PDA

View Full Version : first box build



DB-Audio
11-21-2009, 11:41 PM
this is for my 10" lanzars 1.2 cubes tuned to 35hz
this is my goal
http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h36/CrazedEvilX/10inch35hz.jpg
here is what i did
http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h36/CrazedEvilX/Picture004-1.jpg
http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h36/CrazedEvilX/Picture002-1.jpg
http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h36/CrazedEvilX/Picture001-1.jpg

marcotheclepto
11-21-2009, 11:43 PM
this is for my 10" lanzars 1.2 cubes tuned to 35hz
this is my goal
http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h36/CrazedEvilX/10inch35hz.jpg
here is what i did
http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h36/CrazedEvilX/Picture004-1.jpg
http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h36/CrazedEvilX/Picture002-1.jpg
http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h36/CrazedEvilX/Picture001-1.jpg

your kidding right?

DB-Audio
11-21-2009, 11:47 PM
hey gotta do what i gotta do

cf2004
11-22-2009, 12:12 AM
why the wood choice?

Toone
11-22-2009, 12:13 AM
dont say its topless say the ******* is out

DB-Audio
11-22-2009, 01:01 AM
why the wood choice?

had it lying around had to make use of it so what better way than a sub box

DB-Audio
11-22-2009, 01:02 AM
dont say its topless say the ******* is out

lol putting the final peice on it tomarrow arter i finish sealling everything up/paint

cf2004
11-22-2009, 01:07 AM
had it lying around had to make use of it so what better way than a sub box

I guess I can understand that, with it being you 1st box and having it laying around.

altoncustomtech
11-22-2009, 01:11 AM
is it glued?? my first ones didn't look any better than that, but then I didn't have the resources available then that we all do now (pre-internet).... for the most part, you're not doing that bad with it, make sure you glued the panels good, seal it well and see how it works.... that's the funnest part, seeing what works and what doesn't... IMHO for a first one that ain't horrible, I've seen ALOT worse...

mr.michael
11-22-2009, 01:14 AM
im not gonna lie, my first box(current box built) owns that box. it should work though so no worries mate

marcotheclepto
11-22-2009, 01:15 AM
oh, i didnt know this was seriously first time, looks decent like the flush mount. haha. just make sure to use titebond on the joints and seal all the seems well.

jeeper07
11-22-2009, 01:15 AM
is it glued?? my first ones didn't look any better than that, but then I didn't have the resources available then that we all do now (pre-internet).... for the most part, you're not doing that bad with it, make sure you glued the panels good, seal it well and see how it works.... that's the funnest part, seeing what works and what doesn't... IMHO for a first one that ain't horrible, I've seen ALOT worse...

ur profile says ur only 30 :confused:

but yea ive seen worse for a first box

altoncustomtech
11-22-2009, 01:21 AM
ur profile says ur only 30 :confused:

but yea ive seen worse for a first box


Am only 30.... I started building boxes for Home Audio stuff when I was 13.... living in a small town the Internet wasn't available until i was about 15 or 16 and the public library didn't have any books on the subject so aside from a little help from some older friends I was self taught....

PV Audio
11-22-2009, 01:24 AM
That puts my first box to shame. Then again, I was in 8th grade when I made it :D

Either way, don't use that plywood for enclosures any more. It's not dead enough for a plywood and is useless for speaker enclosures since it warps and has voids. Use MDF or 7+ oak or birch ply instead.

DB-Audio
11-22-2009, 01:49 AM
That puts my first box to shame. Then again, I was in 8th grade when I made it :D

Either way, don't use that plywood for enclosures any more. It's not dead enough for a plywood and is useless for speaker enclosures since it warps and has voids. Use MDF or 7+ oak or birch ply instead.

thanks for the knowledge i would have perferded mdf but i really just tried to use what was around the house rather than spending money(i know im cheap) but hey it does the job i did glue everything i made sure to do my research before tackling the prodject

DB-Audio
11-22-2009, 01:50 AM
oh, i didnt know this was seriously first time, looks decent like the flush mount. haha. just make sure to use titebond on the joints and seal all the seems well.

yeah i fuc.ked up on the first cut out so i desided to make it a flush mount to save the wood

Boomintempo
11-22-2009, 10:10 AM
Not too bad for your first build. Not the best choice of wood, not the cleanest cuts...but at least you had a plan, knew the size of the box, and knew what and how to tune it. Just make sure you seal it up real good and you should be OK with lower wattage.

Most people first box, that I saw back in the day, were usually made of plywood as well. Really thin plywood. LOL, I remember some friends had a "ported" box where they just drilled different sized diameter holes in the box.

Not too bad though...and at least you learned some stuff...your next box will be better!