PDA

View Full Version : Mounting Depth quesiton



MikeyF
12-17-2009, 01:46 AM
So, I've been looking for some box dimensions, and I think I have it right, but wanted to make sure before I made a mistake. I looked at the free box plans sticky, and was looking at the 2cubes at 32hz for my 12" DC LVL 4. I used the 12 volt calculator, and it said the box would be 2.51cubes interior volume. So I guess my question is, the mounting depth on the LVL 4 is 6.75", so after sub displacement, would the box be around an actual 2 cubes net? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Mike.
http://img34.imageshack.us/img34/8256/2cubes32hz30sqin7cb.png (http://img34.imageshack.us/i/2cubes32hz30sqin7cb.png/)http://img34.imageshack.us/img34/2cubes32hz30sqin7cb.png/1/w616.png (http://g.imageshack.us/img34/2cubes32hz30sqin7cb.png/1/)

zierbox
12-17-2009, 12:51 PM
You can normally find the subwoofer Displacement (volume) in the speakers specifications (look up on line) a 12” sub will be some where around .08

If you’re planning on a ported type enclosure you need to also subtract the area/volume of the entire port

MikeyF
12-19-2009, 05:29 PM
I have the port displacement figured out, I just wasn't sure if I needed to know the mounting depth, or the sub displacement(which I couldn't find on the DC website), and how I go about from subtracting that from the actual size of the box. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Mike.