure if i would do that 18 cubes...i would go for around 13-14 after displacement....and bandpass would be sweet.

bassman3
12-24-2009, 11:33 PM
I would do bandpass, BUT i don't do bandpass designs. I was just thinking 18 cubes @ 32 with a massive slot port... opinions?

dappa5
12-25-2009, 02:41 PM
with that cnc machine at your disposal buy a bp dsign from 80 or imamp3pimp and you'll be very pleased and what kinda truck?

DonH
12-25-2009, 02:45 PM
2.25ft^3 net per argggggg and your good!

bassman3
12-25-2009, 07:35 PM
alright. I was thinking 18 because I'v messed around with arrggg's and they like big boxes, and sound good in 3 cubes. Maybe 14-15 cubes @ 34 same chamber box will be something a little better? Just trying to get some other opinions fellas. Thanks.

dappa5
12-25-2009, 07:39 PM
ok srry to post another members blow thru but i built it so it's ok
http://www.youtube.com/user/redfish81012
thats 4 15's in a 4 th order trust me hit up 80 inches or imamp3pimp(robin)he designrd that one

MisterGrubbs
12-25-2009, 08:00 PM
ok srry to post another members blow thru but i built it so it's ok
http://www.youtube.com/user/redfish81012
thats 4 15's in a 4 th order trust me hit up 80 inches or imamp3pimp(robin)he designrd that one

Those are AA subs, what's your point here?

Contact, as he said, 80 inches as he does pretty good designs(although I think he's avoiding audio lately)

And if you have room for the bandpass, do it.

amartin_72
12-25-2009, 08:08 PM
They do like big boxes. but they sound worse and worse bigger you go, louder they get. 2.5 each is a good number to start with, i liked mine tuned to 35.

bassman3
12-25-2009, 08:48 PM
i know what you mean about BP. BUT, the guy is paying me $10 for a design so it would be kinda pointless because I would not make any money. :p But, I am starting to design band pass's soon.

spencer321
12-25-2009, 08:51 PM
I would do bandpass, BUT i don't do bandpass designs. I was just thinking 18 cubes @ 32 with a massive slot port... opinions?

too big in my opinion 12-15 cubes.... 3 cubes per 12 is a little big, i'd say more 2-2.5 per

05fronty
12-25-2009, 08:58 PM
what kind of music does he like? i have mine at 35hz, a little higher because i listen to alot of rock.

Highs on bass
12-25-2009, 09:30 PM
I forsee a problem tho... 3 amps... Not 2 or 4 but 3. So unless your using a maxx link or something your going to have problems unless you build 3 seperate chambers or have the amps putting out exact same power..

bassman3
12-26-2009, 01:04 AM
I forsee a problem tho... 3 amps... Not 2 or 4 but 3. So unless your using a maxx link or something your going to have problems unless you build 3 seperate chambers or have the amps putting out exact same power..

why a problem?? explain. he's using 3 1000's where each type r will get around 450-500 rms...

bassman3
12-26-2009, 01:07 AM
I believe he is just going to be running each pair of r's @ 4 ohms (where each will be getting around 500..) where would the problem arise?

jdawg
12-26-2009, 01:10 AM
I suppose he is talking about gain matching, you can set each amp in the exact same spot gain wise and still they all be different, I dont know if you can link 3 together with the alpines but I would put a maxxlink in there myself and do 12 cubes ported to 32

bassman3
12-26-2009, 10:26 PM
hmm. okay. In short, what does the maxxlink do?

CRXBMPN
12-26-2009, 10:32 PM
it allows you to connect a bunch of non strappable amps (or strappable) to make one big cohesive centrally processed unit :confused:

iirc you can connect up to four of them, or is it 8?

Mike465
12-27-2009, 08:38 AM
it allows you to connect a bunch of non strappable amps (or strappable) to make one big cohesive centrally processed unit :confused:

iirc you can connect up to four of them, or is it 8?

You can run a total of 10 amps off one MaxxLink

bassman3
12-30-2009, 03:30 PM
is this it?

http://www.maxxsonics.com/corporate/news_0107_Hif_MAXXLINK.html

it says you can connect 5...

bassman3
12-30-2009, 07:33 PM
bump

spltuscon
12-30-2009, 07:35 PM
Maxxlink isn't necessary. Just gain match and you'll be fine. With only 500w each, bigger is better, so you're idea for 18 ft3 (although it is a ton) will work good. I would tune a little higher if he wants more output though. If he hasn't bought the amps yet you should tell him to get something bigger, Type R's do well with more power.

bassman3
12-31-2009, 01:54 AM
hmm. I guess i'll just let him know that the maxxlink is not necessary, which is what i kinda of figured because it is only 500w...

SicAudio
12-31-2009, 02:04 AM
- Allows interconnectivity / linking mobile amplifiers into a "master and slave" configuration
- Link up to five (5) amplifier pairs
- Remote level control with LED clipping indicator
- Master / Slave control switch
- 24dB adjustable low-pass (35Hz to 250Hz)
- Built-in 6.5Hz set-up test tone
- 24dB adjustable subsonic filter (15Hz to 35 Hz)
- 10dB adjustable parametric bass EQ
- Variable wide / narrow bandwidth control
- Built-in line driver variable from 1-9 volts
- 0 to 180 adjustable phase control
- 2-channel RCA audio pass-thru


and if you dont know how to gain match the maxlink is made for you :)

SicAudio
12-31-2009, 02:06 AM
fwiw 5 pairs = 10 single amps ;)

bassman3
01-01-2010, 04:57 PM
I missed the "pairs" word haha. I'm gonna do 15 cubes after disp. @ 34 with around 215 sq inches or port :) about 14cuin per cube