PDA

View Full Version : port area question



dvldogyut
11-18-2009, 09:46 PM
how much difference will i notice between 20 inches of port and 30 inches of port? i am running a incrminator 187 12' at 500 watts, nick from ia said since im running that much power to put it in a box of 2 cubes to get the best output and he said to put 20-30 inches of port. so what difference will i notice? and zierbox recomended that i go with 20-25, he didnt know personally because he has never worked with these subs.

dvldogyut
11-18-2009, 10:09 PM
i might note that i care more about good sound quality and hard hitting lows, with good clear sound, not really interested in numbers.

AudioXtremes
11-18-2009, 10:15 PM
I would actually give it 30-40sq of port.

dvldogyut
11-18-2009, 10:24 PM
I would actually give it 30-40sq of port.

really? why is that?

dvldogyut
11-19-2009, 12:18 AM
bump

plugitin
11-19-2009, 12:19 AM
12-16 sq inches of port per cube, with a slot port

basscort2009
11-19-2009, 12:20 AM
port area mostly helps with numbers. u wont know a differance in 20-30 really on low powered sub like that

phemps
11-19-2009, 12:21 AM
more port area youll get a slight peak in the response around tuned frequency, so overall not as flat of a response with a bigger port