PDA

View Full Version : 2 6in ports or 4 4in port



Varinabassing
12-20-2009, 08:12 PM
which would work best in my new box going in the back of the camaro ?? i am open to any suggestions. Sub is fi btl 15in following this build pretty closely

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=450045&highlight=trans+dd

Please anyone help me get this thing off the ground


thanks :D

RAM_Designs
12-20-2009, 08:14 PM
You don't need two 6"ers for a single 15" sub in a normal sized box. Good luck getting the tuning you want without having to go out and buy some PVC and elbows to make the ports ridiculously long.


What size box and what tuning are you wanting? Just as an example, a pair of 6" ports in a 4ft^3 box tuned to 35hz need to be 27" long, each.

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 08:15 PM
i use 4 inch for 12s and 10s and for 15s and 18s 6 inch

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 08:16 PM
You don't need two 6"ers for a single 15" sub in a normal sized box. Good luck getting the tuning you want without having to go out and buy some PVC and elbows to make the ports ridiculously long.


What size box and what tuning are you wanting? Just as an example, a pair of 6" ports in a 4ft^3 box tuned to 35hz need to be 27" long, each.

he is right at most use 1 6 inch aero in about 5 cubes net

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 08:20 PM
and the best setup i have seen was 2 10s down firing in sealed boxes it did like a 148 and broke the hatch on a old gold amican bass vfl 150.1 not crazy loud but for 2 10 quite an loud setup

Varinabassing
12-20-2009, 08:22 PM
it is a fiberglass box about 4.3 cubes before displacement looking for 38 htz. I was uner the impression that i needed a lot of port area for the btls

Varinabassing
12-20-2009, 08:25 PM
Would 2 4in ports work ?? i have a 4 cube before displacement and 3 4 in ports and it seems ike it could use more port area thats why i was thinkin 2 6s or 4 4s

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 08:26 PM
the sub has nothing to do with port area do one 6 inch aero and you should be good if it was me i would do one 4 inch aero in that small of a box but thats just me

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 08:27 PM
i have 2 6 inch aeros and 4 15s

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 08:33 PM
if you do one 6 inch giving you 3.8 cubes net if your gross is 4.3 it should be about 10.5 inches so the center peace shoud be 5.5 inches long cause the flares if i remeber right = 5 inches

RAM_Designs
12-20-2009, 08:34 PM
it is a fiberglass box about 4.3 cubes before displacement looking for 38 htz. I was uner the impression that i needed a lot of port area for the btls

In this case, use a single 6" port and make it 11" from flare to flare. After port and sub displacement you'll have about 3.8ft^3 tuned to 37-38hz. I'd personally tune lower, but do whatever you want to do.

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 08:36 PM
i just said that but minus .5 inch on the port length

Varinabassing
12-20-2009, 08:36 PM
ok so one 6in flared port is what i will go wit. Will having more port area make the sub handle power better and hit lower notes ?? Just asking some of the things i have been reading

Varinabassing
12-20-2009, 08:37 PM
i want it tuned so it will be loud but still hit lows should i go 35htz ?

skmfkr
12-20-2009, 08:40 PM
no. just do 1 6" aero or 3 4" aeros. if your going to be competing or going for numbers i would do the 3 4" aeros if not a single 6" will work fine. 35hz should play down low and get loud.

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 08:40 PM
just try one you can add more later my box had 4 6 inch aeros and after exstensive testing ended up with just 2 tuned to 27htz and you can always take out the 2nd aero and plug the hole but 1 should be great

amartin_72
12-20-2009, 08:40 PM
why not a single 8

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 08:41 PM
13 inches long for 35

amartin_72
12-20-2009, 08:41 PM
A 15 needs more than 26" of port area aero or not. unless your constricted for space

skmfkr
12-20-2009, 08:42 PM
why not a single 8

cuz he doesnt need 50 square inches of port area for only 1 15. in about 4cubes net

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 08:42 PM
a single 8 is way to much port area

skmfkr
12-20-2009, 08:43 PM
a single 8 is way to much port area

i wouldnt say way too much, but its def not necessary

RAM_Designs
12-20-2009, 08:43 PM
ok so one 6in flared port is what i will go wit. Will having more port area make the sub handle power better and hit lower notes ?? Just asking some of the things i have been reading
More port area makes the sub easier to unload below tuning, it also makes there be a sharper roll off below tuning. So although it would be loud from 35hz-whateverhz, you'll start to see the response drop pretty fast below that.


i want it tuned so it will be loud but still hit lows should i go 35htz ?
I'd shoot for around 33-35hz...I'm just not a fan of higher tuned boxes.

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 08:44 PM
the smaller port will make it better on lows and musical

Varinabassing
12-20-2009, 08:45 PM
what is the benifit of more port area ?? answered

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 08:45 PM
my first 4 15 box was 12.8 cubes and 180 inchs of port very peeky and just flexed the **** out my car and was down a db from my current box

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 08:46 PM
big ports work good in walls and bandpass designs

Varinabassing
12-20-2009, 08:47 PM
Ok sweet i need to go measure one more time then will post pics of me doing the box

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 08:49 PM
good luck

amartin_72
12-20-2009, 08:52 PM
48 inches of port is perfect for a btl in 4.3 cubes. 11 inches per cube

Varinabassing
12-20-2009, 08:53 PM
thanks

Varinabassing
12-20-2009, 08:56 PM
excited as hell want this one to come out better than the last box

RAM_Designs
12-20-2009, 09:00 PM
48 inches of port is perfect for a btl in 4.3 cubes. 11 inches per cube

But he has 4.3ft^3 total to work with, so after displacements he's looking at a really long 8" port in order to get a 35hz tuning, which will drop his internal volume down quite a bit. Right now it looks like it ends up being 3.35ft^3 with a 28" long flared 8" port in order to get a 35hz tune.

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 09:04 PM
i love i ppl just say sh1t with out think about will this work i really dont think he has 36 inches of room in the front to back of his box cause dont for get you need 8 inches of room for the port from the back of the box

Varinabassing
12-20-2009, 09:04 PM
that wnt work lol i was worried about fitting the 6 in there at like 13ins long no way 28 is fitting in there

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 09:06 PM
imo a port should never be longer than about 18 inches

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 09:09 PM
just lisin to what 2 ppl are saying to you and not the other ppl with there ideas that are impossible to do 13 inches long tuned to 35 and make sure you have 6 inches of room from the back flair of the port to the back of the box

Varinabassing
12-20-2009, 09:10 PM
anyone know the cheaest spot to get 6 in flared ports i was checkin psp-inc but they dont list prices

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 09:11 PM
and if not you can shorten the port to 11 inches

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 09:11 PM
parts express

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 09:12 PM
there about 40 bucks

Varinabassing
12-20-2009, 09:12 PM
i will so about 19 in from top to bottom firing up ? if i place the port in center and sub off to one side will tht hurt performance or just look funny I am looking for performance before looks

skmfkr
12-20-2009, 09:13 PM
parts express has the psp ports also might want to check out thriller audio

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 09:13 PM
you could buy on on here but parts express ships faster im still waiting on the ipod i bought 30+ days ago

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 09:14 PM
yep that right 19 inches

Varinabassing
12-20-2009, 09:18 PM
so te port in the center wont hurt performace ? Thanks again i am feeling a little more confident in this future box now

gtbike900
12-20-2009, 10:26 PM
yes that will work out fine