PDA

View Full Version : Stumped on Astro NW box



galacticmonkey
08-30-2009, 10:40 PM
Trying to get an Astro louder. Looking for max SPL, nothing else matters. Will be using 2 BTL 15s. Everything has to be in the very back behind the second row of seats and under 25" tall.

Original box he has was 10 cubes, tiny slot port all the wal across the bottom. Port was really long, and he said it was tuned to like 27-29hz. Subs facing up, port back. That box did a high 147 @ 53hz.

I did a new box for him, 8 cubes @ 39hz with 102in^ of port. Subs up, port firing back on the drivers side. This whole box was 1.5" thick. This box only did a high 146 @ 53hz.

From what Ive seen the BTLs always liked smaller boxes, so I shrunk it down to 4 cubes a sub (still big for a 15) and raised the tuning over 10hz higher and gave a whole lot more port, but still lost a whole DB...

The dimensions that we have are 49" wide, 22" tall, and around 40" deep. Anyone have any suggestions? Keep in mind the subs arent seeing **** for power... He said Carlos Rodriguez clamped the SS XXX6500 and he was only seeing 760rms out of it. So Im pretty stumped here. Any suggestions?

audioarsonal
08-31-2009, 03:50 PM
If you aren't running 16v with that amp your wasting your time.Try getting more power first and see what it can do.It could be due to the postion of the box.I know most guys have them mid way forward at the b pillar and say anything behind the box causes a drop in score.
Just make it as big as possible then start shrinking it from there.You know the drill....

galacticmonkey
08-31-2009, 04:15 PM
Well its not my vehicle or equipment, and he needs the rear seats in, so it must be in the very back. Think maybe trying something like 5cubes with a big 12" port around 40hz to start with, and trimming from there would be a good way to go?

18inchjeepin
08-31-2009, 09:28 PM
what does he have 1 batt?

Is there enough room for the port to breathe? Maybe try port up, also was 10 cubes the max box size, usually bigger boxes gain efficiency for low power

ContourSPL
08-31-2009, 10:11 PM
Didn't astros used to be really good in street classes? Back on topic, he won't be very competitive unless he does a NW setup at the B-pillar, if that matters much.

galacticmonkey
08-31-2009, 10:28 PM
Not looking to break 160s, just get louder.

skmfkr
08-31-2009, 10:37 PM
i think the first box was probly tuned higher. if he peaks at 53hz might as well tune to 45hz or somthin if hes still gonna peak high. and yeah 8cubes is still fairly big for 2 15s my box is only 7.3 for my 2 15s. but if he isnt getting much power out of that amp then the large one would probly help.

galacticmonkey
08-31-2009, 10:43 PM
Well the original box was built by Will Alfonso, so I guess that its not too bad that a box I designed was only a DB lower than his...

Maybe a bandpass might work...

dappa5
09-01-2009, 09:37 AM
Didn't astros used to be really good in street classes? Back on topic, he won't be very competitive unless he does a NW setup at the B-pillar, if that matters much.
thats not tru the box i built or 4 15's subs up /port up took 2nd place SBN
and that was in street 2 or 3 imo rear seat in /is the point amp rack along front of box angled behind seat got 150 out of 4 mojos on 1k each so press on g-monk you'll get it higher p.s. if you are firing the port back, take trim panels off the doors and add 3/4 mdf then reapply trim / i also did entire roof with two layers of 3/4

then again this kid just re did his box himself added two more subs and 2 k more power and lost dee beezz so just keep trying lol

audioarsonal
09-01-2009, 12:03 PM
thats not tru the box i built or 4 15's subs up /port up took 2nd place SBN
and that was in street 2 or 3 imo rear seat in /is the point amp rack along front of box angled behind seat got 150 out of 4 mojos on 1k each so press on g-monk you'll get it higher p.s. if you are firing the port back, take trim panels off the doors and add 3/4 mdf then reapply trim / i also did entire roof with two layers of 3/4

then again this kid just re did his box himself added two more subs and 2 k more power and lost dee beezz so just keep trying lol

If you did all that and only broke 150 then something was wrong.

galacticmonkey
09-01-2009, 03:00 PM
thats not tru the box i built or 4 15's subs up /port up took 2nd place SBN
and that was in street 2 or 3 imo rear seat in /is the point amp rack along front of box angled behind seat got 150 out of 4 mojos on 1k each so press on g-monk you'll get it higher p.s. if you are firing the port back, take trim panels off the doors and add 3/4 mdf then reapply trim / i also did entire roof with two layers of 3/4

then again this kid just re did his box himself added two more subs and 2 k more power and lost dee beezz so just keep trying lol

Yeah the white Astro with 6 Mojos? Thats who he is trying to beat. He already has the MDF in the back doors.

dappa5
09-01-2009, 05:43 PM
lol that's my boy Zack


he went away from my advice come see me i'll beat him lol

galacticmonkey
09-01-2009, 07:28 PM
I just dont really know... I thought the smaller box and higher tuning and bigger port was going to be much louder. Hmmm...

And Ill ask again, who is girl in your avatar? :wow:

skmfkr
09-01-2009, 09:20 PM
u still got a sundown 3k? try one of those in there

galacticmonkey
09-02-2009, 02:46 AM
Might be getting one back. Sold one to a local kid (worked 100% when I took it out) and now like a month later he said he tried to hook it up and it doesnt work. I guess Ill be buying it back now at the same price I sold it when it worked.

**** me. :crap:

skmfkr
09-02-2009, 08:28 AM
you gonna make sure it still works?

galacticmonkey
09-02-2009, 07:40 PM
A friend of mine who I know is legit, tested one of his amps in the kids car and it worked just fine. I dont even know...

ngsm13
09-02-2009, 08:03 PM
Month later, ***'em...

Anyways, with lower power... go with a larger box...

With TONS of power go with a smaller pressure box. Use aero's to find your peak...

nG