PDA

View Full Version : INCLUDE port volume in boxes????



Trixter
11-13-2003, 06:10 PM
I asked a Parts Express tech guy on how to find the volume of precision (aero) ports, since they have flared ends, to count for thier displacement. This is what his reply was:

Actually, there are two schools of though on this. The first and most
recent says that the volume of the air in the tube should not be
considered as lost. Vance Dickason has always said in the
cookbook that the volume should be added.

So does this mean you don't have to worry about port displacement?? He also went on to say:

As you probably already know, the standard formula for the area of
a cylinder is pi times the radius squared times the length in inches,
divided by 1728. This of course gives cubic feet which you would
add to your target cabinet volume. I don't believe that the internal
flare could add any significant amount, and I'm aware of no
applicable formula. I can't imagine it having an affect, audible or
otherwise.

I'm thinking of just trying to figure it out myself. It probably won't be exact, but it would be be darn close.

jbl_marshall21
11-13-2003, 09:17 PM
port displacement takes away from box volume

Trixter
11-14-2003, 07:47 AM
That's what I always thought, but this guy says not to count it as a loss and that it should be added...wtf. :wow: