PDA

View Full Version : tube port length question



Bobby322
12-20-2009, 07:35 PM
Quick question..

When using tube ports, and you are leaving some port in and some out, do you factor in the .75'' of wood the port passes through, and add it do the total length? I want 12'' in my box, and about 11'' out of my box for 23'' of port. Should I cut it to 23.75''?

Also, leaving port out of the box won't change tuning or anything will it? It just helps on saving space? Im at 4.75 cubes @ 32hz, and the calculator calls for 23'' of port for an 8'' tube. I'm porting out of the top of a 21'' tall box, so will going about 1/2 in and 1/2 out affect anything except cutting the port displacement in 1/2?

thehardknoxlife
12-20-2009, 07:46 PM
Quick question..

When using tube ports, and you are leaving some port in and some out, do you factor in the .75'' of wood the port passes through, and add it do the total length?

No. Measure from port end to port end.


I want 12'' in my box, and about 11'' out of my box for 23'' of port. Should I cut it to 23.75''?
No.


Also, leaving port out of the box won't change tuning or anything will it?
No.


It just helps on saving space?
Sure


Im at 4.75 cubes @ 32hz, and the calculator calls for 23'' of port for an 8'' tube. I'm porting out of the top of a 21'' tall box, so will going about 1/2 in and 1/2 out affect anything except cutting the port displacement in 1/2?

Correct.

Bobby322
12-20-2009, 07:48 PM
thank you sir for the simple post :D