PDA

View Full Version : Audioque wall help



SPLluminator
09-03-2009, 09:06 PM
Me and a buddy are building a wall in his grand am. We built it and it ended up being 17cubes before any displacement. How could we make this work for a single 18" HDC3?!?!? We could just board off half of it, but is there a better way to use the space?

mrbomb
09-03-2009, 09:14 PM
put a petite stripper in there, then make one side out of plexi so she can do shows in there

just an idea

hazardous0388
09-03-2009, 09:17 PM
put a petite stripper in there, then make one side out of plexi so she can do shows in there

just an idea

wow a fellow club 3g member is here.

NoCoSPL
09-03-2009, 09:22 PM
17 Cubes for 1 18 is way too much. I may be wrong but thats like free air. EDIT: Im a retard. Put GIANT 45's in th box lol

TurdFergueson2
09-03-2009, 09:27 PM
Ask the 'Strass (mlstrass) He built a wall in a grand am before. Why not do 4 12s or 15s?

TNTR70
09-03-2009, 09:28 PM
you walled off the whole back of the car for 1 18? do you own a tape measure.......i would get more speakers...4 15's should fit nicely

dappa5
09-03-2009, 10:01 PM
that's before port and sub so just port it for 12cubes(should be big) then just 45 the remainder down to 12 ft^3 boom you got wall
or just do a 6th order lol

SPLluminator
09-03-2009, 10:51 PM
that's before port and sub so just port it for 12cubes(should be big) then just 45 the remainder down to 12 ft^3 boom you got wall
or just do a 6th order lol

Thats what i was thinking(6th order. But idk how it would do with a HDC. And i told him to do 2 18's but he doesnt wanna cuz of tight money.

grimreper912003
09-03-2009, 10:53 PM
I second 6th order motion

SPLluminator
09-03-2009, 10:57 PM
I second 6th order motion

I have no idea how to design a 6th order. And idk if the AQ will like them?!?! Someone did it i thought and wasnt impressed. MAybe 4th order? Thats what dd recommended for there subs and they are prettty similar

lowrnu
09-04-2009, 02:19 PM
AQ recommends 6 cubes net for one 18

snb778
09-04-2009, 02:26 PM
build it for 2x18's.. wait till you get enough money for another one.. not like its a $500 sub

SPLluminator
09-04-2009, 02:27 PM
build it for 2x18's.. wait till you get enough money for another one.. not like its a $500 sub

Its for a buddy not for me. Im doing 4 15's in mine.

lowrnu
09-04-2009, 02:28 PM
build it for 2x18's.. wait till you get enough money for another one.. not like its a $500 sub

x2 have him get one now while there on sale

mlstrass
09-04-2009, 02:30 PM
waste of a wall, just get another sub or rip it out...

SPLluminator
09-04-2009, 03:44 PM
waste of a wall, just get another sub or rip it out...

Thats kinda what i said. He like well why dont we tear it out later wheni have money. But i was like your gonna pay another $50(on top of the 4 sheets we have already) for mdf if you do that and another 289 once the price goes back up. He dont get it.

DDbump
09-04-2009, 03:48 PM
do 4 12s thats what i had. run sdcs if hes on a budget

SPLluminator
09-04-2009, 03:52 PM
do 4 12s thats what i had. run sdcs if hes on a budget

SDc's arent 18's. He wants to run and 18. I told him run two. He has an Orion 2500D so itll push them both ok.

lowrnu
09-04-2009, 04:29 PM
Thats kinda what i said. He like well why dont we tear it out later wheni have money. But i was like your gonna pay another $50(on top of the 4 sheets we have already) for mdf if you do that and another 289 once the price goes back up. He dont get it.

when i ordered mine he said that after the sale was over they was going up to 309

mlstrass
09-04-2009, 04:30 PM
when i ordered mine he said that after the sale was over they was going up to 309

yep new design copper coil is $20 more....

mlstrass
09-04-2009, 04:31 PM
Sell the 18 he has and get some 12" or 15" SDC's...

SPLluminator
09-04-2009, 05:49 PM
Idk hes kinda set on the 18". He couldnt get another 18 either cuz his is a d1 and only d2's are in stock.

GearGuy2001
09-04-2009, 05:57 PM
Idk hes kinda set on the 18". He couldnt get another 18 either cuz his is a d1 and only d2's are in stock.

Thats all fine and dandy but when you have 17 cubes thats a problem

J31Rob
09-04-2009, 06:00 PM
I lol'd.

anj46907
09-04-2009, 06:04 PM
wait.................you built a wall without doing the specs first? built the wall then took specs?<<<<whats wrong with that statement? anyone?

SPLluminator
09-04-2009, 06:05 PM
wait.................you built a wall without doing the specs first? built the wall then took specs?<<<<whats wrong with that statement? anyone?

Built it as big as possible so that we could change setups later. lol.

anj46907
09-04-2009, 06:07 PM
Built it as big as possible so that we could change setups later. lol.
:wow:

SPLluminator
09-04-2009, 06:09 PM
:wow:

lol. Was not my idea. I just started the thread to prove to him that he should run 2 18's.

anj46907
09-04-2009, 06:11 PM
lol. Was not my idea. I just started the thread to prove to him that he should run 2 18's.
if you were a good friend you would b*tch slap him:fyi:........right now....i said right now....why the f*ck are u still sitting there go...............







































slap his *** now

J31Rob
09-04-2009, 06:12 PM
some people just don't learn anything.. ever..

SPLluminator
09-04-2009, 06:14 PM
lulz. Idk. He just needs to run 2 18's and after port displacement hed prolly be sitting right around 13-14 cubes. He just doesnt understand and thinks itll be loud enough. Like who the **** says loud enough anyways lol.

J31Rob
09-04-2009, 06:15 PM
lulz. Idk. He just needs to run 2 18's and after port displacement hed prolly be sitting right around 13-14 cubes. He just doesnt understand and thinks itll be loud enough. Like who the **** says loud enough anyways lol.

what is this "loud enough" you speak of? :confused::confused:

SPLluminator
09-04-2009, 06:16 PM
what is this "loud enough" you speak of? :confused::confused:

Idk, never heard loud enough myself:furious:. The day will never come...

anj46907
09-04-2009, 06:17 PM
Idk, never heard loud enough myself:furious:. The day will never come...
what the loudest?

SPLluminator
09-04-2009, 06:18 PM
what the loudest?

Ive sat in a car doing mid 50's.

anj46907
09-04-2009, 06:19 PM
Ive sat in a car doing mid 50's daily.
meh

SPLluminator
09-04-2009, 06:20 PM
meh

Im hoping to be there in my install. Idk if i will.

jdawg
09-04-2009, 06:35 PM
get another 18, or sell his and get 2 mach 5 audio mj18

SPLluminator
09-04-2009, 09:30 PM
Hes really stuck on just 1 18

GearGuy2001
09-04-2009, 09:32 PM
Ive sat in a car doing mid 50's.

cool

Ive sat in BigJokers car for 30 minutes full tilt and mlstrass's car too, not as long cause I wanted to be fair for demo's sake. lol

mlstrass
09-04-2009, 09:42 PM
cool

Ive sat in BigJokers car for 30 minutes full tilt and mlstrass's car too, not as long cause I wanted to be fair for demo's sake. lol

those cars are quiet ;)

SPLluminator
09-04-2009, 11:53 PM
cool

Ive sat in BigJokers car for 30 minutes full tilt and mlstrass's car too, not as long cause I wanted to be fair for demo's sake. lol

Idk if i could take it to be honest. lol. Depends i guess at what frequency and if i had a headache lol.

aho77
09-05-2009, 12:04 AM
hes gana blow that sub then not going to have any boom boom u might as well just have fun with that sub and socket it then he can get differnt subs for that 13 cube

grimreper912003
09-05-2009, 12:20 AM
Buy my 2 mj motors. I'll even trade plus cash :)

GearGuy2001
09-05-2009, 08:16 AM
those cars are quiet ;)

To be honest Jake's grand am screwed with me the most. I'm thinking it was cause he couldn't roll down the passenger window but that car was major ear fu*kage

mlstrass
09-05-2009, 08:46 AM
To be honest Jake's grand am screwed with me the most. I'm thinking it was cause he couldn't roll down the passenger window but that car was major ear fu*kage

that probably helped as his did move a LOT of air. Martin's raped my left ear the worst though. And I'm used to mine, so it's not loud to me :crazy:

SPLluminator
09-05-2009, 09:32 AM
Buy my 2 mj motors. I'll even trade plus cash :)

Cant recone:(.

marcotheclepto
09-05-2009, 09:44 AM
i would prolly give the 6th order a try.. or perhaps an abc box?

SPLluminator
09-05-2009, 09:46 AM
i would prolly give the 6th order a try.. or perhaps an abc box?

ABC box? Nvr heard of it lol. Who could design me a 6th order? 80 inches?!?

marcotheclepto
09-05-2009, 09:56 AM
ABC box? Nvr heard of it lol. Who could design me a 6th order? 60 inches?!?

80 inches and im sure he can give ya a hand just send him a pm with your dilema.

SPLluminator
09-05-2009, 09:59 AM
Haha, yea 80 inches. thats what i meant haha. Someone just said it didnt go so well with AQ's.

marcotheclepto
09-05-2009, 09:59 AM
http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=426763&highlight=abc+box

like this one...

marcotheclepto
09-05-2009, 10:00 AM
Haha, yea 80 inches. thats what i meant haha. Someone just said it didnt go so well with AQ's.

4th order? or just really large 45s i guess really shoulda tried to measure it first.

SPLluminator
09-05-2009, 10:02 AM
4th order? or just really large 45s i guess really shoulda tried to measure it first.

Well he figured he was gonna throw more in it later so we built it as big as possible. But yea i guess DD recommends a 4th order so im guessing the AQ's would liek that more too since they are pretty similar.

grimreper912003
09-05-2009, 10:21 AM
Recones are stupid easy lol.

SPLluminator
09-05-2009, 07:05 PM
Hrmm. How much? cash would you add? PM me and we shall talk.

GearGuy2001
09-06-2009, 05:23 PM
What about doing a 4th order. That would take up a few cubes :D

SPLluminator
09-06-2009, 07:10 PM
What about doing a 4th order. That would take up a few cubes :D

I pmed 80 and he doesnt seem to wanna get back to me