View Full Version : port area too mucch?

09-12-2009, 03:47 PM
so i just designed a box for a single aq hdc3 12 tuned to 38 hz 2 cubes net but when i got my port length i was a ******* and put in the port area for my gross volume. so now i have plans for a box with 42 sq inches of port for a box with only 2 cubes net. should i scrap it and start over?

09-12-2009, 03:48 PM
no, build it. you'll like it

09-12-2009, 03:52 PM
you sure man? ive always gone with 16 sq inches per cube or so and heard never to stray from about 10 percent of that number. 42 would be closer to a 2.7 cubee box

09-12-2009, 03:59 PM
if you like it loud, it won't be a problem. now if you were looking for flat bass response, this isn't a good idea. such a big port will make the frequencies around tuning far outshine all other notes

09-12-2009, 04:00 PM
the sub wont unload with this much port?

09-13-2009, 12:37 AM
the sub wont unload with this much port?


muddin wolvy
09-13-2009, 01:14 AM
I was told too much port area makes it sound very peaky