PDA

View Full Version : will it last if i plug it into the wall socket?



sinosic
09-09-2009, 01:14 PM
sub is a 15" AWT15X 3000wrms with a 4" coil dvc 2ohm
the box:
dual kerfed ports
black truck bed liner inside and out
fiberglassed inside joints
3/4" mdf
180 port bends
3 cuft @ 45hz
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff295/sinosic/100_6289.jpg
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff295/sinosic/100_6287.jpg


someone wants to trade me there 2005 crf70 dirt bike for this. they said they wanted to see it slap before we trade. the problem is i do not have an amp. the only thing i can think of is 120v @ 60hz demo....good or bad idea?

Johnny Law.Lulz
09-09-2009, 01:15 PM
Bad. *******.

groundpound4200
09-09-2009, 01:16 PM
it will take it for a second I would hope.... I had a kicker comp 10" last like 15 seconds off the wall socket at 4 ohms

plugitin
09-09-2009, 01:17 PM
you would be sending it the dirtiest signal ever. Even though i have seen a re xxx hooked up to the wall at our local shop. Pretty cool, flip a switch and boom. Lasted for quite some time too

groundpound4200
09-09-2009, 01:18 PM
you would be sending it the dirtiest signal ever. Even though i have seen a re xxx hooked up to the wall at our local shop. Pretty cool, flip a switch and boom. Lasted for quite some time too

actually its pure unclipped 60HZ sinewaves. Doesnt get much cleaner IIRC

sinosic
09-09-2009, 01:18 PM
Bad. *******.

i have plugged my trf when it was a 12" sub in the wall socket 5 times without a box and it kept popping the breaker after 20 secs or so. now with this 15" being in a box wouldnt that be safer?

it didnt plug it into the wall yet *******

Litunerkid
09-09-2009, 01:19 PM
just make a vid and we shall seee

Johnny Law.Lulz
09-09-2009, 01:20 PM
And Wall socket is dirty power. Not pure.

sinosic
09-09-2009, 01:21 PM
just make a vid and we shall seee

if i do it i will make a vid for sure.

sinosic
09-09-2009, 01:23 PM
And Wall socket is dirty power. Not pure.


dirty power.... theres no amp clipping the signal so how is it dirty power?

grimreper912003
09-09-2009, 01:23 PM
Bad idea. But your choice

plugitin
09-09-2009, 01:23 PM
actually its pure unclipped 60HZ sinewaves. Doesnt get much cleaner IIRC

i was under the impression it was dirty power...hmmm

sinosic
09-09-2009, 01:27 PM
Bad idea. But your choice

why?

BushJ311
09-09-2009, 01:29 PM
not worth the risk imo. You would be better off buying an amp first.

jco1385
09-09-2009, 01:30 PM
DMM ftmfw. *******

sinosic
09-09-2009, 01:36 PM
not worth the risk imo. You would be better off buying an amp first.


thats what im thinking. thanks for not being rude.

csu87
09-09-2009, 01:38 PM
make sure you get a video of you blowing your sub

tRiGgEr
09-09-2009, 01:40 PM
Just jump up and down on the cone really fast...

grimreper912003
09-09-2009, 01:41 PM
why?

Music is dynamic. Wall socket is not. That send you'll be sending full power atleast until the coil heats up and pops.

And I doubt a wall socket is a perfect unclipped 60hz wave.

But wanna sell the sub?

jco1385
09-09-2009, 01:41 PM
tell dude if he wants to see it move, bring an amp to hook it up to. or just give him the DMM readings.

or just plug it into the wall.

DBBOOM
09-09-2009, 01:42 PM
If he wants to buy it........................doesn't he have an amp you could test it with? By the way, who built the box?

blazeplacid
09-09-2009, 01:44 PM
do you have a home receiver you can hook it up to just make sure it works?

Ive done that to show people it works

that or a DMM

alex5857
09-09-2009, 01:49 PM
Why dont you go to best buy buy a amp hook it up and return it after?

sinosic
09-09-2009, 02:02 PM
If he wants to buy it........................doesn't he have an amp you could test it with? By the way, who built the box?

dude doesnt have an amp i guess. and i made the enclosure.

sinosic
09-09-2009, 02:05 PM
Music is dynamic. Wall socket is not. That send you'll be sending full power atleast until the coil heats up and pops.

And I doubt a wall socket is a perfect unclipped 60hz wave.

But wanna sell the sub?


well i doubt the wall socket is 1600+ wrms cause the breakers are rated at 50 amps i think. im thinking it might do 1600+ watts @ 60hz not to long before the breaker pops.

i have the box and sub posted on sac craigslist for $700 obo. i cant sell just the sub cause the cutout is 15".

sinosic
09-09-2009, 02:08 PM
do you have a home receiver you can hook it up to just make sure it works?

Ive done that to show people it works

that or a DMM


i have a little sony stereo i could use. or i could show his that the coils are good with my multimeter.

JuicyJeff
09-09-2009, 02:15 PM
audiobahn makes good subs?

djarmy2004
09-09-2009, 02:17 PM
Please post vid as we all want to see this

jco1385
09-09-2009, 02:23 PM
i have a little sony stereo i could use. or i could show his that the coils are good with my multimeter.

ding ding ding winnAr

sinosic
09-09-2009, 02:59 PM
audiobahn makes good subs?

most sub manufactors make an entry level sub and a competion sub.
for example a kicker comp blows but a solo x is a beast.
so yes audiobahn makes or made a few good subs. the linera compression
awt15x is not junk like many will state on this forum even though they have never had first hand experience. they are just repeating what they have heard or read. im sure im going to get flamed for saying that.

njaykaplan
09-09-2009, 03:12 PM
well i doubt the wall socket is 1600+ wrms cause the breakers are rated at 50 amps i think. im thinking it might do 1600+ watts @ 60hz not to long before the breaker pops.

i have the box and sub posted on sac craigslist for $700 obo. i cant sell just the sub cause the cutout is 15".

If your talking about a home breaker, its 50 amps at 120v, not 12v, so more like 6000 watts give or take.

sinosic
09-09-2009, 03:48 PM
If your talking about a home breaker, its 50 amps at 120v, not 12v, so more like 6000 watts give or take.



my bad the breaker is 15 amps not 50. so thats like 1800 wrms give or take, right?