PDA

View Full Version : 2.07 cubic feet too much for an HDC3 10?



IMOVeCHICKENS!
12-10-2009, 12:07 PM
just curious with this airspace i get 40.8hz of tuning i could add port length is it's at 21.5 inches and i guess that would consume some of the airspace and lower my tuning is this a good idea?

or will i be fine with the 10 in 2 cu ft on an saz1500d at 1 ohm

tuomas
12-10-2009, 12:32 PM
with what you gave, and the assumption that you meant 21^3 inches of port, then your tuning is at 44.8hz and after displacement (of port and sub) your volume of box is 1.9 ft^3. If you lower your tuning by increasing port length, it will make the box more peaky with the given volume, and less of an even response.

IMOVeCHICKENS!
12-10-2009, 01:07 PM
well

port width 3 inches
port height 11.25 inches
port length 21.5 inches

so should i add some port length ive got plenty or resin and extra mdf laying around along with right angle brackets so anythings possible

IMOVeCHICKENS!
12-10-2009, 03:43 PM
any more opinions

PV Audio
12-10-2009, 05:16 PM
Wooooah there, 2.07 is too much. You'd be much safer with 2 ;)


don't listen to me haha

hatedonmostly
12-10-2009, 05:20 PM
I'd put it in 1.5 at the most. It's not like you aren't throwing enough power at it.

PV Audio
12-10-2009, 05:21 PM
In all seriousness, that's too much. Since you're going for a SPL box, try 1.25-1.5 at your 40-42hz tuning.

IMOVeCHICKENS!
12-10-2009, 10:23 PM
well since the box is built
i can add port length and at the same time lower it down and keep the same tuning at about 40-42 hz