PDA

View Full Version : pre fab or slicin n dicin



mrrbiggz
12-14-2009, 03:26 PM
I just picked up a DC lvl 3 15 and I havent decided to either build or buy pre fab. I saw one on ebay for like 55 shipped. All mdf 3.40 cubed. Ive always built my boxes and I am strapped for time now a days. I got abt 1500rms that will be turned down to push da lvl 3. Any advice on which way to go with the build or buy?

plugitin
12-14-2009, 03:27 PM
build...most prefabs are tuned hiiiigh

mrrbiggz
12-14-2009, 03:28 PM
do you know if DC audio sell boxes prcisely for there subs

Savag3
12-14-2009, 03:29 PM
il build you one $150 + ship , just need max dimensions

plugitin
12-14-2009, 03:29 PM
not that i know of...

9515ROB
12-14-2009, 03:31 PM
ill build u 1 too

mrrbiggz
12-14-2009, 03:35 PM
as crazy as my schedule is I might take one of you up on it. Only thing shippin will be bananas. I got about 4.5 to 5 cubes to work with but I dont think Ill need that much.

Ekimdude
12-14-2009, 03:38 PM
il build you one $150 + ship , just need max dimensions

Thats alot.

Savag3
12-14-2009, 03:40 PM
Thats alot.

meh . . all one inch , double baffle

plugitin
12-14-2009, 03:42 PM
i think you could get away with .75 inch...lol.

Savag3
12-14-2009, 03:42 PM
i only use 1" depending on enclosure threaded rod also , does kina sound like a weaker 15 tho

mrrbiggz
12-14-2009, 03:47 PM
its only rated for 600 rms/1200 peak. I really wasnt lookin for anything carzy loud. I do want a nice low deep note tho. I heard this sub can take a little more if its been built up which it has.

Savag3
12-14-2009, 03:48 PM
ya could definitely use .75


all 1", 5/8's rod, 2&3/4" baffle : http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i125/shyoop/100_0660.jpg

mrrbiggz
12-14-2009, 03:49 PM
I also heard threaded rod isnt the best way to go.

Savag3
12-14-2009, 03:51 PM
I also heard threaded rod isnt the best way to go.

thats funny

mrrbiggz
12-14-2009, 03:53 PM
no diss dude just what I heard. Ive never used it personally just seein what ur opinion is.

Savag3
12-14-2009, 03:55 PM
i like it, use it all the time , i like it way better than huge dowels or 2x4's . .

mrrbiggz
12-14-2009, 03:55 PM
ya could definitely use .75


all 1", 5/8's rod, 2-3/4 baffle : http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i125/shyoop/100_0660.jpg

I like. Is there any way not to have the nuts showing in the front tho?

mrrbiggz
12-14-2009, 03:57 PM
yeah Ive used bracin mostly before but I was always suspect it took away from the internal cu.

Savag3
12-14-2009, 03:57 PM
I like. Is there any way not to have the nuts showing in the front tho?

ya just sink them into the top plate and vinyl over , i leave them out for educational purposes

Savag3
12-14-2009, 04:00 PM
yeah Ive used bracin mostly before but I was always suspect it took away from the internal cu.

ya big bracing has to be accounted for in displacement

mrrbiggz
12-14-2009, 04:01 PM
Dats hot then. Pm'd ya

bass-aholic
12-14-2009, 04:07 PM
Please dont ever use prefabs, whe i was a noob i used them and they dont have the correct amount of port area and tuning is way above what they say. Even sealed prefabs ****, they blow apart.

mmouse57
12-14-2009, 04:09 PM
yeah dont need rods just brace that with mdf peices and glue