PDA

View Full Version : Design: Type R's



ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 09:05 AM
Subs 2 Alpine Type R 12's D2's @ .5 Ohms Daily

Amp Power Acoustik A3000db

Car 06 Altima 2.5 Stock Battery Up Front Stock Alty
1 Run Of 1/0


Goal 150 Db's

Can Someone Help??? Willing To Pay If Necessary

-Leister-
12-14-2009, 09:13 AM
How much room do you have to work with?

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 09:18 AM
searched online and couldnt find any proper dimensions on the trunk space of my car it only says like 15 cubic feet not sure

-Leister-
12-14-2009, 09:21 AM
Go measure it yourself. Thats the best way to do it.

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 09:28 AM
first of all is it possible to do tho wit 2 type r's

marcotheclepto
12-14-2009, 09:28 AM
Go measure it yourself. Thats the best way to do it.

this.

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 09:34 AM
no prob gotta get that done this weekend

-Leister-
12-14-2009, 09:36 AM
Just go do it now. Measure how deep it is, The height, and the width.

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 09:41 AM
at work dont have measuring tape

BassMechkanic
12-14-2009, 10:47 AM
wont do 150 on 2 12's, electrical will need upgrade, extra batteries. no way that is 3000 watt amp.

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 11:00 AM
ok so your telling me that i cant do a 50 with 2 subs???? i know i need to upgrade my electrical i have 2 kinetic 600's coming and the pa a3000db doesnt do rated... and ur serious

dafobbishon3
12-14-2009, 11:05 AM
with type r's, no.

dafobbishon3
12-14-2009, 11:05 AM
1500 is max anyway, not rms, so you're going to kill them.

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 11:14 AM
guy in my car club is running 2 15's on a mtx 81000 doing a 47 so i know its possible

99grandprixGT
12-14-2009, 11:16 AM
he has more cone area then you, how much power that amp put out he running?

dafobbishon3
12-14-2009, 11:17 AM
well 2 12's and 2 15's is a big difference

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 11:17 AM
supposedly 1500 @ 1 ohm

dafobbishon3
12-14-2009, 11:18 AM
yeah, at 14.5V i'm sure his electrical is up to par.

dafobbishon3
12-14-2009, 11:18 AM
even then, he still has more cone area. and your subs aren't 1500 rms regardless.

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 11:20 AM
he has the same electrical as i do stock front and alt with battery in rear some crazy brand its something like a kinetic 1200 tho

dafobbishon3
12-14-2009, 11:21 AM
and that amp is only 1500 with one channel, and since it's a mono, it's 750 to each sub.
then again, he still does have more cone area.

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 11:22 AM
ok so if not the type r's what subs do you suggest working with a limited budget

dafobbishon3
12-14-2009, 11:23 AM
well i would look on caco because some people have really good deals on subs. i know ssacket has some 12's that do 1500 rms per sub, and you'll definitely kill your buddy with those.

http://www.caraudioclassifieds.org/forum/index.php

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 11:31 AM
i hate that site it ***** too many rules and not enough product for me to give a **** thanks for the advice but do u have any where else in mind

dafobbishon3
12-14-2009, 11:33 AM
i hate that site it ***** too many rules and not enough product for me to give a **** thanks for the advice but do u have any where else in mind

LOL you really do? yeah, i agree. it's real ****, but they got some nice shet for sale.

i guess you can PM ssacket here, i know SPY's got some nice subs for sale, but idk if they are budget wise, but ssacket, budget and power wise, he'd be your man. or find some nice PSI subs.

99grandprixGT
12-14-2009, 11:33 AM
the type Rs will get loud, with the right box and power. do u just want to be louder then him or do you just want 150 for some reason?

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 11:36 AM
i want a 150 trying to be the first trunk car in my club to pull a 50 so i though 2 type r's big box big amp nice electrical would do it according to ccab he pulled a 152 with his so i said wtf ill try it as well the only guy doing 50's has a wall with 4 kicker cvx subs in it

99grandprixGT
12-14-2009, 11:41 AM
i want a 150 trying to be the first trunk car in my club to pull a 50 so i though 2 type r's big box big amp nice electrical would do it according to ccab he pulled a 152 with his so i said wtf ill try it as well the only guy doing 50's has a wall with 4 kicker cvx subs in it

what meter ?

Supergumby5000
12-14-2009, 11:42 AM
its definately possible to do a 150 with two 12" type-R's, but for a daily setup its somewhat unrealistic.

TommyK burped over a 150 with a 10" type-R, but that wasnt in a daily stereo (aka it probably sounded like hell)

quit worrying about numbers for your daily setup, put two 12's in a box tuned low, and it'll sound good

if you are chasing numbers, prepare to have a ****** sounding system, and prepare to go through many, many different box designs. I'de reccomend learning to do it yourself.

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 11:45 AM
what meter ?

not sure look him up his setup is in his sig

Supergumby5000
12-14-2009, 11:45 AM
and yer definately not going to hit 150 with that cheap *** amp and a stock electrical system

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 11:49 AM
its definately possible to do a 150 with two 12" type-R's, but for a daily setup its somewhat unrealistic.

TommyK burped over a 150 with a 10" type-R, but that wasnt in a daily stereo (aka it probably sounded like hell)

quit worrying about numbers for your daily setup, put two 12's in a box tuned low, and it'll sound good

if you are chasing numbers, prepare to have a ****** sounding system, and prepare to go through many, many different box designs. I'de reccomend learning to do it yourself.

i could always do that i wanna at least beat my last score of 143.9 with 1 12' and 1600 watts with stock front and alt and battery in back in 4ga wire so i figure double the power, double the wattage and add a woofer and watch ur number go up the 50 thing is a dream thats all in reality maybe a 49.9 :D

Supergumby5000
12-14-2009, 11:55 AM
i could always do that i wanna at least beat my last score of 143.9 with 1 12' and 1600 watts with stock front and alt and battery in back in 4ga wire so i figure double the power, double the wattage and add a woofer and watch ur number go up the 50 thing is a dream thats all in reality maybe a 49.9 :D

1) your not doubling you power
2)adding a woofer will help. Some.
3)you arent doing a **** thing to your electrical.
4)you better be a god at box building/designing

aka, its not gonna happen. you are gonna be running that PA amp on a stock alternator with a couple batteries, meaning you will probably have hard, hard voltage drops, and seein gthat amp is rated at 14.4 volts, you are going to be seeing a fraction of its rated voltage.

hitting a 150 in a trunk car is a lot easier than "ima add a sub and a bigger amp"

look at everything thorshammer has gone through with his trunk car.


good luck.

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 11:58 AM
ok so glad i havent purchased it yet im lookin at a aq2200d also or sundown 1200 would like to get a 1500 but the cost too much and how about u. could you design my box. i plan on changing the 4ga and adding 1/0 guage with 2 kinetic 600s in the rear i wanna keep my spare tire

tinmanchris217
12-14-2009, 12:41 PM
I wouldn't go for the 1200. It can take a beating, but Sundown even recommends NOT using it for competition... there are alot of good choices in that power range, at reasonable prices. The audioque should be MORE than enough amp... so that you can set your power level based on your voltage drop. Get it.

As far as cheap, loud subs... you can get 2 Type-R, Pioneer Champion PRO, Lanzar Opti, or Kicker CVX... or get one Hifonics Olympus, AQ HDC3, Fi BL. They'll all handle the power in a burp.

But like Gumby sez, you'd better spend your time in the trenches getting that box design perfect... because 150 is nearly impossible with that level of equipment (in normal cars). And yes, it will sound like a big bag of @ss, so think ahead for port-plugs or external ports.

SicAudio
12-14-2009, 12:53 PM
dsc 2000.1 2200rms easily 315 shipped :) the type r subs will take 1000-1200 rms easily if the box is right.
but no way you will do it on what you have. even a fart box is gonna be tough.

Korn4Life
12-14-2009, 01:02 PM
if u want cheap power then get an Audiopipe 3000d they go for 300 bucks on ebay and they do rated power. add two stinger spv70 batts get a pair of 12inch audioque hdc3's and build a nice box and u should be close. and shouldnt run u more then a grand for that setup.

SicAudio
12-14-2009, 01:10 PM
^^^
sure they do rated but for how long? and they dont meter for ****

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 01:18 PM
if u want cheap power then get an Audiopipe 3000d they go for 300 bucks on ebay and they do rated power. add two stinger spv70 batts get a pair of 12inch audioque hdc3's and build a nice box and u should be close. and shouldnt run u more then a grand for that setup.

spv70's weigh too much i had one before in there it made my car look funny in the back the audioque is a 2ohm stable amp as we have all seen in the thread they put out power but im pretty sure will go up in smoke at .5 ohms

Ohioguy
12-14-2009, 01:19 PM
stop being a know it all and ****ing learn about car audio first off all. your wrong about mostly everything you say.

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 01:23 PM
stop being a know it all and ****ing learn about car audio first off all. your wrong about mostly everything you say.


and this is coming from a guy that has under 500 posts GTFO

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 01:27 PM
see thats why i hate some people on this thread me and some guys are conversating about my next setup and this d!ck comes and starts talking garbage

natisfynest
12-14-2009, 01:34 PM
buy my type r 15's buy a saz1500d and get a box built and you should be able to pull 150's. I was hitting em all day on music

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 01:36 PM
sorry i dont wanna do a single sub setup again

rules in my club we cant have the same subwoofer *stupid* right but o well

natisfynest
12-14-2009, 01:39 PM
not a single sub setup hence the 's

paint the subs a diff color

Koennnnn
12-14-2009, 01:44 PM
Switch out your type r's for some funky pups. You'll easily be hittin 155s in no time.

PV Audio
12-14-2009, 03:08 PM
In a trunk? Maybe. With a daily setup? Not in the slightest.

If thats what you want, then you're going to need a different vehicle and a SPL only setup.

Supergumby5000
12-14-2009, 03:11 PM
and this is coming from a guy that has under 500 posts GTFO

1) post count means nothing. saying that he doesnt know what he's talking about because he only has 500 posts is disgustingly ignorant.

2) you do say some stupid ish.

pieper88
12-14-2009, 03:17 PM
tappin_azz has like 3,xxx posts. I'd trust his input on anything lol

tinmanchris217
12-14-2009, 03:43 PM
^^^
sure they do rated but for how long? and they dont meter for ****

So explain this.... they do rated, but don't meter.

An amp's only purpose in competition car is to output sound power, without dropping voltage too low. You admit it does rated, so how does it not meter well?

ex: my AP1500 pump full power on burps and bass race. Distortion does stack up fast, but same for any amp.

I sure hope you're not trying to bash a competing product. :crazy:

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 03:57 PM
1) post count means nothing. saying that he doesnt know what he's talking about because he only has 500 posts is disgustingly ignorant.

2) you do say some stupid ish.

i kno by all means im not the smartest person in the car audio game but i know some things :eek:

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 03:57 PM
anyways can someone design me a box for the r's

tinmanchris217
12-14-2009, 04:10 PM
this is the most requested box on CA.com ... please search. :D

SicAudio
12-14-2009, 04:16 PM
So explain this.... they do rated, but don't meter.

An amp's only purpose in competition car is to output sound power, without dropping voltage too low. You admit it does rated, so how does it not meter well?

ex: my AP1500 pump full power on burps and bass race. Distortion does stack up fast, but same for any amp.

I sure hope you're not trying to bash a competing product. :crazy:

no i am not bashing them i aint a nutthugger. they will do rated with enough juice, but alot of people are dumping them because a smaller wattage amp is doing better #'s go figure maybe they don't actually do rated? hvy clip is worse for good #'s than a good clean signal is at the same power. AP is not a competing product to me anyway.

BassMechkanic
12-14-2009, 04:31 PM
for your box, we would need your max demisions, i just did a single tye R in 2.2 at 32hz on a hifonics brutis(i think) it hit hard, it way over powered the mids/highs the kids highs amp was a POS.

ICHASEPAPER2010
12-14-2009, 04:32 PM
ill get em asap thanks

SicAudio
12-14-2009, 04:38 PM
for your box, we would need your max demisions, i just did a single tye R in 2.2 at 32hz on a hifonics brutis(i think) it hit hard, it way over powered the mids/highs the kids highs amp was a POS.

i know you are not saying the brutus amp was a pos lolz what amp did he have on his midz? what kind of midz?

BassMechkanic
12-14-2009, 04:40 PM
kenwood, 2 channel, i think it would have been louder off the deck power, he did have some type R seperates, i think they need some power to get loud. never used them before.

Savag3
12-14-2009, 04:42 PM
do both 12's get a 3000 watt something and some batts/alt , doubt 150's but should get **** loud as long as the trunk is matt'd and the bass has a way back in the cabin

tinmanchris217
12-14-2009, 04:43 PM
i know you are not saying the brutus amp was a pos lolz

i aint a nutthugger

:evil: I've got plenty of respect for you Sic, but sometimes it's too easy sometimes.

SicAudio
12-14-2009, 04:48 PM
lol not what i meant dude. i like ap and saz and dd amps too lolz