PDA

View Full Version : this is my box and i have a problem



robertoyoung08
12-02-2009, 12:30 PM
http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b118/Importracer280/IMG_0036.jpg
http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b118/Importracer280/IMG_0038.jpg
http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b118/Importracer280/IMG_0039.jpg
http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b118/Importracer280/IMG_0041.jpg
http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b118/Importracer280/IMG_0043.jpg
http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b118/Importracer280/IMG_0044.jpg

i had a previous thread so some of you guys already saw my box.
3.2 cubes at whats supposed to be 35hz. **** is not sounding well. only getting lows. need some help figuring out why its not sounding as it should.

box too big, aero math not done right. some help?
mobeious on here might design me a box, but idk if i need a whole new box designed. maybe just need to fix some things. please, help, im getting tired of ****** sound from an awesome sub!

fasfocus00
12-02-2009, 12:34 PM
what size sub is that

TMali
12-02-2009, 12:35 PM
umm, why is it made of plywood? and are you sure with both of those ports that it is tuned correctly

plugitin
12-02-2009, 12:35 PM
i dont like using two ports on two different planes

JeepBeats96JGC
12-02-2009, 12:39 PM
ugly doesnt always = loud?

RetroAudioinc
12-02-2009, 12:40 PM
I would try and get the ports on the same side, plug the other hole some how and move the port with the other one.

plywood is not the best for sub boxes..

-Leister-
12-02-2009, 12:41 PM
I think the problem may be the areos. Are the aeros the same size?

phemps
12-02-2009, 12:44 PM
whawt size aeros are those?

robertoyoung08
12-02-2009, 12:47 PM
12 inch sub. my bad.
aeros are 4" each. about 15 inches long.

used psp calculator and someone kind of helped me on it, but everyone says psp is wrong.

and yeah i used plywood, but that shouldnt be the only reason for not getting good sound.

i put one port up so i can port through the rear dash in my car.

can anyone help me figure out if my aeros are right or what the corect size should be? i seriously did some major math on this and thats the best i could come up with.

fasfocus00
12-02-2009, 12:49 PM
i'm gonna guess that that's a 10" sub with 2 4" aero ports. problem one is the box is wayyy to big, even if that's a 12" box is still too big. build a box that is 1.5 cubes net for a 10" or 2.25 cubes if it's a 12" and use only one of the 4" aeros but make sure the length is correct.

-Leister-
12-02-2009, 12:50 PM
x2

fasfocus00
12-02-2009, 12:51 PM
12 inch sub. my bad.
aeros are 4" each. about 15 inches long.

used psp calculator and someone kind of helped me on it, but everyone says psp is wrong.

and yeah i used plywood, but that shouldnt be the only reason for not getting good sound.

i put one port up so i can port through the rear dash in my car.

can anyone help me figure out if my aeros are right or what the corect size should be? i seriously did some major math on this and thats the best i could come up with.


plywood is not an acoustically dead material and flexing is a major issue with this material.

fasfocus00
12-02-2009, 01:00 PM
according to the info you provided, if the net volume of the box is 3.2 and you have 2 4" aeros with a length of 15" each than your tuned to right around 35hz but your box is way too big for that sub making it very boomy, second the material you used is causing flex and strange acoustics, 3rd if you're aeros are 15" long the one that is not on the same side as the sub is flush with the opposite wall, i can tell that b/c of the scale of your sub compared to the height of your box. so that port probably isn't even doing anything but taking up space making your box tuned more to 25hz than 35hz. you need to scrap that box, take out the aeros and start over using the correct material (MDF or birch .75") and use only 1 of those aeros.

ascitiesburn69
12-02-2009, 01:35 PM
Indeed^

mazdakid
12-02-2009, 01:59 PM
Id build a new box but still use 2 of the aeros, or a 6" aero.

JBGabriel
12-02-2009, 02:14 PM
Id build a new box but still use 2 of the aeros, or a 6" aero.

x2 one 4" will have port noise

BassMechkanic
12-02-2009, 02:28 PM
2.25 - 2.5 with 2 4" aeros. but i think the length needs to be looooonger!

domllama
12-02-2009, 02:41 PM
2.25 - 2.5 with 2 4" aeros. but i think the length needs to be looooonger!

yes, & please scrap the plywood - mdf doesn't cost much..if you don't think you can get it home in 1 piece..home depot (i know for sure) will cut it in as many pieces as you need.

PV Audio
12-02-2009, 03:47 PM
If you're going to use plywood, it needs to be >10ply. Otherwise, it's likely filled with voids and can resonate poorly.

Another issue is that you have vents on two different sides. No go, my friend. Always keep the ports on the same plane.

And what are you wanting exactly? You want it to hit higher frequencies?

PV Audio
12-02-2009, 03:48 PM
And if that's a 10, then the box is about 2 cubic feet too large. You need a new box with a new design. Unfortunately, you won't be able to use those same aeros since your tuning will be at least 15hz higher.

mlstrass
12-02-2009, 04:31 PM
I'd try raising the LPF, but the box is on the large side for a 12" sub...

mazdakid
12-02-2009, 04:31 PM
he said its a 12.

PV Audio
12-02-2009, 05:04 PM
Okay then it's about 1 cubic foot too large for a 12 anyway. You're still going to have to redo the enclosure.

robertoyoung08
12-02-2009, 06:29 PM
alright. thanks for all the replies. you guys have helped a whole ****ing lot.

i hadnt ever watched the box while the sub is playing.
..that ***** is flexing alot. espeically at the top. you can totally see the plywood just vibrating its *** off.

so you guys are right. a whole new box made out of mdf is definitely in order here. cant have a good sub with a ****** box. only had plywood cus i told dad to get some wood (hes a construction worker) and this is what he brought me. figured id try it out.

okay. so new box. defintely mdf now. smaller for sure im gussing since you guys all agree on that. re audio recommended me 2.5 cubes at 35. do those measurements sound a lot better?

NOW all i need is some help with these **** aeros! anyone know how to really get the CORRECT calculations for aeros?

robertoyoung08
12-02-2009, 06:34 PM
oh and i did not know about keeping the aeros on the same side.
that is probably true. because the top aero doesnt seem to be "working" much. i barely feel any air moving in and out of it compared to the front one. so it probably is just taking up space.

thanks for that big tip. guess i will need to fix that. one aero at the top for sure, is my main concern since im trying to get it to port through the top so the bass can go in through my rear deck where stock sub used to be.

so maybe il switch over to just one 6 inch.

IamDeMan
12-05-2009, 08:48 AM
i dont like using two ports on two different planes

Agreed. I am not sure how it affects output, but aesthetically it isn't very pleasing.

robertoyoung08
12-05-2009, 02:19 PM
help with aeros PLEASE?!

fasfocus00
12-05-2009, 05:36 PM
help with aeros PLEASE?!

here's a freebie for you:

2.69 cubes (15Hx26Wx16D) tuned to 33hz

top & bottom: 16x26
front & back: 13.5x24.5
sides: 13.5x16

single 4" aero port: 10" long

use 3/4" MDF, issue solved.

robertoyoung08
12-05-2009, 06:13 PM
here's a freebie for you:

2.69 cubes (15Hx26Wx16D) tuned to 33hz

top & bottom: 16x26
front & back: 13.5x24.5
sides: 13.5x16

single 4" aero port: 10" long

use 3/4" MDF, issue solved.



haha just like that huh fasfocus00?
thanks a lot man!

i will deffinitely try this out. ive been having a lot of problems with aeros.
you think it would be a problem if i did aero up, sub forward? (aero porting into cabin of car)?

carguy83
12-05-2009, 06:43 PM
before you make a new box, what are your amp's settings? you mentioned that you're only getting the really low notes...

robertoyoung08
12-05-2009, 07:10 PM
yeahh. im about to go out and build a box tomorrow too.

im guessing my box is too big. everyone says my box is just too big for a 12".
kind of makes sense. but the sub is pretty big, i dont see why a big 12" would need the same size as a small 12"

anyways. ive got a clarion dpx 11551 powering it


http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b118/Importracer280/IMG_0003-7.jpg

heres a pic of it.
could my settings be the reason im only getting lows?

tommyk90
12-05-2009, 07:15 PM
here's a freebie for you:

2.69 cubes (15Hx26Wx16D) tuned to 33hz

top & bottom: 16x26
front & back: 13.5x24.5
sides: 13.5x16

single 4" aero port: 10" long

use 3/4" MDF, issue solved.

One 4" aeroport is not sufficient for a 12" sub of this caliber.

2 4's minimum.

robertoyoung08
12-05-2009, 07:39 PM
thats what i've been told plenty of times on here.
but i thought since fasfocus took into account a smaller cubic feet dimensions, one 4" aero would be good.

****. looks like i will have to build a slot ported for now until i can figure this aero **** out.

i see so many of you guys on here with aeros. and you guys get great sound. yet i cant figure this out? wth