PDA

View Full Version : Home stereo automatically cutting off?



CMattox23
10-26-2009, 10:36 PM
I have a Sharp receiver that has worked forever but just decides to cut off as soon as I turn it on now...anybody have any input on what might be wrong with it?

loud-n-low
10-26-2009, 10:38 PM
if its toast i have a nice 2 channel onkyo for ya

JimJ
10-26-2009, 10:38 PM
How long is forever?

Could need replacement of caps, or just bought the farm because of low-quality soldering work or PCB traces...

CMattox23
10-26-2009, 10:41 PM
See that's the thing, I honestly can't tell. I mean I've had this thing forever and I'm not sure why I had it wired the way I did but I had both speaker's (rated @ 6ohm's) wired in series to only one channel on the back of the receiver but I'm not sure if that would be the cause, because like I said, it's worked like that forever.

Loud, how much for your onkyo?

CMattox23
10-26-2009, 10:43 PM
How long is forever?

Could need replacement of caps, or just bought the farm because of low-quality soldering work or PCB traces...

6 years roughly

loud-n-low
10-26-2009, 10:48 PM
100 shipped. does a loud 50x2 @ 8 ohms and its 4 ohm stable

CMattox23
10-27-2009, 12:59 AM
Two 6 ohm svc speakers wired in parallel = a 3 ohm load, correct?

Random1010
10-27-2009, 01:01 AM
no

CMattox23
10-27-2009, 01:02 AM
edited, sorry i meant parallel....does that make my statement true now? or is it still a no

BigCatSmile
10-27-2009, 01:12 AM
that receiver must already be beat if your tying both speakers to one channel and @ 3 ohm load too...

BigCatSmile
10-27-2009, 01:13 AM
and like the other guy said it might just be some bad caps.

CMattox23
10-27-2009, 01:20 AM
that receiver must already be beat if your tying both speakers to one channel and @ 3 ohm load too...

Na I was just asking that question because I gave up on the receiver. I got extremely bored tonight and pulled a 250watt power supply out of my old desktop, wired it up to a 4 channel amp I had, and used the speakers from my old receiver. Just got confused because each speaker box (I have two) has a 6ohm tweeter and a 6ohm mid-bass driver. So I was thinking that I was putting a 3ohm load on each channel. Then again, I have no idea I think I might have over thought it all lol. Please correct me if I'm wrong...