PDA

View Full Version : Batteries on amp rack (Pics)



Crownvicon28s
12-18-2009, 09:24 AM
This is not actually a build log just a way to hopefully make my system a little more efficient and just thought I would share. I originally had a battery on each side of my box, but decided it would be better to have them closer to my bass amp. I got the idea from stilltippin from watching his build log. I used some wood I had lying around to hold the batteries on the amp rack. Doesn't look the best but does the job, I'm cheap. :crap: Pics are kind of crappy but I tried to post them in the order of doing everything. Its not pictured but I put l brackets on the closest side of the batteries to keep them from sliding toward the box.

http://i488.photobucket.com/albums/rr242/crownvicon4s/100_1279.jpg

http://i488.photobucket.com/albums/rr242/crownvicon4s/100_1280.jpg

http://i488.photobucket.com/albums/rr242/crownvicon4s/100_1282.jpg

http://i488.photobucket.com/albums/rr242/crownvicon4s/100_1277.jpg

http://i488.photobucket.com/albums/rr242/crownvicon4s/100_1283.jpg

http://i488.photobucket.com/albums/rr242/crownvicon4s/100_1284.jpg

Jh8909
12-18-2009, 09:37 AM
:peace:

hrtbrk1
12-18-2009, 09:40 AM
looks good man

Crownvicon28s
12-18-2009, 09:49 AM
:peace:


looks good man

Thanks guys.

michaellane
12-18-2009, 09:55 AM
looks good. nice setup...i miss my four tens...

tez4life
12-18-2009, 10:01 AM
Looks good, need to do something like that myself for right now. Would feel better if my amp was more secure.

95BlackGA
12-18-2009, 10:09 AM
Would have built another level above the Crunch for the Hifonics. Looks weird behind all that.

Crownvicon28s
12-18-2009, 10:11 AM
Would have built another level above the Crunch for the Hifonics. Looks weird behind all that.

What do you mean?

Spooney
12-18-2009, 11:35 AM
looks decent but in my opinion you should have made the board a little longer so that you could flip that crunch around and run two very short power wire runs to your amp from your batteries.Would be more effective and look better than having that power wire dangling across the front of your amp. and i think 95blackga means you should have built another level on your amp rack over your sub amp to hold that hifonics.

Crownvicon28s
12-18-2009, 02:14 PM
looks decent but in my opinion you should have made the board a little longer so that you could flip that crunch around and run two very short power wire runs to your amp from your batteries.Would be more effective and look better than having that power wire dangling across the front of your amp. and i think 95blackga means you should have built another level on your amp rack over your sub amp to hold that hifonics.

Yeah your exactly right. I though about that. The board was all I had just trying to work with what I have. Yeah it would have been nice to build another level to the amp rack, but like I said I was just working with what I had. I really just wanted to get the batteries closer to the amp, besides you the amps wont be seen anyway.

http://i488.photobucket.com/albums/rr242/crownvicon4s/100_0992.jpg

Spooney
12-18-2009, 03:22 PM
holy **** how tall is that trunk? that box looks huge. can't believe you got four 12's in there like that. I need a big *** car again. i used to have an 83 buick lesabre. you could have put ten cubes in that trunk and still had room for luggage.

jerseyboy
12-18-2009, 03:29 PM
What do you mean?

he means to put like a 2nd wood on top of the sub's amp to put the 4cha amp. so they are like stacked up. I see the batteries are not able to slide side to side, what about jumping up?

Crownvicon28s
12-18-2009, 03:32 PM
holy **** how tall is that trunk? that box looks huge. can't believe you got four 12's in there like that. I need a big *** car again. i used to have an 83 buick lesabre. you could have put ten cubes in that trunk and still had room for luggage.

The dimensions of the box are 21''X40''X25''. I believe it was close to 10 cubes gross but sub and port displacement brought that down a bit. I may switch up my boxes because my voltage drops 1 volt more with my trunk closed as oppose to it being open. IDK if its because the subs are too close to the back of the trunk and can't fire correctly or what. I may go with a 4th order bandpass if I have enough space.

Enellz
12-18-2009, 03:34 PM
That gen crown vics have deep trunks. The mecurys have those too. Only thing made good by ford IMO, deep trunks lol. Looks excellent man

Crownvicon28s
12-18-2009, 03:35 PM
he means to put like a 2nd wood on top of the sub's amp to put the 4cha amp. so they are like stacked up. I see the batteries are not able to slide side to side, what about jumping up?

Its more clearance than it look like in the pics. Its a good 4.5 to 5'' to the rear deck. Thats over 100lbs up there the only way they will touch the rear deck is if the car is upside down. :)

Mr. Slate
12-18-2009, 09:18 PM
Is the rear deck ported?

Louisiana_CRX
12-18-2009, 09:21 PM
is Unique Audio where Reme works :confused:

Mr. Slate
12-18-2009, 09:29 PM
is Unique Audio where Reme works :confused:

Unique Auto.:cool:

Crownvicon28s
12-19-2009, 09:45 AM
Is the rear deck ported?

Not exactly. I had the deck cut for 6X9's but I took them out. When it warms up im going to have my rear deck redone with my interior.

Crownvicon28s
12-19-2009, 09:46 AM
is Unique Audio where Reme works :confused:

Its a small local shop.

jerseyboy
12-19-2009, 01:02 PM
Its more clearance than it look like in the pics. Its a good 4.5 to 5'' to the rear deck. Thats over 100lbs up there the only way they will touch the rear deck is if the car is upside down. :)

I would feel safe making a brace of some kind so that it cant jump up. You have to think about all scenerios. God forbid you get into an accident and they get loose or something and could possibly start a fire or something!! Feel me?

Crownvicon28s
12-19-2009, 01:06 PM
I would feel safe making a brace of some kind so that it cant jump up. You have to think about all scenerios. God forbid you get into an accident and they get loose or something and could possibly start a fire or something!! Feel me?

Yeah your right. I have an idea to solve this problem. I will fix it this weekend. Thanks.

jerseyboy
12-19-2009, 01:17 PM
Yeah your right. I have an idea to solve this problem. I will fix it this weekend. Thanks.

No problem.

Max_Power
12-19-2009, 10:14 PM
how did you fasten that down to the ledge? I never figured out how NOT to puncture the gas tank with screws. I would love to mount my amps up there too

Crownvicon28s
12-20-2009, 09:40 AM
how did you fasten that down to the ledge? I never figured out how NOT to puncture the gas tank with screws. I would love to mount my amps up there too

fasten what?

FJF
12-22-2009, 06:35 PM
I was going to mention the hike in the car's center of gravity driven by the install, but if the machine in question is the one in OP's avatar, it doesn't really matter.