PDA

View Full Version : How do I "tune" a box?



Synyster97XLT
09-03-2009, 09:18 AM
First of all, how do I determine what hz I need my box tuned to?
Second of all, how do I do it?
I am running two Alpine Type-R 15s and the box size needs to be 2.9cubes each. I just need to know what tuning is.

plugitin
09-03-2009, 09:19 AM
32-35ish Hz is a good start...you tune a box by how long and big your port will be

Synyster97XLT
09-03-2009, 09:20 AM
How do I determine how many hz a port volume would be? Is there some sort of formula for that?

marcotheclepto
09-03-2009, 09:22 AM
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=how+to+tune+a+ported+sub+box.

i like to use this site: http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp

plugitin
09-03-2009, 09:24 AM
yes, search google...i think the above ones are the same ones i tend to use...and make sure you have enough port area also...

marcotheclepto
09-03-2009, 09:25 AM
you shoud determine the amount of port area based on your box size, can either use round or square ports, round require less area 7-10 sq in per cubic ft
and square vents require 12-17 per cubic foot unless ive mistaken.. these are general and will vary depending on sub. find out what size portyou need then input that and the box volume as well as desired tuning and it will tell you necesary length.

Synyster97XLT
09-03-2009, 09:28 AM
Well, I spoke to a woman at Crutchfield and she gave me some recommended some specs to me. She gave me a slot port spec of w=15", h=1.5", and length=8.5". Is height how wide the port is?

misfit138
09-03-2009, 01:05 PM
Wow, I'm not the only guy from WV. :)

RobTabor
09-23-2009, 04:14 PM
I guess I make 3 :)

http://www.cardomain.com/id/robtabor