PDA

View Full Version : testing box?



dvldogyut
12-02-2009, 05:33 PM
i am going to build a box for testing to figure out what i want to tune to, its going to be 4 cubes for two 187 series 12's and i have some 4" pvc laying around and i am going to use it for the ports,

i will probably use two ports what will be the best layout for the subs and ports? subs up on one side of the box with ports up on other side? ports between the two subs? subs middle ports on the outside of subs?

or go with one port out each side? or both ports out on side?

gboo559
12-02-2009, 05:40 PM
what car

dvldogyut
12-02-2009, 05:46 PM
what car

its a 06 chevy sileverado ext cab, im going to just sit it in the back seat and keep changing the tuning on the box until i find something i like, befor i spend alot of time building my final box and then not like the sound of it.

but i want to know a good arragement for the subs and ports

davidt487
12-02-2009, 05:59 PM
Subs up port out the side but I would do 4 4" ports

gboo559
12-02-2009, 06:03 PM
Subs up port out the side but I would do 4 4" ports

4 would be too many

dvldogyut
12-02-2009, 06:03 PM
Subs up port out the side but I would do 4 4" ports

i only have 5 foot of 4" pvc

4 4" tuned to 28 would be crazy long!

gboo559
12-02-2009, 06:08 PM
2/3 4" aeros is plenty. as for sub/port placement idk I've never worked with trucks before

dvldogyut
12-02-2009, 06:10 PM
anyone for sub and port arrangement?

dvldogyut
12-02-2009, 06:32 PM
bump

dvldogyut
12-02-2009, 06:34 PM
does it even matter?

SQcrewcab
12-02-2009, 06:40 PM
In my ford ranger. sub up port up worked great. In my chevy crewcab, i have sub up on pass side, port to side firing into driver side back door. Seems to work really well, i have fliped the box every which way and this way sounds the best and meters the best.

dvldogyut
12-02-2009, 06:55 PM
when you use the bcae calculator the port lenght it comes up with for 2 ports is for each port right?

dvldogyut
12-02-2009, 06:56 PM
2/3 4" aeros is plenty. as for sub/port placement idk I've never worked with trucks before

when you use the bcae calculator the port length it comes up with for 2 ports is the length for each port right?