PDA

View Full Version : Box Design



Crownvicon28s
12-18-2009, 04:26 PM
I want to try another box. I was thinking 4th order bandpass. I have 4 re se 12's. The dimensions I have to work with are 21''length 40'' width 25'' height. The box I have now the top back corner was angled at 45 degrees and is about 4'' wide. Had to do this to get the box to clear the trunk lip. I have no idea how to design a box like this. Could someone design me one if I have enough space?

Crownvicon28s
12-19-2009, 10:43 AM
anyone

Crownvicon28s
12-19-2009, 12:32 PM
ttt

RCobra07
12-19-2009, 12:43 PM
I'm not sure where this guy got his dimensions, but if they're right, you definitely have plenty of room since 4 like his set-up would only take up roughly 8 cu.ft. net.

http://forums.mazdaworld.org/index.php?showtopic=16329

altoncustomtech
12-19-2009, 12:53 PM
I'd be VERY surprised if that's enough space for a bandpass for 4 12's... I would recommend what loudsw2 said in your other thread.... make sure you have plenty of openings between the trunk and cabin of the car, it will help alot..... if you do already have good air flow from the trunk to the cabin then you need to take another look at your electrical.... according to your sig you should have plenty of power available, you could have some questionable connections or a battery that's got bad cells.... there's more to the problem than meets the eye I'd imagine, but that's where I'd start.... Bandpass boxes are usually MUCH larger boxes than ported for the same woofer and they have to be VERY accurately designed and constructed to not sound like total crap..... that's just my .02

Crownvicon28s
12-19-2009, 01:54 PM
I'd be VERY surprised if that's enough space for a bandpass for 4 12's... I would recommend what loudsw2 said in your other thread.... make sure you have plenty of openings between the trunk and cabin of the car, it will help alot..... if you do already have good air flow from the trunk to the cabin then you need to take another look at your electrical.... according to your sig you should have plenty of power available, you could have some questionable connections or a battery that's got bad cells.... there's more to the problem than meets the eye I'd imagine, but that's where I'd start.... Bandpass boxes are usually MUCH larger boxes than ported for the same woofer and they have to be VERY accurately designed and constructed to not sound like total crap..... that's just my .02

All my batteries and connections are good alt was tested to do 220 amps at 1200 rpms. I believe the box is too tall to where its sealing the subs off from the cabin. I think with the box being so big there isn't much room for air to circulate and most of it is being trapped in the trunk. If I don't have enough room to do a 4th order what other box design would you suggest?

Here is a pic of how I think the boxes size is not allowing sufficient airflow.
http://i488.photobucket.com/albums/rr242/crownvicon4s/100_0992.jpg
http://i488.photobucket.com/albums/rr242/crownvicon4s/100_0984.jpg

Crownvicon28s
12-19-2009, 02:45 PM
If I dont have enough airspace for a 4th order I would be willing to do a smaller ported box. I just need a design.